The first official Minecraft novel! In the tradition of iconic adventures like Robinson Crusoe and Treasure Island, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of World War Z tells the story of a hero—stranded in the world of Minecraft—who must unravel the secrets of a mysterious island in order to survive.

Washed up on a beach, the lone castaway looks around the shore. Where am I? Who am I? And why is everything made of blocks? But there isn’t much time to soak up the sun. It’s getting dark, and there’s a strange new world to explore!

The top priority is finding food. The next is not becoming food. Because there are others out there on the island . . . like the horde of zombies that appear after night falls. Crafting a way out of this mess is a challenge like no other. Who could build a home while running from exploding creepers, armed skeletons, and an unstoppable tide of hot lava? Especially with no help except for a few makeshift tools and sage advice from an unlikely friend: a cow.

In this world, the rules don’t always make sense, but courage and creativity go a long way. There are forests to explore, hidden underground tunnels to loot, and undead mobs to defeat. Only then will the secrets of the island be revealed.
Paperback, 288 pages
Published on August 13, 2019 by Del Rey
ISBN-10: 0399181792
ISBN-13: 9780399181795
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • breathofthewild
    breathofthewildThursday, November 21, 2019 at 9:32 am
    It is about a boy/man (I'm not sure!) who got put into Minecraft and doesn't remember anything from his world. He is learning more and more each step of the way. It's cool and I like it!
    • uytdfghjkldsxch
      uytdfghjkldsxchMonday, June 24, 2019 at 6:03 am55 stars
      I think that this book is the perfect book for people who are new at Minecraft or people who haven't played Minecraft in a long time. This book teaches people either how to farm or reviews how to farm. This book is for all people who love Minecraft or people who just started at it. For people who want to start playing,I strongly suggest it. Minecraft is the game!
      • shudabs1234
        shudabs1234Monday, May 6, 2019 at 10:05 am
        this just looks like a good book
        • JudipFriday, May 3, 2019 at 4:38 pm
          I play Minecraft so I know what to expect, but this blew me away. This needs a second book
          • gamer101Monday, June 18, 2018 at 7:12 am
            I love the island! it is an awesome book! So it is about a guy who ends up on an island and he thinks he has a head injury because everything is pixelated. and there is a cow named moo in the book. that is the guy's pet. and he is not alone! There are hostile mobs everywhere! Like Creepers, skeletons, spiders, zombies and spider jockeys! And moo the cow actually almost died. and five stars on this book.
            • justbob007
              justbob007Friday, January 12, 2018 at 11:32 am55 stars
              I read MInecraft: The Island written by Max Brooks. Basically, a lone castway wakes up on an island. But the island isn't like any other island. Everything is made out of blocks and he has an invisibile backpack. But he's not alone. There are Zombies, Skeletons, and giant spiders! Can he survive on this island? When he thought a stick was a weapon, I laughed. I totally recommend this book to you.
              • justbob007
                justbob007Friday, January 12, 2018 at 10:50 am55 stars
                I think this book was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is very funny and how the main character thought a stick was a weapon. I think it is one of the best minecraft books I have read!!! I finished it in 1 day because it was so intresting!!!
                • josephw939
                  josephw939Wednesday, November 8, 2017 at 8:23 am55 stars
                  Best book ever I read it it’s about a