Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7U6.072664

Darkness, air, water, and sky will come together...

The wild cats of the forest have lived in peace and harmony for many moons -- but a doom that will change everything is coming. Strange messages from their warrior ancestors speak of terrifying new prophecies, danger, and a mysterious destiny.

All the signs point to young warrior Brambleclaw as the cat with the fate of the forest in his paws. But why would the son of wicked cat Tigerstar be chosen to be a hero? And who are the other cats mentioned in the prophecy? All Brambleclaw knows for sure is that the strength and courage of the greatest warriors will be needed now, as the quest to save the Clans begins.

...and shake the forest to its roots.

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published on May 10, 2005 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060744499
ISBN-13: 9780060744496
40 Book Reviews
  • tourmalineskies
    tourmalineskies17 days44 stars
    After the defeat of Scorge, a long era of peace began. Kits were born, lives were lost. But it looks like there's no real danger up ahead, or does it. On one normal day in ThunderClan, Brambleclaw(Now a warrior) recieves a dream from Starclan of there being great danger coming to the forest. He trys to tell himself that it couldn't mean anything for he was just a warrior, but failes to do so and finds 4 others that share the dream. Together he-and a pushy Squrrelpaw-must find Midnight before darkness, air, water and sky shake the forest to it's roots.
    • phantasticgus
      phantasticgusabout 1 year44 stars
      Amazing, sensational book...beautiful and very engaging! The characters, plot, and theme were well thought-out, and I recommend this book for all cat lovers! You simply cannot put this and new readers alike, prepare to be amazed with another great story!
      • cr4td4l
        cr4td4lover 1 year55 stars
        This is a great series. Brambleclaw, the young warrior of ThunderClan, has a dream from StarClan, he meets with Feathertail, Crowpaw, and Tawnypelt, and even thought they don't have dreams, Stormfur and Squirrelpaw come along. And in the future, in A Vision of Shadows, Brambleclaw and Squirrelfliight mate and have 4 kits. 2 die but other two survive. And back to Midnight, they face many dangers as they go to the sun-drown place. But who truly is midnight? And how can midnight help them?
        • 4usa
          4usaover 1 year55 stars
          This is the first book in a great series! When Brambleclaw has a dream from star clan telling him to travel to the sun drowning place (the ocean) he knows that others must have had this dream and is told to go meet up with who he'll be traveling with! Feathertail, Crowpaw, and Brambleclaws sister Tawnypelt also had dreams but Stormfur and Squirrelpaw tag along! So they start their dangerous journey to the sun drowning place!
          • warriorsgirl11
            warriorsgirl11over 1 year55 stars
            This is the first book in the New Prophecy. Four cats, from each Clan, receive a message about meeting three other cats in the new moon, and they have to listen to what midnight tells them. I thought they were talking about StarClan, but I never knew it was a badger!!
            • codingmis79
              codingmis79about 2 years55 stars
              Love this book! The Erin Hunter team does it again with an excellent follow-up on the first series, which I also recommend. Follow Brambleclaw to sun-drown place and find out what Midnight has to tell them! YOU WILL ENJOY THIS BOOK!!!!
              • blueopalwarrior
                blueopalwarriorabout 2 years55 stars
                I think this is a great start to the second series of Warrior Cats! It follows Brambleclaw, a minor character of the 1st series, who receives a prophecy to journey to the sea and save his cat clan! Accompanied with his annoying "friend", adventurous sister, an ignorant apprentice and two other feline friends, he sets off on the adventure of a life time! There are many Warrior Cats books, including novellas. I would recommend this book to all cat and action lovers. My only warnings would be that it can be quite sad or have some yucky descriptions and death in it.
                • bibliophile3
                  bibliophile3about 2 years44 stars
                  This book was a good start to the second arc of the Warrior Cats series.The premise is that the forest is being destroyed by Twolegs so Starclan chooses six cats to find a place where the forest cats can live in after the forest has been destroyed. Brambleclaw,the protagonist ,along with 5 other cats on a quest to find a new home before it's too late. Brambleclaw is the worst character in this arc so far.He's so bland and uninteresting.All the other cats were fine but I especially like Squirrelpaw's character.She's so arrogant and and cocky and she ends up growing a bit in this book.The action is amazing and I really enjoy the perspective of Leafpaw and helps you know about what's happening in the forest after the six cats left on their journey.I really wish that this book had been in the perspective of Crowpaw because we get to take a break from Thunderclan and new and interesting characters could be established instead of characters in Thunderclan we've met.Overall,I give this book 4 stars
                  • ccswishingstar
                    ccswishingstarover 2 years
                    I love this book! The perspective in this series turns from Firestar to Brambleclaw. Brambleclaw recieves a dream from StarClan to speak to midnight... What or who is midnight?????
                    • Millieover 2 years
                      It has great details to tell what the character looks like, feels like, what they are doing, and what is happening around them.