Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 3 - 7Grades 3 - 5n/a4.9n/a

The powerful and heartwarming New York Times bestselling movie novelization

When Justin's older brother, Kyle, is killed in Afghanistan, Justin can't believe that his brother is really gone. Except there's one thing that Kyle left behind….

Max is a highly trained military canine who has always protected his fellow soldiers. But when he loses his handler and best friend, Kyle, Max is traumatized and unable to remain in the service.

He is sent home to America, where the only human he connects with is Justin, and he is soon adopted by Kyle's family, essentially saving his life. At first Justin has no interest in taking care of his late brother's troubled dog. However, the two learn to trust each other, which helps the four-legged veteran become his heroic self once more. As the pair start to unravel the mystery of what really happened to Kyle, they find more excitement—and danger—than they bargained for. But they might also find an unlikely new best friend—in each other.

This edition is a paper-over-board hardcover.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on July 4, 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062791389
ISBN-13: 9780062791382
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • effie302
    effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:14 am
    I'm not sure what to say for thus book besides inspiring and very brave :) please read this book!
    • nick21dogdo
      nick21dogdoMonday, December 9, 2019 at 5:19 pm55 stars
      Justin loses his brother, Kyle, in Afghanistan, but in losing his brother he gains a best friend in the form of Max,his brother's military service dog. Max is suffering from Kyle's loss and is no longer able to do his job overseas, and the only human he can connect with and without one with is Justin. What follows is a strong bond between human and canine as both deal with the loss of Kyle and figure out what led to his death.
      • maria334365
        maria334365Wednesday, January 30, 2019 at 11:23 am
        I want to read this book. I have seen the movie and it is very sad.
        • Max Wednesday, January 30, 2019 at 7:44 am
          I love this book because it has emotional moments and things like that.
          • 145
            145Friday, November 30, 2018 at 8:13 am55 stars
            I really like that Max and his owner get a long and they become friends forever and I like that they are on some type of mission to find something and the start of the book is very sad but the end of the book is very happy and it is very surprising on what happens in the end and that is why I love the book.
            • gameboy333
              gameboy333Saturday, December 2, 2017 at 7:02 am55 stars
              best book ever
              • joeycollin13
                joeycollin13Friday, January 20, 2017 at 11:01 am55 stars
                I love this book sooooooooooooooo much!!!!!! Defenitly my fav book EVER!!!!!!! if you have not read this book, then u defenitly should!!!!!!! follow me if u love this book!!!!!!!! #loveit #favbook #follow+like
                • bloodhound457
                  bloodhound457Wednesday, November 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm
                  i like this book because this is about how a dog name max that lost his best friend and was going to be put down but a kid name justin saved him and now max was framed and justin and the help of max has to prove that he not guilty.
                  • jpersonna
                    jpersonnaMonday, October 3, 2016 at 11:27 am33 stars
                    It was about a family and there son died he was in the military ,Justin had to take care of his dog. It was good at first but then started to get boring .but its a good book for people that's like miliary thing.
                    • dboy17
                      dboy17Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 10:48 am55 stars
                      AWSOME LOVE IT