Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Paperback, 256 pages
Published on August 16, 2007 by Puffin Books
ISBN-10: 0142410373
ISBN-13: 9780142410370
352 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookgirlaa
    bookgirlaaSunday, January 17, 2021 at 2:46 pm55 stars
    Matilda is a young girl who is very smart and loves books . But her parents treat her like garbage and pc only care for cars and tv .When she heads to school for the first time, she hopes it will be different,it was ! She has a lovely young teacher called miss sweet and makes lots of new friends !But there was a problem ,Miss trunchball the school principal is horrible to her students and swings them around by the head ! There are also strange things going on , can Matilda with the help of the people she loves , solve the mysteries ? Who knows ?! Matilda is a thrilling exiciting book about a young girl who uses powers and friendship stop the evil in her world ! I love this book and I believe that Roalds Dahl is one of the greatest children authors of all time ! ( other than j.k Rowling of course ! ) this book is a great book for young readers to learn new words with there parents or for older readers as an exciting book ! I rate this book 5 stars !
    • summerprince
      summerprinceThursday, January 14, 2021 at 3:28 am55 starsFeatured
      Matilda is very fun. She's a smart kid but with parents that not know about her smartness. She also has a brother called Micheal. He's rather useless, but the parents thinks that Micheal is smart which he isn't. Then one day when her Matilda's mom when out for bingo, Matilda went out for the library . She enters and the Librarian asks if she wants any younger book for her, Matilda refuses and asks where the big children's books are. The Librarian shows her the way. Matilda is full of Funny, Cool and useless things, I hope you all like it. Btw the book is different than the movie so i recommend reading the book first than watching the movie. I watched the movie first and when i red the book it was confused. So read the book first :)
      • ramzilla99
        ramzilla99Monday, December 14, 2020 at 11:07 am55 stars
        Matilda is vary smart kid but with dumb parents.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolThursday, July 30, 2020 at 2:06 pm
          ooh i wanna read this book!
          • MillyThursday, July 2, 2020 at 1:45 am
            I love the book. It was amazing. Matilda is a very creative book 💫
            • devbaiba
              devbaibaFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:49 am44 stars
              Matilda is a very creative book.
              • DevFriday, June 19, 2020 at 3:40 am
                Matilda was a very creative book.
                • indecisive
                  indecisiveThursday, June 11, 2020 at 7:08 am55 stars
                  Matilda is a sweet, kind, and exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a annoying immature kid. At school, she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by Miss Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. She has the ability to move items with only using her mind. Matilda loves to read and is really smart, but no one cares enough to notice. She plans revenge on her parents and anyone who hated on her. This is an amazing story and I do recommend it. I have seen the musical (Which was great!), the movie (Also great!), and the book (You guessed it! Great!). The play and movie did not disappoint. They were just as fun and whimsical as the book! Roald Dahl bring his characters to life and gives them personality. This is one of my favorite books by him. Thanks for reading.
                  • rina123aaa
                    rina123aaaMonday, June 1, 2020 at 9:34 am55 stars
                    This book is so cool. It is magical, but also seems like it could almost be real. I think this book is just really funny and Maltida is honestly so smart, she is smarter than a lot of adults. I really recommend this book!
                    • cherry-blossom
                      cherry-blossomThursday, May 21, 2020 at 9:17 pm55 stars
                      Matilda is a nice girl, but her parents just think that she is an annoying ugly young wart. They want to pick her off and throw her away when the time is right, which won't be long now...but Matilda has extraordinary POWERS!