Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Hardcover, 230 pages
Published on September 1, 1994 by Red Fox
ISBN-10: 0099365812
ISBN-13: 9780099365815
333 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • selife
    selifeSunday, July 14, 2019 at 1:45 pm55 stars
    😃😄😄😄 inspiring! I read this when I was about 9 and it i inspired me to keep reading! I love Roald Dahl!! This was Selife age 11!
    • leafkitti
      leafkittiWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:26 pm
      Matilda is a very smart young girl, five and a half years old. At age three she taught herself to read, even though the family kept no books but newspapers and a cookbook in the house. When she goes to school, her teacher is a very nice woman named Ms. Honey. Ms. Honey immediately figures out Matilda's genius and together they figure out how to defeat the evil headmistress, Ms. Trunchbull, (also Ms. Honey's aunt) once and for all. This story is full of twists and turns, and I would highly recommend it to anybody who loves Roald Dahl's books.
      • Armaan Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:25 pm
        I enjoyed this book because it was very interesting to read and I was really impressed
        • kgbradshaw
          kgbradshawSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 6:30 am33 stars
          I really like this book, even though it is a little low key until the climax, which happens a little later in the book. I would recommend it for older children. I personally would not read it again.
          • allyrose
            allyroseThursday, May 2, 2019 at 5:11 am
            I loved the illustration and the characters I liked that the book wasn't exactly like the movie.
            • sloth101
              sloth101Friday, April 12, 2019 at 1:41 pm44 stars
              I have not read it yet. But, my sister has and whenever I looked over her shoulder to see what it was about, it seemed really interesting!
              • Red head lolSunday, April 7, 2019 at 3:50 am
                Wow,its so so so good,Matilda could read at age 5 or earlier! So amazingly I read it LOL.
                • bacon_bitzz
                  bacon_bitzzSaturday, March 30, 2019 at 8:12 am55 stars
                  Matilda is the story of a girl-wonder. In first grade she is able to read Sherman Mellville and other extremely hard books. Her math skills are 10000000% ahead of her class, who are still having trouble with the word "cat". Matildas parents aren't too nice. They have a son who is rather dull in the head, and is being taught how to cheat people in their families car business. Matilda plays tricks on her bully of a dad, like glueing his phedora to his head! Matildas headmaster, Agatha Trunchbull, is a huge woman with a bad reputation. Matildas teacher, Miss Honey, is trying to get Matilda to move up to a better grade. Unfortunately, Matildas dad has told The Trunchbull (as she is called) that Matilda has done some bad things before. Will Matilda overcome the big bad headmaster? Or will she be stuck in a lower grade with that mind of hers? Find out in Matilda! Thanks for reading!❤
                  • nt1234567890
                    nt1234567890Thursday, February 28, 2019 at 4:42 pm55 stars
                    it is soooooo good i would recommend this book to a lot of people
                    • redhead-6745
                      redhead-6745Friday, January 4, 2019 at 7:31 am
                      I really like this book. It is so interesting.