Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6S5.040009
Now a musical!

Matilda is a sweet, exceptional young girl, but her parents think she's just a nuisance. She expects school to be different but there she has to face Miss Trunchbull, a menacing, kid-hating headmistress. When Matilda is attacked by the Trunchbull she suddenly discovers she has a remarkable power with which to fight back. It'll take a superhuman genius to give Miss Trunchbull what she deserves and Matilda may be just the one to do it!

Here is Roald Dahl's original novel of a little girl with extraordinary powers. This much-loved story has recently been made into a wonderful new musical, adapted by Dennis Kelly with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin.
Hardcover, 230 pages
Published on September 1, 1994 by Red Fox
ISBN-10: 0099365812
ISBN-13: 9780099365815
336 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • buby
    bubyTuesday, September 24, 2019 at 9:45 pm55 stars
    I really like it because when Matilda went to school her parents didn't care.And when she reads Nicholas Nickelby by Charles Dickinson it's super cool.I wish I were Matilda
    • luna9
      luna9Sunday, September 22, 2019 at 8:00 am55 stars
      I find the book Matilda engaging because there is so much going on in it. For instance, Matilda's Head Mistress hates little kids, and does terrible things to them, and it is very interesting to see what they do to get back at her.
      • imabookworm3
        imabookworm3Friday, August 2, 2019 at 8:00 am44 stars
        I decided to read Matilda because I really like Road Dahl. I thought it was super funny when they played tricks and I thought it had a good twist in the end. I really recommend it to anyone who l oves reading books because she loves books.
        • boysrule
          boysruleWednesday, July 31, 2019 at 6:46 pm55 stars
          Roald Dahl is one of m favorite authors and this book is one of my favorites. Matilda's power is so amazing and when she was talking with Ms. Honey ( her school teacher), Ms. Honey reveals a lot of secrets to Matilda. If you don't believe me, then read it yourself! ^0^
          • leafkitti
            leafkittiWednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:26 pm
            Matilda is a very smart young girl, five and a half years old. At age three she taught herself to read, even though the family kept no books but newspapers and a cookbook in the house. When she goes to school, her teacher is a very nice woman named Ms. Honey. Ms. Honey immediately figures out Matilda's genius and together they figure out how to defeat the evil headmistress, Ms. Trunchbull, (also Ms. Honey's aunt) once and for all. This story is full of twists and turns, and I would highly recommend it to anybody who loves Roald Dahl's books.
            • Armaan Wednesday, June 5, 2019 at 2:25 pm
              I enjoyed this book because it was very interesting to read and I was really impressed
              • kgbradshaw
                kgbradshawSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 6:30 am33 stars
                I really like this book, even though it is a little low key until the climax, which happens a little later in the book. I would recommend it for older children. I personally would not read it again.
                • allyrose
                  allyroseThursday, May 2, 2019 at 5:11 am
                  I loved the illustration and the characters I liked that the book wasn't exactly like the movie.
                  • sloth101
                    sloth101Friday, April 12, 2019 at 1:41 pm44 stars
                    I have not read it yet. But, my sister has and whenever I looked over her shoulder to see what it was about, it seemed really interesting!
                    • Red head lolSunday, April 7, 2019 at 3:50 am
                      Wow,its so so so good,Matilda could read at age 5 or earlier! So amazingly I read it LOL.