Stallion by Starlight (Magic Tree House (R) Merlin Mission)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 1 - 4M3.813771
Hold your horses! Jack and Annie must find four secrets of greatness for Merlin the magician. To start, they travel back in time to meet Alexander the Great. He should know all about greatness, right? But young Alexander is bossy, vain, and not great at all! How can they learn from him? It’s going to take a wild black stallion, magic from Merlin, and a lot of bravery to succeed. Are Jack and Annie clever and bold enough to complete their mission?

Did you know that there’s a Magic Tree House book for every kid?

Magic Tree House: Adventures with Jack and Annie, perfect for readers who are just beginning chapter books
Merlin Missions: More challenging adventures for the experienced reader
Super Edition: A longer and more dangerous adventure
Fact Trackers: Nonfiction companions to your favorite Magic Tree House adventures

Have more fun with Jack and Annie at MagicTreeHouse.com!
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published on March 26, 2013 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0307980405
ISBN-13: 9780307980403
10 Book Reviews
  • dinobasketball7
    dinobasketball7Saturday, March 6, 2021 at 7:47 am44 stars
    good book
    • spacepenguin
      spacepenguinMonday, June 3, 2019 at 4:32 pm55 stars
      This book is number 49 of the Magic Tree House Series by Mary Pope Osborne. The main characters are Jack and Annie, who go on adventures with the Magic Tree House. In this book, Jack and Annie had to help Merlin with the secrets of greatness, so they travelled to Ancient Macedonia (hundreds of years in the past). My favorite part of the book was when they made the ring glow once they completed their mission. I loved this book so much that I read it right when I got in the car coming home from the library, and pretty soon after getting home. It is fiction, and a part of a series with a TON of books. I would recommend this
      • spacepenguin
        spacepenguinSaturday, June 1, 2019 at 3:39 pm55 stars
        This book is number 49 of the Magic Tree House Series by Mary Pope Osborne. The main characters are Jack and Annie, who go on adventures with the Magic Tree House. In this book, Jack and Annie had to help Merlin with the secrets of greatness, so they travelled to Ancient Macedonia (hundreds of years in the past). My favorite part of the book was when they made the ring glow once they completed their mission. I loved this book so much that I read it right when I got in the car coming home from the library, and pretty soon after getting home. It is fiction, and a part of a series with a TON of books. I would recommend this for ages 6 to 12. I started reading it when I was 6, but it is AR level 3.8.😃 😁
        • AdamarySunday, January 6, 2019 at 11:55 am
          Well the seris is amazing she is oficilly my bes favorite author
          • tomo
            tomoTuesday, April 4, 2017 at 10:08 am
            This is a like a gold book in the series =good book
            • madii30
              madii30Monday, July 11, 2016 at 6:38 pm44 stars
              Great book. One of the best in the series.
              • haileySaturday, February 20, 2016 at 6:19 am
                this book is not good
                • peeps
                  peepsFriday, December 26, 2014 at 7:37 am
                  really good, but a little un advanced for me
                  • sweetheartgirlsThursday, May 22, 2014 at 4:43 pm
                    we loved this book! Annie and Jack went searching for a "secrets of greatness" and (Spoiler Alert!!!) They find out that the first secret of greatness is humanity. Sorry to ruin it for you. But honestly, it doesn't matter what it is, all that matters is what happened and how they found it.
                    • birda
                      birdaFriday, March 29, 2013 at 2:45 pm
                      i really want to read this book!!! i read all the magic tree house books and i want to read this one!!!:-]