Rob Burnside thinks he's getting the hang of things. It almost seems as if he has learned all he needed to from his unusual closet. Beardy, the doorknob, has it locked up and there are no signs of the closet door opening again.

But something slips from the closet unnoticed and that something is part Gollum, part Cat in the Hat. He's an intense creature with mad rhyming skills. When Rob's family wins a trip to Colorado, something extra makes it into his luggage. Get ready for school fights, train rides, long mysterious hikes, and a creature unlike any of the others. What Rob will discover is epic.

A Christy Ottaviano Book

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on October 6, 2015 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 1627791620
ISBN-13: 9781627791625
11 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • lionstigers07
    lionstigers07Thursday, December 7, 2017 at 4:53 am55 stars
    I would definitely recommend this book “Me thinks so too, Master robbit.”
    • boops
      boopsMonday, May 30, 2016 at 4:53 am55 stars
      I recommend The lord of the hat. It was SO AWESOME!!!!! My favorite character is Seussol because he is SO CUTE!!!!! like when hes in the bath saying splashes and splashes. My favorite part is when Seussol is in the tub saying splashes and splashes.
      • nonstopreader
        nonstopreaderWednesday, May 11, 2016 at 12:23 pm55 stars
        Great series, funny book Overt Skye does it again!
        • diamondminer05
          diamondminer05Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 7:00 pm55 stars
          I highly recommend this book it so funny.😀©
          • diamondminer05
            diamondminer05Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 6:57 pm55 stars
            These book is amazing I highly recommend for everyone to read it.😀©
            • happypug12
              happypug12Wednesday, April 13, 2016 at 5:20 am44 starsFeatured
              Fifth book of The Creature from My Closet series and it's still getting funnier. This is one of the very, very, few books that I actually laugh out loud with instead of chuckling silently in my head like other "comedy" books. Have you ever imagined what Gollum and the Cat in the Hat would look like if they were mixed? No, you haven't. Have you ever imagined that Jack would throw his shoe in a bonfire, Rob would ride the slowest train on the planet, his dad would win a contest, or that Suessol (Gollum and Cat in the Hat) would burn the preciousssss rings? If not, then what are you waiting for? There's hilarious material to be laughed at!
              • peanutslvr
                peanutslvrFriday, April 8, 2016 at 10:07 am55 stars
                I decided to read this book because I enjoy the Creature From My Closet series. All the books in the series are funny (in my opinion). The series is about a boy named Rob, who has a peculiar closet that mixes characters from books.
                • cheezie
                  cheezieSaturday, April 2, 2016 at 7:35 pm55 stars
                  It was the best book ever!!!!
                  • zekoala
                    zekoalaSunday, March 27, 2016 at 8:51 am55 starsFeatured
                    Being the fifth installment of Obert Skye's "The Creature from My Closet" series, let me just say that these books are amazing, and each book is better than the last. This book is filled with humor, action (sort of), unaverageness, and averageness. This book follows the story of Robert Columbo Burnside, an average kid with an average closet, until his Dad buys an odd closet door at a yard sale. After that, the closet spat out multiple odd creatures that are a mixture of 2 characters from books. Robert then reads the books to find out the story of these strange creatures. This time, a Gollum-Cat in the Hat mixture pops out. All in all, these books are masterpieces and I highly recommend them. Obert Skye has done it again!
                    • nonstopreader
                      nonstopreaderThursday, December 3, 2015 at 4:47 pm55 stars
                      I have read this whole series they are a quick good read.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      12k_giveaway

                      I haven’t read it but it looks s...
                      Sleepover Sleuths (Nancy Drew an...

                      sandrigde_chick wrote:

                      I love this book!!
                      The Death Cure (The Maze Runner,...

                      dish
                      dish wrote:

                      JUST AMAZING
                      Drama

                      orangey2011

                      I have not read this book but i ...
                      Super Mario Adventures