Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 10Z+5.869023
Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults

An ALA Quick Pick

A Los Angeles Times 2005 Book Prize Finalist

A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age

A 2005 Booklist Editor’s Choice

A 2005 School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave “the Great Perhaps” even more (François Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. Then. . . . After. Nothing is ever the same.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0007209258
ISBN-13: 9780007209255
27 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • grapefruit
    grapefruitMonday, November 27, 2017 at 4:34 am33 starsFeatured
    Miles "Pudge" Halter is new to Culver Creek Boarding school. He's not supposed to smoke, drink, or break the rules--but his new dangerous friends help him to do it. Pretty, bold Alaska (who Miles is instantly smitten with) , Japanese , humorous rapper Takumi , and short,spunky Chip "Colonel" are quite the old ones of the pack.With his new friends Pudge will be involved in a chain of interesting events--school robberies, illegal smoke and booze, and lots of troubled friendship and love. One thing I didn't like about the book was the large amount of inappropriate words and behavior in it. Wasn't one of my best reads, but it was good. The plot can be confusing, but if you're a fan of novels like The Fault in Our Stars, you might wanna read this. I'm sure you'll get to like it.
    • lolmaster 420Friday, September 1, 2017 at 7:00 am
      gud book lol jk bro lolxD
      • tilda1313700
        tilda1313700Thursday, February 18, 2016 at 1:06 am55 stars
        it's an amazing book but sad from chapter 20 to the end i would recommend it for people over 10.
        • elliotl20
          elliotl20Sunday, January 3, 2016 at 1:59 am44 stars
          I think that this book is quite good, it talks about life in boarding school and how everyone has their owns reasons and different secrets. I think that this book teaches a really important lesson about life. Miles and his friends learn that you're supposed to cherish and make the memory of a person live on, it's not about mourning and then just forgetting, its about doing things that the person would have done and thinking about that person. I think that Miles also learned about how getting an adventure might not be as fun as it seems, he also learns about love, loyalty and how to deal with life.
          • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 1:09 pm
            Is this a good book? I asked for it for Christmas.
            • megank
              megankSaturday, November 21, 2015 at 6:11 am55 starsFeatured
              Looking for Alaska is a really unique, emotional, and tragical book. This book is about an unpopular and ordinary junior called Miles who goes to a boarding school to search for new opportunities and to be someone different. But when he met Alaska Young, his life made a 180 degree change. She was mysterious, moody, but also bought broke Miles out of his shell and made his life more unpredictable and adventurous. One of my favorite scenes in this book is the part where Miles is reading Takumi's letter. It revealed the truth about Alaska's death and how Takumi's role is important in this book. It also showed how much Miles had developed as a person. i think this book is also really similar to Paper Towns, also by John Green. Both books are discussing the topic of discovering who we truly are. Oftenly, when teenagers have crushes we see it as love at first sight and believe that we really love and know them. But the person we actually like is just our imaginations of who they are. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, not only is it mysterious, but also heart wrenching and really interesting. Believe me, you won't regret reading it!
              • johngreenisamaz
                johngreenisamazThursday, August 24, 2017 at 4:31 pm
                I love your comment! I LOVE looking for Alaska too and (by my username) I LOVE john green. Hes amazing!!!!!!! (not in a creepy way!)
              • spongebob71363
                spongebob71363Monday, November 9, 2015 at 5:56 am
                All i can say about this book is wow.I am in the middle of reading it and already have cried my eyes out.The book "Looking for Alaska" is about a girl named Alaska who's life is taken by getting in a car after under aged drinking and her friends story about how they felt and the pain the went through.
                • vickyh
                  vickyhSaturday, November 7, 2015 at 10:00 pm44 starsFeatured
                  This is the second John Green book that I have read so far, although this one is very different than the Fault in Our Stars, it is still emotional, heartbreaking and moving. The story is about an ordinary boy, Miles, who went to boarding school, trying to seek more possibilities in his life, and then he met Alaska, a girl of his dream, who was a slightly weird, fun and unpredictable, and it changed his life profoundly. I love how John Green describes emotion and grief, and how he dealt with “death” issues of teenagers. He tackles with the issues without making it too heavy for the readers. I love the way character was developed, it feels real, and easy to related to because Alaska is someone that would remind me of one of my old friends, she is so mysterious, and you can never know what she is thinking about, and what she is trying to do. I would recommand this book to people who love John Green's collection, and who loves reading story related to high school life and teenage issues.
                  • johngreenisamaz
                    johngreenisamazThursday, August 24, 2017 at 4:32 pm
                    You should read all of them, there REALLY amazing!
                  • #TheFifthWaveWednesday, November 4, 2015 at 3:07 pm
                    This was a good book. I loved all of John Green's other books, and this was a good one too! It's also a little sad and keeps you thinking.
                    • s2j1b3
                      s2j1b3Monday, September 28, 2015 at 5:39 am55 stars
                      This book is about a passionate love between theses people, this book is for people who like a romantic but funny book about love, and the middle of the book will make you want to read more So you will now what happens.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      olliebob
                      olliebob wrote:

                      Once is a heartbreaking, beautif...
                      Once (Once Series)

                      Racer95 wrote:

                      OMG THIS IS SO AWESOME!!
                      Diary of a Wimpy Kid - Double Down

                      rainawave
                      rainawave wrote:

                      When I read an amazing book, the...
                      One White Dolphin

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      Our Apps and Plugins