Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 10Z+5.869023
Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults

An ALA Quick Pick

A Los Angeles Times 2005 Book Prize Finalist

A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age

A 2005 Booklist Editor’s Choice

A 2005 School Library Journal Best Book of the Year

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave “the Great Perhaps” even more (François Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. Then. . . . After. Nothing is ever the same.

Paperback, 272 pages
Published on January 1, 2008 by HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0007209258
ISBN-13: 9780007209255
32 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 11:41 am55 stars
    this book absolutely broke my heart!! i honestly loved alaska, she was smart, and pretty, and everyone liked her. the ending was perfect but also horrible at the same time.
    • ThinkboutitMonday, August 5, 2019 at 12:12 am
      This book I could tell from the start i was going to love it. Somehow it manages to be utterly hilarious and completely real and deep and emotional all at once. This whole story was intriguing from the first word in the book to the very last. And it left me thinking differently about things. I absolutely loved it and it has taken the spot for the best book I have ever read.
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammThursday, May 30, 2019 at 9:53 am55 stars
        this was a great book and an extremely emotional read. it was not as good as the first time I read it, but after recommending it to my friends, they loved it.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 10:34 am55 stars
          this was a great book and an extremely emotional read. it was not as good as the first time I read it, but after recommending it to my friends, they loved it.
          • joeycollin13
            joeycollin13Sunday, May 12, 2019 at 12:11 pm44 stars
            Looking for Alaska is John Green’s fascinating and unique first novel, one that has been banned in certain libraries and schools for inappropriate content. It's a dark and emotional read, one that caused me to cry and simultaneously want to throw the book in John Green's face. Our overall rating: 4.3 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ John Green’s writing style is interesting, but for a person who doesn’t particularly care to see the most violent curse words on every. single. page and reading about teenagers drinking and making inappropriate jokes half the time wouldn’t enjoy Looking for Alaska. (Or any of John Green’s other novels.)
            • grapefruit
              grapefruitMonday, November 27, 2017 at 4:34 am33 starsFeatured
              Miles "Pudge" Halter is new to Culver Creek Boarding school. He's not supposed to smoke, drink, or break the rules--but his new dangerous friends help him to do it. Pretty, bold Alaska (who Miles is instantly smitten with) , Japanese , humorous rapper Takumi , and short,spunky Chip "Colonel" are quite the old ones of the pack.With his new friends Pudge will be involved in a chain of interesting events--school robberies, illegal smoke and booze, and lots of troubled friendship and love. One thing I didn't like about the book was the large amount of inappropriate words and behavior in it. Wasn't one of my best reads, but it was good. The plot can be confusing, but if you're a fan of novels like The Fault in Our Stars, you might wanna read this. I'm sure you'll get to like it.
              • lolmaster 420Friday, September 1, 2017 at 7:00 am
                gud book lol jk bro lolxD
                • tilda1313700
                  tilda1313700Thursday, February 18, 2016 at 1:06 am55 stars
                  it's an amazing book but sad from chapter 20 to the end i would recommend it for people over 10.
                  • elliotl20
                    elliotl20Sunday, January 3, 2016 at 1:59 am44 stars
                    I think that this book is quite good, it talks about life in boarding school and how everyone has their owns reasons and different secrets. I think that this book teaches a really important lesson about life. Miles and his friends learn that you're supposed to cherish and make the memory of a person live on, it's not about mourning and then just forgetting, its about doing things that the person would have done and thinking about that person. I think that Miles also learned about how getting an adventure might not be as fun as it seems, he also learns about love, loyalty and how to deal with life.
                    • ¯\_(ツ)_/¯Tuesday, December 15, 2015 at 1:09 pm
                      Is this a good book? I asked for it for Christmas.