Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 4 - 8Y5.3113464
A New York Times bestseller

Unlock your heart and the rest will follow.


Ruby is used to taking care of herself.

But now that she’s living with her sister, she’s got her own room, she’s going to a good school, and her future looks bright.

Plus there’s the adorable boy next door.

Can Ruby learn to open her heart and let him in?

“All the Dessen trademarks here” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

Also by Sarah Dessen:
Along for the Ride
Dreamland
Just Listen
Keeping the Moon
The Moon and More
Someone Like You
That Summer
This Lullaby
The Truth About Forever
What Happened to Goodbye
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on April 22, 2008 by Viking Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 067001088X
ISBN-13: 9780670010882
9 Book Reviews
  • goodvibes4u
    goodvibes4uThursday, November 28, 2019 at 3:18 pm44 stars
    I read this book, thinking it would be too long and boring. It turned out, it was a good book that left you wanting more. I truly recommend this book.
    • sylvie55555
      sylvie55555Saturday, July 20, 2019 at 8:28 am55 stars
      When Ruby's mother goes missing, she is sent to go live with her sister who she hasn't seen in years. There she meets Nate. But what will happen to Ruby when her mother gets found? Read the book to find out! This is an amazing book! Hope you like it!
      • kittykat101
        kittykat101Thursday, June 21, 2018 at 7:48 am55 stars
        I read this book a while ago, but I'm thinking of rereading it, as I'm running out of books, but I think this book really appeals to older romance fans. I'm not sure it would be quite appropriate for the younger audience, but that's why it's in the teen section right? It has parts that are very cliché, but most is unique and heartfelt. I probably cried. I don't remember, but I think I did... It's pretty likely. I usually end up crying over Sarah Dessen's books. They really are very well written.
        • wildandfree
          wildandfreeTuesday, March 15, 2016 at 7:37 am33 stars
          im in the middle of this book its pretty good but i think it can be better
          • clemsongirl123
            clemsongirl123Monday, May 12, 2014 at 9:47 am
            I love this book
            • ikyra_marie
              ikyra_marieSunday, February 9, 2014 at 7:47 pm
              I liked this book the best out of all of them it was the most interesting to me :)
              • ikyra_marie
                ikyra_marieSunday, February 9, 2014 at 7:45 pm
                Most of the books Sarah Dessen writes have to do with romance, love, and sadness.This was a good book, but her books are all similar mostly.I still like her writing.
                • brynnicul
                  brynniculWednesday, December 4, 2013 at 1:38 pm
                  One of my top twenty best defenitely. Its about a girl who falls in love like most her books but usually theres an exception and boy is there one in this book read and find out what im talking about then comment on my page. Her second best book, I think.,
                  • maple12367
                    maple12367Tuesday, November 12, 2013 at 4:03 pm55 stars
                    I loved this book, the plot line, the characters, EVERYTHING!!! I love realistic fiction books, so this one was perfect! I would recommend this book to anyone, just give it a try!! :)