Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V3.838293
Liar & Spy (2012) (Korea Edition)
Paperback, 208 pages
Published on August 6, 2013 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0375850872
ISBN-13: 9780375850875
23 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • otter
    otterSaturday, September 14, 2013 at 4:46 pm44 stars
    this book is awesome
    • rozeb
      rozebSaturday, September 14, 2013 at 3:35 pm55 stars
      This is a really great book, and I really liked it.
      • mrs_fondaw
        Mrs. FondawWednesday, August 21, 2013 at 9:40 pm44 stars
        Makes you think about friendships.
        • rozeb
          rozebSaturday, September 14, 2013 at 3:35 pm55 stars
          It really does, doesn't it?
        • CassieFriday, August 2, 2013 at 8:23 amFeatured
          I think this book is great! That girl Candy is very unique. She doesnt go to school, but she wants to. Most kids today dont pay attention in school and want to go home and watch tv all day. I understand that sometimes we need a break, but not all the time. I like the message of this book, too. It tells you to stand up to bullies, and that there is such thing as friendship. Its always nice to have a friend when youre in need. But, does anybody know the grade level?
          • jalis
            jalisSunday, June 16, 2013 at 9:45 am
            I like the end of the book better ( spoiler) when they have to do the mouth tasting of something really nasty but also the little girl candy she has a unique personality
            • xxpish
              xxpishWednesday, June 12, 2013 at 8:45 amFeatured
              Georges (the s is silent) has just moved into an apartment from a house where he has a nice bedroom. His dad got laid off, so they needed to downsize and they are just getting used to things. He is also getting bullied in school by a kid named Dallas and his buds, but he is not letting it get to him. When he takes out the trash with his dad, they see a sign for a Spy Club. His dad figures it is years old, but he writes “What Time?” on the sign anyway. When Georges goes down there again, he sees that there is an answer: 1:30. At that time, Georges goes into the room with the sign on the door and meets two quirky kids; Candy and Safer. Safer is the head of the club, and Georges is given an assignment; to find out what Mr. X. is up to. Mr. X. is the man who lives above Georges and wears black every day. He doesn’t talk to anyone and carries around two big suitcases. A story of friendship and spying, Liar & Spy follows Georges and Safer on their dangerous mission to find what Mr. X. is hiding. Great for fans of When You Reach Me, Rebecca Stead’s latest book is a must-read. My thoughts: Liar And Spy was a really special read. Rebecca Stead pens books with such character; they have the same vibe and you can tell it is her writing. She throws that unexpected curveball at you,and you never know what is going to happen next. I love how it keeps you guessing-I am always so proud of myself when I guess correctly. Well, I can tell you one thing; I DID NOT guess correctly on this book. It was so unexpected that I almost dropped the book. I woke up my cat by whisper-shouting “WHAT?!?!” I love her style of writing. I also loved the cover: I was really sad to find out (literally five minuted ago) that Yan Nascimbene (cover illustrator) had passed away this year. The cover and the author made me check it out of the library, and I only read the blurb right before I read the book. I loved how the characters Safer and Candy had such personality; they were really fun and unique. If you are a big Rebecca Stead fan, read Liar & Spy!
              • sfg13
                sfg13Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 7:51 pm
                A short read, nice and clean, in my opinion not as good as When You Reach Me, but I still though it was a nice book
                • rosethorn
                  rosethornTuesday, January 29, 2013 at 5:12 pm
                  Not some of Rebecca's best work, but a nice story.
                  • fairy4254
                    fairy4254Wednesday, November 28, 2012 at 7:58 pm
                    This is an amazing book I really truly recommend it.
                    • evharte
                      evharteSunday, September 30, 2012 at 11:28 am44 starsFeatured
                      13-year-old Georges has just moved into a new apartment. At his school, Georges faces bullying, name-calling, and many other mean acts. His only comfort is coming home and spying with his new friend Safer. But when Safer's tricks start to get bigger and bigger, Georges starts to wonder what he's gotten himself into. Breaking and entering? Not really his thing. But who can Georges talk to about his problems? He has only 1 friend (Safer), his dad wouldn't understand, and his mom works all day. Read Liar & Spy to find out what Georges will do.