Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5n/a4.273438

The highly acclaimed first book of a fantasy adventure series set in a mysterious forest, starring a daring new hero.

"Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (SLJ, starred review), a wizard's apprentice, as he sets off on a quest through the dangerous Urwald, a magical forest full of wizards and were-creatures, and discovers that it is more complex than he could imagine, and that it needs him more than he could ever guess.

This humorous and smart tween fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Septimus Heap, The Sisters Grimm, and Fablehaven.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 8, 2013 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 9780062129901
ISBN-13: 9780062129901
6 Book Reviews
  • marooner
    maroonerover 4 years55 stars
    Jinx- The story of a boy, found by the wizard Simon, and taken in to be his apprentice. As Jinx grows up, he starts becoming more and more curious about the mysterious visitors Simon brings into the house, the locked room Jinx is forbidden to enter, Simon's elusive "wife" from far away, and the evil wizard called the "Bonemaster". A very exciting book filled with fast action and quirky characters.
    • pickleman66
      pickleman66over 5 years55 stars
      great book love it weeee
      • mrspierucci
        Mrs. Pierucciover 7 years44 stars
        Really fun if you love adventure and magic. Can't wait to read the sequel.
        • pinkrose
          pinkrosealmost 8 years55 stars
          It was the best book ever, the magic amazing the aventures amazing. I loved, loved this book
        • trmoore
          Mrs. Mooreabout 8 years
          Possible 2014 Newbery Award