Five Epic Disasters (I Survived True Stories #1)

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 7n/a6.312563
REAL KIDS. REAL DISASTERS.

From the author of the New York Times bestselling I Survived series come five harrowing true stories of survival, featuring real kids in the midst of epic disasters.

From a group of students surviving the 9.0 earthquake that set off a historic tsunami in Japan, to a boy nearly frozen on the prairie in 1888, these unforgettable kids lived to tell tales of unimaginable destruction -- and, against all odds, survival.

Read their incredible stories:
The Children’s Blizzard, 1888
The Titanic Disaster, 1912
The Great Boston Molasses Flood, 1919
The Japanese Tsunami, 2011
The Henryville Tornado, 2012

Hardcover, 176 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Scholastic Inc.
ISBN-10: 0545782244
ISBN-13: 9780545782241
39 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • akpop1010
    akpop1010Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 11:39 am44 stars
    It was interesting to see the real stories of kids who survived natural disasters. The book is full of facts and illustrations about each event, and even information on how to survive some of the disasters. I recommend this to anybody that would like to learn more about this topic.
    • Salma catsyThursday, July 18, 2019 at 9:01 am
      It’s amazing
      • sweetcheese
        sweetcheeseMonday, July 8, 2019 at 2:03 pm55 stars
        I recommend this book to anyone who loves non-fiction books and scary books.While I was reading this book at school, my best friend and I almost screamed throughout this book. It is an awesome book.
        • wutlolhahaThursday, March 1, 2018 at 7:41 pm
          I really liked this book because it tells about true stories told by a person.
          • Monserrat P.SThursday, March 1, 2018 at 7:34 pm
            This book is about the disasters that have accually happend. It gives more detail about what happend to each story than the ones in other books that are not I survived books. It is based on real people and in a real person explaining in what happend, what that person did,(ect.). I mean like this is the type of book for research, or projects.
            • XOXOfamilyd2007Tuesday, July 25, 2017 at 5:20 pm
              In I subvied five epic disaster titanic disaster 1912 mouths after the was frout-page news.people the world quashed wow did the dream bout seak Edward smith the captain of the titanic died on the titanic Winch ship was the biggest the titanic or the Britannia
              • nonstopreader
                nonstopreaderWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 11:38 am
                I love this series! I am always excited when a new one comes out. This book focuses on five disasters, Tsunami, Blizzard, Tornado, Flood, Titanic. These are true stories. i really enjoyed and I recommend this book.
                • lover_of_booksTuesday, January 19, 2016 at 3:56 pm
                  Paul it is Nazi war not Natzi
                  • ilovemariokart
                    ilovemariokartThursday, November 12, 2015 at 5:45 pm55 stars
                    I loved it my first story was the hennery ville tornado. Next was the children's blitzed, and it was very epic.
                    • mermaidlolWednesday, September 23, 2015 at 2:05 pm
                      wish I had emojis :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :( :(