I Survived the Hindenburg Disaster, 1937 (I Survived #13)

Book 13 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a5.012779
In May of 1937, the Hindenburg, a massive German airship, caught fire while attempting to land in New Jersey, killing 35 people. Lauren Tarshis's latest thrilling addition to the New York Times bestselling I Survived series, will feature an 11-year-old boy in the middle of this historic disaster.

Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on February 23, 2016 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545868602
ISBN-13: 9780545868600
112 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mwyso13579
    mwyso13579Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:02 pm55 stars
    A huge flying contraption is just about to crash and Hugo Ballard, just 11 years old, is a dream that just came true with his mom, dad, and sister, Gertie, at 4 years old. They are making a 4000 mile trip across the Atlantic Ocean on a zeppelin called the Hindenburg. I connected with this book because It shows a lot of adventure and excitement, with something so horrifying as this, and I am always like that with scary things. I turn every scary situation into a little bit more calm and lade back situation. I rate this book 5 stars because of the excitement and suspension that it gave me.
    • russellolchawa
      russellolchawaFriday, February 21, 2020 at 11:05 am55 stars
      The greatest flying machine ever built is about to crash eleven-year-old Hugo Ballard, flying on the Hindenburg is a dream come true. Hugo, his parents, and his four-year-old sister, Gertie, are making the exciting four-thousand-mile journey across the Atlantic in a zeppelin as big as the Titanic. I connected to this book by being excited about also going on something that would be very fun but then it ends as a disaster. I rated this book 5 stars because it was so exciting that you could really be there with the person when they are going through that.
      • bjmo
        bjmoFriday, January 10, 2020 at 6:08 pm55 stars
        I really thought that this book was really good and talks about a lot about this tragedy that happened. It really shows that what people had dealt with when this happened.And really shows a lot of facts and actions of this book. I recommend this book.
        • rolchaw11
          rolchaw11Friday, January 10, 2020 at 9:43 am44 stars
          In May of 1937, the Hindenburg, a big German airship, caught on fire while trying to land in New Jersey, killing 35 people. I made a connection by him facing tough decisions to choose and i giving it a 4 star because it had a good story line and told amazing facts
          • mclark2020
            mclark2020Thursday, January 9, 2020 at 6:25 pm55 stars
            I thought this book did a great job in telling the story and the facts of what happened during this disaster, while at the same time keeping the reader very interested. The author was able to paint the picture of what was happening inside the Hindenburg, as well as on the ground.
            • EmberMonday, November 25, 2019 at 1:55 pm
              The book was very Informative about what happened in the hindenburg disaster and also was enjoyable at the same time.I totally recomend it for readers who want to learn about the hindenburg disaster.
              • DrewWednesday, November 13, 2019 at 7:16 pm
                I liked it.
                • acalzoa
                  acalzoaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 5:48 am55 stars
                  This book was great it tells a lot about what happen back then I was shock what happen. This book gave me a lot of facts.
                  • sophs
                    sophsMonday, October 14, 2019 at 4:23 pm
                    I loved this book mainly because it was true. It gave me facts while also helping me enjoy the book. I think this is a great book and I recommend it.
                    • Emo WolfieWednesday, April 10, 2019 at 9:50 am
                      I LOVED this book