I Survived the San Francisco Earthquake, 1906 (I Survived #5)

Book 5 of 18 in the I Survived Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 4n/a3.89737
The terrifying details of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake jump off the page!

Ten-year-old Leo loves being a newsboy in San Francisco -- not only does he get to make some money to help his family, he's free to explore the amazing, hilly city as it changes and grows with the new century. Horse-drawn carriages share the streets with shiny new automobiles, new businesses and families move in every day from everywhere, and anything seems possible.

But early one spring morning, everything changes. Leo's world is shaken -- literally -- and he finds himself stranded in the middle of San Francisco as it crumbles and burns to the ground. Does Leo have what it takes to survive this devastating disaster?

The I SURVIVED series continues with another thrilling story of a boy caught in one of history's most terrifying disasters!
Paperback, 112 pages
Published on March 1, 2012 by Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN-10: 0545206995
ISBN-13: 9780545206990
31 Book Reviews
  • mclark2020
    mclark2020Thursday, February 20, 2020 at 6:30 pm44 stars
    This book lets the reader really get to know the main character Leo. The readers really bond and cheer for Leo as he struggles with bullies, the results of a horrible earthquake and keeping his values. I gave this story four stars because the story is suspenseful keeps the reader interested the entire time.
    • sophs
      sophsMonday, October 14, 2019 at 4:52 pm
      I love this book because it was entertaining. And it was vary thrilling. I think I read this book three times in a year I loved it and I think you would to. The only thing was it was a little sad at the ending but other than that if you love thrilling books this is the book for you!
      • Jam788Friday, January 20, 2017 at 6:03 pm
        Leo was brave and he did not give up on what he did. I like the book!!!!
        • traboss123
          traboss123Wednesday, January 18, 2017 at 2:33 pm
          I'm not too interested.
          • popularmmo
            popularmmoWednesday, November 16, 2016 at 5:02 am55 stars
            it is one of the BEST books i have ever read
            • nonstopreader
              nonstopreaderWednesday, June 8, 2016 at 11:31 am
              I love this series! I am always excited when a new one comes out. This book focuses on San Francisco Earthquake. Very intense and interesting. I recommend all the "I Survived" books.
              • theblog
                theblogTuesday, May 24, 2016 at 11:50 am
                This book is aaaaazzzzzziiigggggg!!!!!!!! It is so action pack. I love how the he saves the bullies at the end. I hope you read this book#followmeattheblog#seeyou later๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ
                • AronFriday, May 13, 2016 at 8:41 pm
                  I think leo is a survivor because the first earthquake in April 18a hage earth quake has been a danger
                  • momlove100
                    momlove100Tuesday, April 26, 2016 at 11:25 am
                    lol best book
                    • farmerdanMonday, December 21, 2015 at 5:02 pm
                      I think you will like this book because it is every interesting. It is sad for a little bit but at the end you will be so happy and thrilled .