Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5U4.453539
In 1755, as the French and Indian War begins, ten-year-old Regina is kidnapped by Indians in western Pennsylvania, and she must struggle to hold onto memories of her earlier life as she grows up under the name of Tskinnak and starts to become Indian herself.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on May 24, 1991 by Philomel
ISBN-10: 0399217975
ISBN-13: 9780399217975
24 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ChinweTuesday, August 13, 2019 at 12:16 pm
    Is cool
    • slytherinfan
      slytherinfanMonday, September 24, 2018 at 4:40 pm33 stars
      Looks nice!
      • misstan290
        misstan290Saturday, March 19, 2016 at 11:59 pm
        hope this book be good.
        • HarukiFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:18 am
          I Am Regina By Sally Keehn I liked the book I Am Regina because it had lots of action. Also don't read the back until you are at Chapter Four it spoils some of the book. The story is about the time of The French and Indian War some English people got captured by Indians. Also she spends a lot of time in her Indian family that she goes too. Only she and her sister , dad and one brother are there when she gets captured. My favorite part is when she gets a dog. It reminds me of the time I got a dog. If you like action emotion and a few scary parts then read I Am Regina. I think you should read I Am Regina if you like a good well-paced book for tough children 8 and up.
          • djmusic284
            djmusic284Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 7:12 pm
            Now I want read this book even more!!!! Thanks Haruki, Hailey, and 23jrisher!!!! Totally reading!!!!
          • HaileyFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:14 am
            I Am Regina I Am Regina is one of the best books. I like it has lots of surprising events that happen that you will not believe. It is written by Sally M. Keehn. In I Am Regina their family got separated and Regina went to go with the Indians for 12 years. Wolfen is the mean person to Regina. Regina misses her mom and wonders if she will ever see her mom again. My favorite part of the book is the part when she gets the dog named Tumma. I recommend this book to people who like history and sad stories. I also recommend it to people who are 10 and up.
            • 23jrisher
              23jrisherFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:13 am
              I Am Regina is a historical fiction book written by Sally M. Keehn. I Am Regina is about a little German girl named Regina who is separated from her sister,mother and brother. Their world was burned to the ground.By Allegheny Indians Regina and her sister are a captured by Allegheny Indians. What happens to Regina and her Family.Whatever it is it is so sad you Will cry but it gets better.there is a Indian who is like a mother to Regina she spends a. Lot time with her she Also has a Wicked mother who thets her Poorly. I Am Regina is my favorite book Because. It gos in a sequence of events. So if you like mystery and turns than read i am Regina.Do not read the read the Back.
              • EllaFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:13 am
                I Am Regina review I Am Regina written by sally m. Keehn is a historical fiction book about the French and Indian War. Don't be fooled by its genre. This book is action packed.This book focuses on a girl named Regina, who has an older sister named Barbara.They live in the colonies with their family.One day they are captured by the Indiana. Then forced to live in their tribes. I like the part when Regina gets her new puppy.I know how it feels when you get a pet.I like this part because it gives her a friend and something to look forward. I recommend this book to people who like books they can feel emotion in while reading. Oh, I almost forgot to tell you don't read the back cover before you read this book.The back of this book will spoil the story. This book is not part of a series. Luckily, there are different perspectives of this book.There is also a movie.
                • djmusic284
                  djmusic284Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 7:13 pm
                  What there's movie! Thanks Ella!
                • SamFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:13 am
                  One of my favorite books is I Am Regina by Sally M. Keehn. One day a girl named Regina and a girl named Barbara get taken away by the Indians. Regina and a girl named Quitet get taken to a village and had to live in a hut with a old woman named Woelfin and a man named Tiger Claw. At first Woelfin treated Regina and Quitet but then she is nice to them. Tiger claw is always mean to them. My favorite parts are when Regina gets a puppy and names it Tummaa because Regina has a friend now while I was glad Quitet’s smallpox went away. I recommend this book to people who like history and reading. If you like this book read Barbara version, Alone Yet Not Alone.
                  • 23kcorkran
                    23kcorkranFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:12 amFeatured
                    The book I’m going to review is called, I Am Regina, by Sally M. Keehn. This book is a true story about Regina Leininger. She was taken as an Indian Captive during the French and Indian War. She and her sister Barbara get separated and taken into different tribes. She goes into a family with Quetit. Also known as Sarah. Throughout the book, Quetit calls Regina her Indian name Tskinnak. My favorite part is when Regina takes care of Quetit when she has smallpox. She boils fox bones for her and makes broth for her. My connection to this is when my sister is sick I always take care of her. I would recommend this book to people who like sad books and who are interested in historical fiction. I would also recommend this book to people with a high reading level because there are difficult words. I would also recommend not to read the back because it gives away a lot.
                    • 23jseifert
                      23jseifertFriday, March 18, 2016 at 8:12 am
                      I Am Regina I Am Regina is one of my favorite books. It is written by Sally M. Keen. Don’t be threatened by the words “Historical Fiction” It is still a really good book. One normal day at Regina's house in the new world, her father, Barbara, John, Kristen, and Mother are eating dinner. Mother and John will leave tomorrow to go to the mill. Later that day, Indians come and capture Regina and Barbara. They also captured the neighbors, 10 year old Marie and their 2 year old swedish visitor Sarah. My favorite part is when Barbara and Regina raced back home. It is my favorite because it connects to me and how I like to run. I recommend it to people 10 and up because it might frighten younger people. If you like strong emotion this is the book for you. Don’t read the book until Chapter 4, because it spoils the book. Josh Seifert