Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.399750
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone out to make sure you don't live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before - and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Collins delivers equal parts suspense and philosophy, adventure and romance, in this searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present.

Paperback, 374 pages
2413 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • AnonymousWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 9:54 pm
    I'm spellbound with this book! You should DEFINATELY read this book when you like action and fantasy. The book is about this surviving game like Sword Art Online, but it is in real life, not in an immersive game.
    • lottiestar
      lottiestarWednesday, November 25, 2020 at 12:30 pm55 stars
      This book is amazing and I would definitely recommend it to someone!!
      • jkbear
        jkbearThursday, November 19, 2020 at 3:25 pm55 stars
        I loved this book
        • humanperson :0Tuesday, November 17, 2020 at 5:10 pm
          love the book! I can't wait to read the prequel!
          • veronicagrimm
            veronicagrimmTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 10:07 am55 stars
            I just read this book and it is amazing. I loved it when Katniss dropped a Tracker-Jacker nest on the Careers heads! I don't think you have to be in 7th or 8th grade to read it because I just read it and I'm in 6th grade.
            • veronicagrimm
              veronicagrimmTuesday, November 17, 2020 at 9:42 am55 stars
              Hunger Games was a great book and I really enjoyed reading it. I haven't read any of the other books in the series but I'm looking forward to it. The middle of the book is amazing.
              • annafantastic
                annafantasticFriday, October 23, 2020 at 12:29 am55 stars
                Great book for those who like romance, action and drama! Katniss is in district-12 and kids from ages 12 - 18 will have their names in to be drawn. Her sister just turned twelve and only has her name in there once and out of all the names she gets drawn. But instead Katniss takes her place. She is taken to a place to do some training and interview's and get styled. When she gets to the arena she has to survive until she is the last person out of 24 kids. Read the book to find out what happens in the arena will she survive or will she die?
                • mangamaster
                  mangamasterThursday, October 29, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
                  I like the way you described it!
                  • annafantastic
                    annafantasticThursday, November 26, 2020 at 9:41 am55 stars
                    Thanks!
                • jimmyTuesday, October 20, 2020 at 6:13 am
                  thats a good book
                  • violingirl82
                    violingirl82Monday, October 19, 2020 at 3:37 pm55 stars
                    I read this book, and now i cant wait to get the next two! I would rate this a 10+, due two a lot of violence
                    • skeleton-boi-01
                      skeleton-boi-01Friday, October 16, 2020 at 10:09 am55 stars
                      i really want to read the books and watch the movies the movies and the books sound interesting my older brother read all the books so i wanna read them too