Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8W5.141673
Readers fell in love with teenage waitress Hope Yancey when Joan Bauer’s Newbery Honor–winning novel was published ten years ago. Now, with a terrific new jacket and note from the author, Hope’s story will inspire a new group of teen readers.
Hardcover, 192 pages
Published on September 11, 2000 by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0399231420
ISBN-13: 9780399231421
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • isabellagamerab
    isabellagamerabSaturday, July 20, 2019 at 12:58 am55 stars
    When hope and her aunt move to small town its good book
    • butterfly223
      butterfly223Friday, July 19, 2019 at 7:41 am55 starsFeatured
      When Hope and her aunt move to small-town Wisconsin to take over the local diner, Hope's not sure what to expect. But what they find is that the owner, G.T., isn't quite ready to give up yet - in fact, he's decided to run for mayor against a corrupt candidate. And as Hope starts to make her place at the diner, she also finds herself caught up in G.T.'s campaign - particularly his visions for the future. After all, as G.T. points out, everyone can use a little hope to help get through the tough times... even Hope herself. Filled with heart and charm
      • ccswishingstar
        ccswishingstarTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:17 pm44 stars
        Amazing book!!!! :D Hope and her aunt Addie leave New York City and head to Mulhoney, Wisconsin to run a local diner there. G.T., the diner's owner, decides to run for office and try to become mayor of Mulhoney against Eli Millstone, Mulhoney's current corupt mayor.
        • ellasin
          ellasinThursday, November 22, 2018 at 7:04 pm55 stars
          It’s an amazing book 📖.
          • sydthewiz
            sydthewizWednesday, September 16, 2015 at 2:35 pm55 stars
            GREAT BOOK!
            • angelina2
              angelina2Wednesday, September 16, 2015 at 10:49 am55 stars
              Thank You! So Much It Is a great book try it out.
              • maugustine
                maugustineTuesday, April 28, 2015 at 7:09 am11 star
                This book was not one of my favorites because it has a slow story line and id hard to understand. The beginning was better then the middle ad the end and then it suddenly turned bad.
                • mlk2
                  mlk2Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:45 pm44 stars
                  My favorite part was when braveman gave Hope clown nose to make people laugh.I would recomend my book to anybody that likes this book
                  • fmaglalang
                    fmaglalangSunday, February 1, 2015 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                    I really enjoyed this book because it gives you hope and courage to try your best. My Grandma had cancer so this book meant a lot to me. I really liked it.
                    • hamster1245
                      hamster1245Thursday, April 10, 2014 at 11:24 am55 stars
                      It is about a girl name Hope. She lives with her aunt in Molhoney, Wisconsin. She is a waitress for a man who has cancer. He is trying to run for mayor!