Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 6n/a5.656519
Twelve-year-old Jocelyn dreams of becoming every bit as daring as her infamous father, Captain James Hook. Her grandfather, on the other hand, intends to see her starched and pressed into a fine society lady. When she's sent to Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb's Finishing School for Young Ladies, Jocelyn's hopes of following in her father's fearsome footsteps are lost in a heap of dance lessons, white gloves, and way too much pink.

So when Jocelyn receives a letter from her father challenging her to avenge his untimely demise at the jaws of the Neverland crocodile, she doesn't hesitate-here at last is the adventure she has been waiting for. But Jocelyn finds that being a pirate is a bit more difficult than she'd bargained for. As if attempting to defeat the Neverland's most fearsome beast isn't enough to deal with, she's tasked with captaining a crew of woefully untrained pirates, outwitting cannibals wild for English cuisine, and rescuing her best friend from a certain pack of lost children, not to mention that pesky Peter Pan who keeps barging in uninvited.

The crocodile's clock is always ticking in Heidi Schulz's debut novel, a story told by an irascible narrator who is both dazzlingly witty and sharp as a sword. Will Jocelyn find the courage to beat the incessant monster before time runs out?
Hardcover, 304 pages
Published on September 16, 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
ISBN-10: 1423198670
ISBN-13: 9781423198673
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • marrigold137
    marrigold137Thursday, June 6, 2019 at 5:30 pm55 stars
    I LOVED this book . It told a tale of a girl's dreams and insecurities . The book itself was brilliantly written and the narrator shared certain qualities with the narrator from "The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones " which I suggest to people who liked this book.
    • happypug12
      happypug12Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 6:11 am44 starsFeatured
      Captain Hook is dead, killed by the malicious crocodile. His daughter, Jocelyn, is faced with the heavy burden of avenging her father. But first she must endure the hardships of Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb's Finishing School For Young Ladies, pirate battles, annoying flying boys, pirate-eating cannibals, and her own fear. I really liked this book, as Jocelyn is a well-written character, and, unlike SOME books I've read, she's not perfect. She has flaws, which makes her easy to relate to, and easy to sympathize with. The story-telling style of this book was...nice. The narrator didn't seem to like narrating the story. You could write a whole series chronicling Jocelyn's mishaps. I can't wait to see what trouble-I mean, adventures-Jocelyn gets herself into next. I suggest to anyone who likes a good 'ol pirate story with a twist.
      • pinkiep
        pinkiepThursday, June 2, 2016 at 8:45 am
        This the book about Jocelyn who desires to follow her father's footsteps, but her dream seems to shatter when she is sent to a school that would make her a lady. At last she is able to go out on a mission as a pirate, but she sees that being a pirate isn't easy. From rescuing her friend, to beating a monster and Peter Pan, the uninvited guest.
        • catface173
          catface173Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 4:43 pm44 stars
          When I was younger I liked the movie peter pan. No offense but captain hook has really long curly hair. lol lol lol lol lol
          • inventor60
            inventor60Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 6:00 am55 stars
            This the book about Jocelyn who desires to follow her father's footsteps, but her dream seems to shatter when she is sent to a school that would make her a lady. At last she is able to go out on a mission as a pirate, but she sees that being a pirate isn't easy. From rescuing her friend, to beating a monster and Peter Pan, the uninvited guest.
            • hullo
              hulloTuesday, September 22, 2015 at 2:59 pm
              Jocelyn wants to be just like her father, Captain James Hook, but its hard when she gets sent to Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb's Finishing School for Young Ladies. Can she be the pirate she truly wants to be? Read to find out,
              • coreycole
                coreycoleFriday, August 28, 2015 at 12:43 pm44 stars
                this was cool i got to watch the movie peter pan and ths is like the story of capt hook or well his daughter i think is kinda cheesy i mean hes captin hook wouldnt he have big pirate boys? but my mom says girls can be pirates to and thats why she had to learn to be a boring girl first
                • penguin313
                  penguin313Friday, August 21, 2015 at 2:50 pm55 stars
                  A daring adventure about Captain Hook's teen daughter, who is trying to avenge her father by killing the crocodile. She will fight cannibals, a serpent and try to save her best friend from the lost boy's spell. With Mr. Smee and her crew, she goes on a thrilling adventure.
                  • snicker9
                    snicker9Wednesday, August 19, 2015 at 2:45 pm55 starsFeatured
                    When I first read the description of Hook's Revenge, I was very excited. I have always loved the idea of Never Land and the whole island. The basic plot line is all about Jocelyn, the young daughter of the famous Captain Hook. She has always wanted to join her pirate father on the seas, but he has never come for her. Soon her high society grandfather decides to send her off to school, to learn how to be a well-bred lady. But then a messenger comes for Jocelyn, and she learns her father is dead. All she is left is a letter, telling her that he has been murdered from the blood-thirsty crocodile, and that he must be avenged. So Jocelyn sets off for Never Land and must fave the creature while overcoming her self doubts and finding and losing friendship. I suggest this book for 10+ kids, as there are some intense scenes that might not be good for younger kids. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars.
                    • deacon
                      deaconFriday, August 7, 2015 at 10:25 am55 stars
                      Captain Hook's feisty daughter hits the high seas to avenge her father's death at the jaws of the Neverland crocodile in Heidi Schulz's spirited middle-grade debut. Very exciting characters and cant wait to read the next one in the series.