Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2000 by Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 9990833087
ISBN-13: 9789990833089
444 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • ABJTuesday, February 19, 2019 at 9:35 am
    The three of us loved this book! We liked it because of the exciting, sad, mysterious and loving moments!!! It is a story about Stanley Yelnats and how he breaks a curse his family was under. He ends up going to Camp Green Lake. At Camp Green Lake the have to dig holes every day. Then one day he sees big thumb. That is all we are going to say about the book. If you want to know the rest, read the book!!! We think Louis Sachar really pulled it off! Read the book ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • heavytoothpaste
      heavytoothpasteThursday, January 31, 2019 at 9:45 pm55 stars
      This book is a really good book
      • soso17970
        soso17970Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 7:51 pm44 stars
        Good book, great plot!
        • ariettaki08
          ariettaki08Tuesday, January 15, 2019 at 5:39 pm44 stars
          I really liked it, and I WOULD recommend this book!
          • catThursday, January 10, 2019 at 4:20 pm
            it was good
            • champatreading
              champatreadingThursday, January 10, 2019 at 6:23 am
              This is such a great book! It has such a great plot twist toward the end of the book that you would never expect. The book has a happy ending. Although i do recommend ages 13 and up to read this book because you rally have to understand it to be interested in this book. It can come off boring to some people but i personally loved it!
              • freckleface04
                freckleface04Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 6:45 am33 stars
                this is a very ......different book
                • emvgb
                  emvgbWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:39 pm55 stars
                  I really wish I could watch the movie because this book was not bad at all!
                  • zeke21
                    zeke21Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:19 am55 stars
                    This book is very well written. The book starts off a little slow but gets faster and faster. The book is very thrilling and it will leave you thinking: "what will happen next?" The book is very good.
                    • nasuada
                      nasuadaTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 3:12 pm44 stars
                      Stanley Yelnats is useless. He's overweight and a social outcast. Then Stanley is accused and convicted of a crime he didn't commit. Stanley is sent to Camp Green Lake, the dryest, dustiest, and least green place in the world. It toughens him up, both physically and mentally. Stanley and his friend Zero fight against the corrupt leadership. The book had such a unique writing style. I would recommend it to anyone.

                      Our Apps and Plugins