Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2000 by Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 9990833087
ISBN-13: 9789990833089
488 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Monday, July 20, 2020 at 5:17 pm55 stars
    SO GOOD!!! Very enjoable and captivating to read as well!
    • leiker1414
      leiker1414Saturday, July 4, 2020 at 5:36 pm
      It's my favorite movie you should watch it if u have not seen it or read the book. U have to dig a hole every day at camp green lake to make u a better kid. I won't spoil any of it though.
      • lovereading310
        lovereading310Monday, June 29, 2020 at 4:35 pm55 stars
        i read it in school! very good!
        • effie302
          effie302Friday, June 12, 2020 at 7:06 am
          its very interesting I must say, but I think the movie is better, but I did read this book, very cool ending, I recommend!
          • adamthekid
            adamthekidThursday, June 4, 2020 at 6:34 am44 stars
            I really liked this book because it was really funny, and intresting.
            • bookfan2008
              bookfan2008Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 1:11 pm55 stars
              I loved this book. Very intresting book.
              • cbear165
                cbear165Monday, March 16, 2020 at 10:39 am55 stars
                I love this book. I would recommend this book for 8 year olds and up. I first read this book for a school assignment. It was a good book to read. It was so good I am reading it again.
                • starkk_22
                  starkk_22Friday, March 13, 2020 at 5:36 am44 stars
                  This book is about Stanley Yelnats who's been convicted of stealing shoes. For his punishment he goes to a detention center in the middle of the desert. One day while digging he finds something interesting which leads him on an adventure through the desert. I connected to this book because it shows how he didn't really get to choose what happened to him after he got convicted and I've been in that situation a few times.
                  • mimiv
                    mimivThursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:55 pm55 stars
                    The book starts out with a boy named Stanley convicted of a crime he didn't commit but his story is a little off so the judge doesn't believe him. He is sent to Camp Green Lake the camp is meant to build character in a boy and toughen them up in the real world. Most of the story surrounds that setting of Camp Green Lake. But near the end, he runs away. This book is very interesting. I give it 5 stars because it kept me interested. There were no boring parts like most books. You may find the book a little confusing because it bounces back and forth between the past and present. I found this book relatable because of how he was given a second chance to fight his case in court. Showing how everyone needs a second chance because the first time around may not be correct.
                    • abi_k_12
                      abi_k_12Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 2:58 pm44 starsFeatured
                      Stanley Yelnats has been convicted of a crime he didn't even commit. Because of this, he's been sent to Camp Green Lake, a camp that is supposed to build character and bring boys back to society. When Stanley gets there, he makes some friends and finds out that the Warden is making the boys dig holes not to build character, but to find a legendary secret treasure, that his great-great-grandfather supposedly had something to do with. Will he ever find the treasure? Will he ever get his crime justified and escape Camp Green Lake? Read Holes by Louis Sachar to find out. I connected to this book because Stanley takes the blame for things he didn't do, and I have done that before. I give this book 4 stars because the story plot was good, but the cutting back and forth to the past and present was confusing, and the resolution was predictable in some parts.