Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2000 by Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 9990833087
ISBN-13: 9789990833089
438 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • frecklefacec
    frecklefacecThursday, December 6, 2018 at 6:45 am33 stars
    this is a very ......different book
    • emvgb
      emvgbWednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:39 pm55 stars
      I really wish I could watch the movie because this book was not bad at all!
      • zeke21
        zeke21Wednesday, December 5, 2018 at 6:19 am55 stars
        This book is very well written. The book starts off a little slow but gets faster and faster. The book is very thrilling and it will leave you thinking: "what will happen next?" The book is very good.
        • nasuada
          nasuadaTuesday, December 4, 2018 at 3:12 pm44 stars
          Stanley Yelnats is useless. He's overweight and a social outcast. Then Stanley is accused and convicted of a crime he didn't commit. Stanley is sent to Camp Green Lake, the dryest, dustiest, and least green place in the world. It toughens him up, both physically and mentally. Stanley and his friend Zero fight against the corrupt leadership. The book had such a unique writing style. I would recommend it to anyone.
          • cornbread
            cornbreadThursday, September 27, 2018 at 4:07 pm44 stars
            Pretty nice, but for some reason the main character’s outer characteristics. I have no idea what color the main character’s hair is. The story is OH MY GOD amazing, though.
            • wiccanbat666
              wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:15 pm44 stars
              No wonder this book has got a Newberry Award. Its 200 something pages of pure awesomeness! By beautifully executing such an ingenious concept, Louis Sachar has made me his fan.
              • 2007crFriday, June 1, 2018 at 5:27 pm
                really awsome
                • savigekid932Friday, June 1, 2018 at 5:25 pm
                  i think that is the best book of 2008
                  • lamboghini
                    lamboghiniTuesday, April 24, 2018 at 7:09 am55 stars
                    The book Holes by Louis Sachar takes place in Camp Green Lake, a conservation camp. Its about a boy names Stanley Yelnats, but they call him caveman. He got accused for stealing the sweet shoes. But the shoes fell from the sky and he thought it was a sign, because his dad works with shoes. Everyday they have to dig holes for only one reason. Read the book to find out why and what happens next. I recommend this book for 4-7th graders <3
                    • savagekid932
                      savagekid932Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 3:09 pm55 stars
                      i think that this is the best book of 2008

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Tess wrote:

                      You should read Ellies story
                      Molly's Story: A Dog's Purpose N...

                      atrama
                      atrama wrote:

                      just read and is just as awesome...
                      The Curious World of Calpurnia Tate

                      #SCHOOLFORGOOD wrote:

                      This book is so good. I picked i...
                      The School for Good and Evil

                      #BOOKWORM wrote:

                      This is the BEST series ever!!! ...
                      Keeper of the Lost Cities

                      Our Apps and Plugins