Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2000 by Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 9990833087
ISBN-13: 9789990833089
506 Book Reviews
  • kittylover111
    kittylover111Wednesday, February 24, 2021 at 9:03 am55 stars
    Holes is kinda scary, but overall a super good book. I read it in my book club. Stanley is the main character, and it turns out Zero, his best friend, is the one who caused his crime to be sent to the horrible camp with the warden! I recommend this book a lot!
    • bookqueenpaige
      bookqueenpaigeWednesday, February 24, 2021 at 8:56 am
      So far so good
      • happy-emma
        happy-emmaSunday, January 24, 2021 at 7:41 pm55 stars
        This book tells us about a boy called Stanley Yelnats. He is accused of stealing but he is actually innocent. The judge gives him a choice - either go to Camp Green Lake or Jail. So Stanley goes to Camp, since he never went before. But Camp Green Lake is horrible, and Stanley hates it...
        • gemluvssoccer37
          gemluvssoccer37Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:56 pm55 stars
          I've read the book AND watched the movie!
          • babyyodafan1
            babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:18 pm44 stars
            It's a cool book.
            • gimmemy_pie
              gimmemy_pieMonday, January 4, 2021 at 5:29 am55 stars
              I love it my favorite character is zero and caveman
              • legendary1
                legendary1Monday, January 4, 2021 at 2:57 am55 stars
                We read this in lockdon schooll and it was rlly good then we watched the film its really good
                • hamstergirl11
                  hamstergirl11Wednesday, December 23, 2020 at 7:18 am55 stars
                  This book is very interesting! I read it in fourth grade and I really enjoyed it. There is also a really funny movie that is with the book. Read it before you see it!! The book is really funny and sad at times. You will love the characters. Please read! Someday this may be a great piece of literature.
                  • chub_lord
                    chub_lordWednesday, January 6, 2021 at 11:56 am55 stars
                    I read the book in 3rd grade
                    • babyyodafan1
                      babyyodafan1Tuesday, January 5, 2021 at 3:18 pm44 stars
                      I also read this book in 4th grade!
                    • ramzilla99
                      ramzilla99Tuesday, December 15, 2020 at 9:26 am55 stars
                      The best book ever so good
                      • ezpz01
                        ezpz01Monday, November 30, 2020 at 4:35 pm55 stars
                        This is awesome! I hope you guys try it! There is also a movie too! This book is one of my favorite books I've ever had!