Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback
Published on April 30, 2000 by Yearling Books
ISBN-10: 9990833087
ISBN-13: 9789990833089
434 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • cornbread
    cornbreadThursday, September 27, 2018 at 4:07 pm44 stars
    Pretty nice, but for some reason the main character’s outer characteristics. I have no idea what color the main character’s hair is. The story is OH MY GOD amazing, though.
    • wiccanbat666
      wiccanbat666Monday, July 2, 2018 at 2:15 pm44 stars
      No wonder this book has got a Newberry Award. Its 200 something pages of pure awesomeness! By beautifully executing such an ingenious concept, Louis Sachar has made me his fan.
      • 2007crFriday, June 1, 2018 at 5:27 pm
        really awsome
        • savigekid932Friday, June 1, 2018 at 5:25 pm
          i think that is the best book of 2008
          • lamboghini
            lamboghiniTuesday, April 24, 2018 at 7:09 am55 stars
            The book Holes by Louis Sachar takes place in Camp Green Lake, a conservation camp. Its about a boy names Stanley Yelnats, but they call him caveman. He got accused for stealing the sweet shoes. But the shoes fell from the sky and he thought it was a sign, because his dad works with shoes. Everyday they have to dig holes for only one reason. Read the book to find out why and what happens next. I recommend this book for 4-7th graders <3
            • savagekid932
              savagekid932Saturday, March 17, 2018 at 3:09 pm55 stars
              i think that this is the best book of 2008
              • Gabriel PersinThursday, January 11, 2018 at 8:42 am
                Holes is a book about a boy, Stanley Yelnats, that is sentenced to dig holes, at Camp green lake. Stanley is only sentenced there for something he didn't do! Stanley plans his escape very wisly and it works out. Of course he didn't do it by himself, he made a few friends on the way of the escape. One of the friends is Zero, a boy that Stanley taught how to read. In return Zero an Stanley make a run for it. In the end Camp green lake gets shut down for child labor. Everyone in Camp green lake is realized and sent back home. My opinion on this book and even the movie is 5 Stars. One of the best books I have ever read in a while. I recommend this book to people that like adventure stories as well as action. Have you ever felt like throwing up because you havent eaten or had a drink of water for more than 24 hours, well Stanley and Zero felt like that when they made a run for it. Hope you read "Holes" and enjoy it!!
                • jc8597Tuesday, January 9, 2018 at 1:34 pm
                  Holes Is a book with two kids named Zero and Stanley. Zero and Stanley went to a camp called Camp Green Lake. One day Stanley helped Zero how to learn and spell his name (“Capital Z-e-r-o”). Stanly showed zero how to spell his name so, when Zero needed to write his name he would no how to. Another day the boys had to dig holes and Stanley found a golden tube, he told Zero. Zero thought they could use it to get out of school. If you ever read the book Holes or watch the movie you will also hear the names, Zig-Zag, Hector, the Warden, Mr. Sir, Sweet Feet, and X-Ray.
                  • 2007crWednesday, November 15, 2017 at 5:32 pm
                    Really asome
                    • pobubaredi
                      pobubarediMonday, October 30, 2017 at 11:17 am55 stars
                      Stanley is forced to be taken to Camp Green Lake for something that he didn't do. When and will he get out of Camp Green Lake.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      gmam10011
                      gmam10011 wrote:

                      It is about boarding school in A...
                      My Name Is Not Easy

                      gmam10011
                      gmam10011 wrote:

                      It is an awesome book. It really...
                      Checked

                      danika_reader10

                      so good did it for my book report
                      Ugly

                      danika_reader10

                      this is available at a cheap pri...
                      Wonder

                      Our Apps and Plugins