Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 20, 2001 by Collins Educational
ISBN-10: 0007114516
ISBN-13: 9780007114511
478 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • karebear190
    karebear190Thursday, February 13, 2020 at 9:52 am44 stars
    I remember when I read this book back then in elementary school. My class thought it's going to be boring and nothing interesting. We read it and loved it! Then we watched the movie and it was great, super recommend!
    • wehiburo-158023957799
      wehiburo-158023957799Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 1:09 pm33 stars
      In my opinion, this book is only half bad and here's why. First, if you haven't read the book, here is what it is about. It's about Stanley Yelnats, a boy convicted of a crime he didn't commit. He is sent to a prison camp called Camp Green Lake in Texas (there isn't even a lake there). It has other boys too who are guilty of their crimes. Everyday, they are forced to dig holes, with the Warden expecting them to find lost treasure. I didn't like how the climax ended to fast and how there weren't enough events after that. I did like the backstories and how they related to the setting, characters, and plot. For this, I'm going to have to rate this 3 stars.
      • bookwormhuman
        bookwormhumanThursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:49 am55 stars
        I think this book is a really good book. This book takes place on a dried lake in the middle of nowhere and it is about boys that are digging holes because of what they have done wrong. I really liked this book because it was very interesting and I felt like it had many climaxes. This book was very interesting and It was one of the best books that I have ever read with the exception from harry potter of course. I really liked this book and I prefer this book to all people that read this review.
        • applesaregucci
          applesaregucciFriday, January 3, 2020 at 1:00 pm55 stars
          I read this book in Grade 4 and when I saw it, it looked really old so it probably will be bad i thought. But when I read it i couldn't stop reading it. At the time I was really interested in mystery books and this book has many mysteries and twists. I think this is an awesome book for you mystery fans.
          • applesaregucci
            applesaregucciFriday, January 3, 2020 at 12:17 pm55 stars
            I was in Grade 4 when I read this book, it was for a subject in school. I thought the book was going to be pretty bad because it looked old. When I read it, I couldn't stop reading it. At the time, I was really interested in mystery books and this book had a lot of mysteries and twists. I think this is an awesome book for some of you mystery fans.
            • AnominaSaturday, December 28, 2019 at 5:27 am
              Holes is good
              • alex_alexiee
                alex_alexieeThursday, October 31, 2019 at 2:22 am44 stars
                HOLES is a great book that i had read in 3rd grade when i was a level v and now i'm in 5th and a level z!HOLES is a book with action,adventure and you can learn things like integrety.When i read the book i instantly fell in love with it.so if your bored and just wanna read,i think you should read holes.
                • fortnitegamer
                  fortnitegamerTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 3:18 pm55 stars
                  i love holes the movie is great
                  • waddlesgmes
                    waddlesgmesTuesday, October 29, 2019 at 11:18 am55 stars
                    I LOVE holes. The plot, rising action, falling action, It was all awesome!
                    • leadership1
                      leadership1Tuesday, October 29, 2019 at 9:38 am
                      This was a really good book. I like it because it is about a boy who is like me. He is brave and stands up for friends. I also like it because he was wrongly chosen and it was exciting to know who was going to end up good and who was going to end up bad. I also like it because he goes to prison camp. I really like this book.