Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 8V4.647079

Stanley Yelnats is sentenced to dig holes at Camp Green Lake detention centre for stealing a pair of trainers. Stanley's quest to discover what he is digging for leads to danger and adventure and to a confrontation with his family's past.

Paperback, 233 pages
Published on May 9, 2000 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0440414806
ISBN-13: 9780440414803
483 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • bookfan2008
    bookfan2008Sunday, April 5, 2020 at 1:11 pm
    I loved this book. Very intresting book.
    • cbear165
      cbear165Monday, March 16, 2020 at 10:39 am55 stars
      I love this book. I would recommend this book for 8 year olds and up. I first read this book for a school assignment. It was a good book to read. It was so good I am reading it again.
      • starkk_22
        starkk_22Friday, March 13, 2020 at 5:36 am44 stars
        This book is about Stanley Yelnats who's been convicted of stealing shoes. For his punishment he goes to a detention center in the middle of the desert. One day while digging he finds something interesting which leads him on an adventure through the desert. I connected to this book because it shows how he didn't really get to choose what happened to him after he got convicted and I've been in that situation a few times.
        • mimiv
          mimivThursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:55 pm55 stars
          The book starts out with a boy named Stanley convicted of a crime he didn't commit but his story is a little off so the judge doesn't believe him. He is sent to Camp Green Lake the camp is meant to build character in a boy and toughen them up in the real world. Most of the story surrounds that setting of Camp Green Lake. But near the end, he runs away. This book is very interesting. I give it 5 stars because it kept me interested. There were no boring parts like most books. You may find the book a little confusing because it bounces back and forth between the past and present. I found this book relatable because of how he was given a second chance to fight his case in court. Showing how everyone needs a second chance because the first time around may not be correct.
          • abi_k_12
            abi_k_12Tuesday, March 10, 2020 at 2:58 pm44 starsFeatured
            Stanley Yelnats has been convicted of a crime he didn't even commit. Because of this, he's been sent to Camp Green Lake, a camp that is supposed to build character and bring boys back to society. When Stanley gets there, he makes some friends and finds out that the Warden is making the boys dig holes not to build character, but to find a legendary secret treasure, that his great-great-grandfather supposedly had something to do with. Will he ever find the treasure? Will he ever get his crime justified and escape Camp Green Lake? Read Holes by Louis Sachar to find out. I connected to this book because Stanley takes the blame for things he didn't do, and I have done that before. I give this book 4 stars because the story plot was good, but the cutting back and forth to the past and present was confusing, and the resolution was predictable in some parts.
            • karebear190
              karebear190Thursday, February 13, 2020 at 9:52 am44 stars
              I remember when I read this book back then in elementary school. My class thought it's going to be boring and nothing interesting. We read it and loved it! Then we watched the movie and it was great, super recommend!
              • wehiburo-158023957799
                wehiburo-158023957799Sunday, February 2, 2020 at 1:09 pm33 stars
                In my opinion, this book is only half bad and here's why. First, if you haven't read the book, here is what it is about. It's about Stanley Yelnats, a boy convicted of a crime he didn't commit. He is sent to a prison camp called Camp Green Lake in Texas (there isn't even a lake there). It has other boys too who are guilty of their crimes. Everyday, they are forced to dig holes, with the Warden expecting them to find lost treasure. I didn't like how the climax ended to fast and how there weren't enough events after that. I did like the backstories and how they related to the setting, characters, and plot. For this, I'm going to have to rate this 3 stars.
                • bookwormhuman
                  bookwormhumanThursday, January 30, 2020 at 7:49 am55 stars
                  I think this book is a really good book. This book takes place on a dried lake in the middle of nowhere and it is about boys that are digging holes because of what they have done wrong. I really liked this book because it was very interesting and I felt like it had many climaxes. This book was very interesting and It was one of the best books that I have ever read with the exception from harry potter of course. I really liked this book and I prefer this book to all people that read this review.
                  • applesaregucci
                    applesaregucciFriday, January 3, 2020 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                    I read this book in Grade 4 and when I saw it, it looked really old so it probably will be bad i thought. But when I read it i couldn't stop reading it. At the time I was really interested in mystery books and this book has many mysteries and twists. I think this is an awesome book for you mystery fans.
                    • applesaregucci
                      applesaregucciFriday, January 3, 2020 at 12:17 pm55 stars
                      I was in Grade 4 when I read this book, it was for a subject in school. I thought the book was going to be pretty bad because it looked old. When I read it, I couldn't stop reading it. At the time, I was really interested in mystery books and this book had a lot of mysteries and twists. I think this is an awesome book for some of you mystery fans.