Hilo Book 2: Saving the Whole Wide World

Book 2 of 6 in the HiLo Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grade 3n/a2.56609

Calvin and Hobbes meets Big Nate meets Bone in HILO-the hilarious, action-packed New York Times Bestselling GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES kids AND critics love! "A Total BLAST," says the Miami Herald!

DJ and Gina are TOTALLY ordinary kids. But Hilo . . . isn’t. HILO is just settling into life on earth (Bowling? Knock-knock jokes? OUTSTANDING!) when strange portals begin opening up all over town. And HOLY MACKEREL! Even STRANGER creatures are coming through them! But it will take more than a GIANT MUTANT CHICKEN, A VIKING HIPPO, A MAGICAL WARRIOR CAT, or even a few MILLION KILLER VEGETABLES to stop Team Hilo . . . er, WON’T IT? Can Hilo, DJ, and GINA figure out how to send these creatures back to their worlds before they DESTROY the earth?

Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on May 17, 2016 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0385386230
ISBN-13: 9780385386234
9 Book Reviews
  • witibipu-160037993324
    witibipu-160037993324Friday, March 26, 2021 at 12:11 pm55 stars
    Best book ever this book has action and if you are a fan of Dav Pilkey this is the best book for you! This is the second book of the series and it is where gina comes back! Hooray!
    • chub_lord
      chub_lordSaturday, December 5, 2020 at 10:01 am
      Hilo Laser Mits Is The Best Robot-Boy-Girl-Guy-Thing??... Anyways Now He Can do all the stuff I told you in the last review if you have not seen it check it out, he has ice breath/ice beams AND HE CAN DO THE COOLEST THING EVER....... ICE SKATE!!!!! seriously no one I ever knew can ice skate anyways you should read it and Follow me!!!
      • DavidWednesday, September 4, 2019 at 12:15 pm
        Like the books but, are really boring
        • pizzagirl7
          pizzagirl7Wednesday, May 22, 2019 at 12:45 pm55 stars
          Remember in the last book hilo left?well he is back he is trying to fit in .one thing that happen is dj not somebody because they hit hilo and dj got sad .the robots are still trying to come to earth so hilo have his two friends and djs little sister a portal thing thAt gets rid of the robots if you open the portal .this ended horribly when they opened a portal on accident and Gina went flying into it.hilo said there is nothing he can do!then the book ended!horrible ending!😂I can't wait to read th next one!I really hope it's a at my library!I recommend to 8 to 13 year olds I rate 5/5 stars!😍😁
          • actionsavage21
            actionsavage21Monday, October 29, 2018 at 1:36 pm55 stars
            I think it is fun. Hilo is a wonderful character he likes to save people instead of hurting them. Hilo has two good friends. He is smart. He can memorize a word and its exact definition. I would recommend this book to people who likes action and adventure. If you don't have this book you should get it.
            • grapefruit
              grapefruitSaturday, March 24, 2018 at 5:39 am55 stars
              In this book, Hilo the robot is back--and stronger than ever. Be prepared for more alien madness, craziness, and fun just like the first book! A cliffhanger ending makes you want to rush to buy the next book, unless you don't want to know what Razorwark wants to do next...
              • ohhnews
                ohhnewsFriday, September 8, 2017 at 11:52 am33 stars
                what is this book about
                • habiibacute4
                  habiibacute4Thursday, February 23, 2017 at 7:05 am
                  I really want to read this book!!💖💖
                  • awesomessb
                    awesomessbTuesday, July 12, 2016 at 1:28 pm55 stars
                    Hilarious, just like the 1st!