Hidden Like Anne Frank: 14 True Stories of Survival

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.749880
Jaap Sitters was only eight years old when his mother cut the yellow stars off his clothes and sent him, alone, on a fifteen-mile walk to hide with relatives. It was a terrifying night, one he would never forget. Before the end of the war, he would hide in secret rooms and behind walls. He would suffer from hunger, sickness, and the looming threat of Nazi raids. But he would live.

This is just one of the true stories told in Hidden Like Anne Frank, a collection of eye-opening first-person accounts that share the experience of going into hiding to escape the Holocaust. Some were just toddlers when they were hidden; some were teenagers. Some hid with neighbors or family, while many were with complete strangers. But all know the pain of losing their homes, their families, even their own names. They describe the secret network that kept them safe. And they share the coincidences and close calls that made all the difference.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 25, 2014 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545543622
ISBN-13: 9780545543620
10 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • sophieelwake
    sophieelwakeFriday, March 13, 2020 at 9:10 am55 stars
    I loved this book because it was very detailed and entertaining to read. But at times it could get a little intense. There were times where the family in the story had to hide in walls, floors, and attics for days on end. They would not be able to come out so they would have to do everything in the walls or floors. It was very entertaining and I would highly recommend it.
    • bryce413
      bryce413Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 2:41 pm55 stars
      This book is about a girl and the rest of there family trying to survive the holocaust. Right when you open the book it already makes you want to read because the beginning is so entertain right off the back because it starts with the solders coming after the Jews. I made one connection because when Anne frank didn't get any rest because she had to stay quiet and keep quit that made her feel sick,and when I don"t get rest I fill sick I give this book a 5 star because it gives a lot of information about the Holocaust and what happen.
      • the odd one1337Friday, September 23, 2016 at 9:43 am
        I like the book hidden because it tells about a memoir that happen in the world war two
        • kewlkat
          kewlkatThursday, April 7, 2016 at 6:11 pm55 stars
          this was a book on 14 people who hid and survived the nazi invasion. i liked the one about jaap the most
          • poppyseedmuffin
            poppyseedmuffinTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 8:38 am44 stars
            I am in to History This book gives me many emotions some are heart dropping others are heart warming it so intresting you would love It!! :) <3
            • b21
              b21Monday, June 1, 2015 at 11:04 am44 stars
              Yes, I am a history freak. And yes, I loved this book. When someone says "Holocaust", most people think "Anne Frank". Trust me, you won't think that after you read this. There are 14 different stories about children who were hiding away from the Nazis. And it's amazing how 13 out of the 14 of those children are still alive today. I recommend this for anyone who likes to keep turning the page or just someone who loves happy-endings.
              • cimmie
                cimmieSaturday, April 9, 2016 at 12:21 am
                b21 Thanks for the review wanting to read this now lol and good to know i'm not the only history freak XD
              • lucky3
                lucky3Saturday, April 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm
                I decided to read this book because when I read what was on the back of the book I said "wow this is going to be a good book".
                • thingstoknownowTuesday, March 25, 2014 at 11:39 am
                  the book is scary and a little creepy not for the weak hearted
                  • TrinityTuesday, March 25, 2014 at 8:50 am
                    It is very interesting, but the authors need to add a few more descriptions