Hidden Like Anne Frank: 14 True Stories of Survival

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.749880
Jaap Sitters was only eight years old when his mother cut the yellow stars off his clothes and sent him, alone, on a fifteen-mile walk to hide with relatives. It was a terrifying night, one he would never forget. Before the end of the war, he would hide in secret rooms and behind walls. He would suffer from hunger, sickness, and the looming threat of Nazi raids. But he would live.

This is just one of the true stories told in Hidden Like Anne Frank, a collection of eye-opening first-person accounts that share the experience of going into hiding to escape the Holocaust. Some were just toddlers when they were hidden; some were teenagers. Some hid with neighbors or family, while many were with complete strangers. But all know the pain of losing their homes, their families, even their own names. They describe the secret network that kept them safe. And they share the coincidences and close calls that made all the difference.
Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on March 25, 2014 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 0545543622
ISBN-13: 9780545543620
8 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • the odd one1337Friday, September 23, 2016 at 9:43 am
    I like the book hidden because it tells about a memoir that happen in the world war two
    • kewlkat
      kewlkatThursday, April 7, 2016 at 6:11 pm55 stars
      this was a book on 14 people who hid and survived the nazi invasion. i liked the one about jaap the most
      • poppyseedmuffin
        poppyseedmuffinTuesday, December 1, 2015 at 8:38 am44 stars
        I am in to History This book gives me many emotions some are heart dropping others are heart warming it so intresting you would love It!! :) <3
        • b21
          b21Monday, June 1, 2015 at 11:04 am44 stars
          Yes, I am a history freak. And yes, I loved this book. When someone says "Holocaust", most people think "Anne Frank". Trust me, you won't think that after you read this. There are 14 different stories about children who were hiding away from the Nazis. And it's amazing how 13 out of the 14 of those children are still alive today. I recommend this for anyone who likes to keep turning the page or just someone who loves happy-endings.
          • cimmie
            cimmieSaturday, April 9, 2016 at 12:21 am
            b21 Thanks for the review wanting to read this now lol and good to know i'm not the only history freak XD
          • lucky3
            lucky3Saturday, April 5, 2014 at 3:11 pm
            I decided to read this book because when I read what was on the back of the book I said "wow this is going to be a good book".
            • thingstoknownowTuesday, March 25, 2014 at 11:39 am
              the book is scary and a little creepy not for the weak hearted
              • TrinityTuesday, March 25, 2014 at 8:50 am
                It is very interesting, but the authors need to add a few more descriptions