Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 10V5.358934
The #1 New York Times bestseller inspired by the true-life story of a former little leaguer

Twelve-year-old Michael Arroyo lives in the shadows of Yankee Stadium, home of his heroes, but a place that might as well be on a different continent since he can’t afford to see the inside. He also lives in the shadows of his Bronx neighborhood, hiding from the bill collectors and the officials who would separate him from his seventeen-year-old brother if they knew the two boys were living on their own. Baseball is Michael’s only salvation, along with his dream of playing in the Little League World Series—until a rival accuses Michael of being older than the league limit. With no parents and a birth certificate that is stuck in his native Cuba, the shadows in Michael’s life grow darker. But that is when heroes emerge, and for Michael, heroes don’t come any bigger than the Yankees.

Praise for HEAT

* “The dialogue crackles, and the rich cast of supporting characters nearly steals the show. Top-notch entertainment in the Carl Hiaasen mold.”--Booklist, starred review

“Lupica scores another hit with this warmhearted novel.”--School Library Journal

“[C]onvincing characterization and exciting on-field action help Lupica throw out a baseball story with heart.”--Publisher’s Weekly
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on April 11, 2006 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0399243011
ISBN-13: 9780399243011
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • chacedaneil18
    chacedaneil18Thursday, May 31, 2018 at 8:06 am
    so good
    • theindiancritic
      theindiancriticMonday, May 28, 2018 at 6:33 am55 starsFeatured
      The “No-Neck”, fire hydrant-shaped yet graceful, loyal, chatterbox, (drum roll), Manny, is by far my most favorite character in the book. He’s been sent by the angels to help Michael in Michael’s dark times of distress. Michael knows that a world without Manny is like pizza without the cheese. If Manny weren’t there for Michael, what would become of him? They do everything together, and Manny is willing to do anything for Michael. What more could a friend want than Manny? He’s a very relatable character; you’ve probably got one of these Manny’s in your life. One reason specifically why I like Manny so much is because he’s a lot like me. We’re both huge chatterboxes and crack jokes in unnecessary situations. He’s the finishing masala to the book, which of course would never be complete with Manny. “Heat” without Manny would be a heart-wrenching tragedy story, with Michael constantly under clouds. The comedy factor combined with the drama is what makes “Heat” so special, and Manny is the definition of comedy, of course. He’ll lift his head up in the darkest of situations and is always by Michael’s side. Neither of them knows it, but deep down they are as close as brothers, Manny only being second to baseball for Michael.
      • ilovereading24
        ilovereading24Monday, April 2, 2018 at 7:59 am55 stars
        My students loved this book. They could not put the book down. I had several students read ahead to find out what would happen next to Michael Arroyo. They enjoyed the book so much they want to read more Lupica books!
        • givyfonysy
          givyfonysyThursday, November 2, 2017 at 11:32 am44 stars
          I read this book because I am a very big baseball player and this book is about a pitcher that is hiding a secret.
          • bestplayer23
            bestplayer23Wednesday, September 28, 2016 at 7:04 am55 stars
            I like this book and recommend it because I like baseball. I have played baseball my whole life and am right now in little league. I always have liked to read Mike Lupica books but mostly I like his basketball books. I hope if you read this book you like it too.
            • peanut47
              peanut47Tuesday, September 29, 2015 at 6:01 pm55 stars
              I just finished the book Heat. This book was written by Mark Lupica. My book is about a character named Michael Arroyo a gifted baseball player. But there's only one problem the coaches from other teams say that he is too good to be just 12 years old. My option about the book Heat was that it was a suspenseful story. The book was also a learning book where the character learns and should make you learn to never give up no matter what anyone tells you. This book helped me learn not to give up on anything that I love and enjoy like running how you should never give up if you are a runner and to keep pushing yourself to new limits every day. This book is realistic fiction because, a kid never really had a problem that the coaches from other teams telling him, that he was to good to be 12 years old the author made so that it sounds like it could happen to but not to much so that it is nonfiction or too little like a fictional book. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a book that was a learning book where the character learns a very important life lesson. I would also like to recommend this book to people who like baseball, who likes suspense and action. An external conflict was that Michael and his family had a lack of money to pay their bills and was pretending that their died dad was visiting a sick relative. An internal conflict was that Michael's dad who had brought Carlos and him to America had passed away.
              • reagan
                reaganMonday, June 23, 2014 at 2:14 pm55 stars
                This book is about a 12 year old cuban defector named Michael Arroyo who plays little league baseball. Michaels father just died a few months before and him and his 17 year old brother Carlos are struggling to pay the bills. Plus to play baseball he has to have his birth certificate which is some where in Cuba. And social services might take away Carlos and Michael because there is no adult to watch over them. This is definately one of my favorite books ever.
                • smanning
                  Ms. ManningThursday, June 19, 2014 at 6:20 pm
                  Level V
                  • edwardbird
                    edwardbirdFriday, October 11, 2013 at 6:07 pm55 stars
                    This book was really good I recommend people who love sports should read this book.If I could rate this book it would be a five star.
                    • edwardbird
                      edwardbirdThursday, October 10, 2013 at 5:16 pm55 stars
                      I liked this book it was amazing and it was so real.Also I would definitely give this a five star.