Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 8W5.013157

Run run run.

That's what twelve-year-old Annie loves to do. When she's barefoot and running, she can hear her heart beating . . .

thump-thump, thump-thump.

It's a rhythm that makes sense in a year when everything's shifting: Her mother is pregnant, her grandfather is forgetful, and her best friend, Max, is always moody. Everything is changing, just like the apple Annie's been assigned to draw a hundred times.

Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech masterfully weaves this story about a young girl beginning to understand the many rhythms of life and how she fits within them.

Paperback, 208 pages
Published on December 26, 2012 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0060540249
ISBN-13: 9780060540241
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • olliebob
    olliebobWednesday, May 16, 2018 at 9:03 pm33 stars
    Heartbeat is about a girl named Annie who loves to run. She runs ALL the time! She has a school assignment to draw the same apple everyday, which surprisingly gives her new perspective on her changing life. Between running all the time and drawing her apple, maybe she can find a little bit of balance in her topsy-turvy life.
    • snowboard12
      snowboard12Monday, December 28, 2015 at 11:14 am
      I would love to read this book because it relates to me in a way... I think Sharon Creech's books add sort of a special touch to my life.
      • demosthenes
        demosthenesFriday, November 6, 2015 at 11:12 am55 stars
        I just finished this and adore it. it is a classic Creech, and though Creech's books are all similar and written the same, each of her stories have a special simplicity in them they're all unique Thank You Sharon Creech!!!
        • demosthenes
          demosthenesMonday, October 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm55 stars
          I want his book so bad!! I've read almost all of Sharon Creech books and I need this one too!!!
          • maryframpton
            maryframptonTuesday, February 10, 2015 at 5:25 pm33 stars
            This book was not outstanding, but it was a good book. I like how the author left you on a cliff hanger and I also like how she used it in the format of a poem. I recommend this book to someone who likes an inspirational story.
            • happyface7
              happyface7Tuesday, June 24, 2014 at 4:47 pm
              i really want to read this, everybody is aging that it is a good book
              • olliebob
                olliebobMonday, September 14, 2015 at 5:09 pm33 stars
                It's great! You should see if it's at your local library.
              • happyface7
                happyface7Tuesday, June 24, 2014 at 4:46 pm
                i so want to read this so badly like so badly
                • rozeb
                  rozebFriday, September 13, 2013 at 4:33 pm
                  It was kind of easy to read because it was written in poem form (it only took me about 1 hour to finish) it was really good. I was kind of surprised that her grandpa didn't die.
                  • sweetcandi_123
                    sweetcandi_123Wednesday, February 13, 2013 at 4:39 pm55 stars
                    It's a really good book. It's written in poem form!
                    • hanna18
                      hanna18Friday, March 16, 2012 at 6:18 am
                      i read this book awsome it was so so so so so so so so so so so so so great