Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W7.2257154
A special new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, with a stunning new cover illustration by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick.

There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it's haunting Harry Potter's dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?

It's not just the upcoming O.W.L. exams; a new teacher with a personality like poisoned honey; a venomous, disgruntled house-elf; or even the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. Now Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

Despite this (or perhaps because of it), he finds depth and strength in his friends, beyond what even he knew; boundless loyalty; and unbearable sacrifice.

This gorgeous new edition in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the publication of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone features a newly designed cover illustrated by Caldecott Medalist Brian Selznick, as well as the beloved original interior decorations by Mary GrandPré.
Paperback, 912 pages
Published on June 26, 2018 by Arthur A. Levine Books
ISBN-10: 1338299182
ISBN-13: 9781338299182
276 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rina123aaa
    rina123aaaThursday, July 11, 2019 at 12:03 pm33 stars
    I only recommend this book because it is part of a series. The action parts are fairly interesting, and the book itself is fun, but there is a bit too much dialogue. this makes it boring to me. The way it is so mysterious adds some frizzle to it and I liked the tricks that Voldemort played on Harry.
    • hedgeguin2
      hedgeguin2Wednesday, July 10, 2019 at 6:08 pm44 stars
      This book is full of detail and makes you seem you are right in the action. It’s about Harry, and the new Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher, Professor Umbridge, who they all hate and wants her to leave. Harry starts a club, Dumbledore’s Army, but Umbridge will do anything to stop him! Along the way, Harry encounters many challenges, but that isn’t going to stop him!
      • lawalex
        lawalexMonday, June 17, 2019 at 11:21 am55 stars
        This book, although slow at the start, is a great part of the Harry Potter saga. Lord Voldemort is rising, and battle is coming opon the wizarding world. Their only hope is the Order of the Phoenix.
        • sansasunlsans
          sansasunlsansTuesday, June 4, 2019 at 7:22 am55 stars
          10 out of 10
          • brawlstarschamp
            brawlstarschampMonday, May 27, 2019 at 4:28 pm55 stars
            This is the longest book in the "Harry Potter" series. Harry learns about the Order of the Phoenix. Also, Harry, Ron and Hermione have to take their O.W.L.S. If you can't imagine, there is a new "Defense Against the Dark Arts" teacher. Enjoy!
            • katherina_8268
              katherina_8268Friday, April 5, 2019 at 4:20 pm55 stars
              This is my FAVORITE book in the whole Harry Potter series! However, I do suggest you read the first couple of books. LUNA LOVEGOOD IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS!
              • haydenFriday, February 15, 2019 at 7:20 am
                i love this book
                • Potterhead Friday, February 15, 2019 at 6:24 am
                  I love and just looooooooove the book it is the best best ever apart from the other Harry Potters but just if you could add a quiz that would be great here is a picture of me or at least how me friends describe me 🤓 Harry Potter for All!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • winterlynx
                    winterlynxSaturday, February 9, 2019 at 4:54 pm55 stars
                    I decided to read this book Because I love magic and I had already started reading the series so I wanted to finish it. It is not two hard to read and is not to complicated like some other books for example war and peace. J.K. Rowling wrote it very well so well that you can feel strong emotions towards some of the characters....
                    • reddragon1
                      reddragon1Tuesday, December 4, 2018 at 1:06 pm44 stars
                      it is the longest in the series! it took me two whole days to finish it! joking, it took me a week.