Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 6n/a5.116098
Sleeping Beauty gets a feisty, furry twist in this hilarious new comic series from the creator of Dragonbreath

Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you'll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet's parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she's twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she's invincible until she's twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey...until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way.

Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories, this laugh-out-loud new comic hybrid series will turn everything you thought you knew about princesses on its head.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803739834
ISBN-13: 9780803739833
28 Book Reviews
  • alphawolf13
    alphawolf13Wednesday, March 24, 2021 at 8:06 am55 stars
    This is a twist of sleeping beauty... but with a crazy courageous hamster who actually LOVES the curse. I love it! It will have you laughing a lot!
    • gold3nglare
      gold3nglareThursday, January 14, 2021 at 6:32 am22 stars
      I'm reading it, and I don't really like it. There's too much humor happening at the wrong time, and the story is going nowhere. In my opinion, this is almost as boring as Harry Potter! No offense. I definitely don't recommend that you read this, at all.
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolFriday, July 10, 2020 at 12:11 pm55 stars
        Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. When Harriet finds out that she is to prick her finger when she turns twelve, putting her into a deep sleep, she does not react to that as bad news. In fact, she thinks that is the best news she has had ever. Because it makes her invincible. She is delighted by this, and decides to go on adventures. Harriet also loves sword-fighting. Overall, this book was funny and also really colorful. I recommend it to people who enjoy comedy books, or graphic novels. I rate this book 5/5.
        • rina123aaa
          rina123aaaSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 9:49 am55 stars
          This is sleeping beauty but with a crazy courageous hamster. She realizes she is invincible before she pricks her finger. She is witty and funny. I think its kind of cool how she is an invincible princess that is a hamster. It is a quick read, so if you have time, you should read it.
          • ZGgirlFAM Wednesday, January 30, 2019 at 8:35 pm
            This is a great book filled with adventures!
            • C-loWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 8:43 am
              AWSOME
              • kittylover8786
                kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 7:51 am55 stars
                I relly like this book it is sooooooo good!!!
                • linakapeteni
                  linakapeteniWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 2:57 pm
                  this book is really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • belle252
                    belle252Monday, July 17, 2017 at 4:32 pm
                    i love this book so so so so much. It's funny and its well technically a funnier version of sleeping beauty!
                    • Ldw0810Saturday, June 17, 2017 at 3:35 am
                      I loved the book it was funny and my children enjoyed me reading it to them