Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 6n/a5.116098
Sleeping Beauty gets a feisty, furry twist in this hilarious new comic series from the creator of Dragonbreath

Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you'll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet's parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she's twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she's invincible until she's twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey...until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way.

Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories, this laugh-out-loud new comic hybrid series will turn everything you thought you knew about princesses on its head.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803739834
ISBN-13: 9780803739833
25 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • rina123aaa
    rina123aaaSaturday, May 23, 2020 at 9:49 am55 stars
    This is sleeping beauty but with a crazy courageous hamster. She realizes she is invincible before she pricks her finger. She is witty and funny. I think its kind of cool how she is an invincible princess that is a hamster. It is a quick read, so if you have time, you should read it.
    • ZGgirlFAM Wednesday, January 30, 2019 at 8:35 pm
      This is a great book filled with adventures!
      • C-loWednesday, November 28, 2018 at 8:43 am
        AWSOME
        • kittylover8786
          kittylover8786Saturday, September 30, 2017 at 7:51 am55 stars
          I relly like this book it is sooooooo good!!!
          • linakapeteni
            linakapeteniWednesday, August 16, 2017 at 2:57 pm
            this book is really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • belle252
              belle252Monday, July 17, 2017 at 4:32 pm
              i love this book so so so so much. It's funny and its well technically a funnier version of sleeping beauty!
              • Ldw0810Saturday, June 17, 2017 at 3:35 am
                I loved the book it was funny and my children enjoyed me reading it to them
                • beachbreeze15
                  beachbreeze15Friday, June 16, 2017 at 6:42 am
                  This was hilarious
                  • turtlenarwhale
                    turtlenarwhaleThursday, May 18, 2017 at 6:02 pm
                    this is an amazing book you are an amazing author i love everone of your books
                    • lucasb2007
                      lucasb2007Thursday, January 19, 2017 at 5:13 pm55 stars
                      I really like what they did with hamsters as characters because it is a more rare animal to find as a main character. Hamsters are cute, so it made the story a little bit more cute. The main idea of the story is fun because they basically took a sleeping beauty story and put it into the animal world. I also like how the story is a little goofy.