Hamster Princess: Harriet the Invincible

Book 1 of 4 in the Hamster Princess Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades K - 3Grades 3 - 6n/a5.116098
Sleeping Beauty gets a feisty, furry twist in this hilarious new comic series from the creator of Dragonbreath

Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. She may be quite stunning in the rodent realm (you'll have to trust her on this one), but she is not so great at trailing around the palace looking ethereal or sighing a lot. She finds the royal life rather . . . dull. One day, though, Harriet's parents tell her of the curse that a rat placed on her at birth, dooming her to prick her finger on a hamster wheel when she's twelve and fall into a deep sleep. For Harriet, this is most wonderful news: It means she's invincible until she's twelve! After all, no good curse goes to waste. And so begins a grand life of adventure with her trusty riding quail, Mumfrey...until her twelfth birthday arrives and the curse manifests in a most unexpected way.

Perfect for fans of Babymouse and Chris Colfer's Land of Stories, this laugh-out-loud new comic hybrid series will turn everything you thought you knew about princesses on its head.

Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on August 18, 2015 by Dial Books
ISBN-10: 0803739834
ISBN-13: 9780803739833
29 Book Reviews
  • coco255332
    coco25533212 months55 stars
    i read it somany times already i LOVE it
    • alphawolf13
      alphawolf13about 1 year55 stars
      This is a twist of sleeping beauty... but with a crazy courageous hamster who actually LOVES the curse. I love it! It will have you laughing a lot!
      • gold3nglare
        gold3nglareover 1 year22 stars
        I'm reading it, and I don't really like it. There's too much humor happening at the wrong time, and the story is going nowhere. In my opinion, this is almost as boring as Harry Potter! No offense. I definitely don't recommend that you read this, at all.
        • swirlycool
          swirlycoolalmost 2 years55 stars
          Harriet Hamsterbone is not your typical princess. When Harriet finds out that she is to prick her finger when she turns twelve, putting her into a deep sleep, she does not react to that as bad news. In fact, she thinks that is the best news she has had ever. Because it makes her invincible. She is delighted by this, and decides to go on adventures. Harriet also loves sword-fighting. Overall, this book was funny and also really colorful. I recommend it to people who enjoy comedy books, or graphic novels. I rate this book 5/5.
          • rina123aaa
            rina123aaaabout 2 years55 stars
            This is sleeping beauty but with a crazy courageous hamster. She realizes she is invincible before she pricks her finger. She is witty and funny. I think its kind of cool how she is an invincible princess that is a hamster. It is a quick read, so if you have time, you should read it.
            • ZGgirlFAM over 3 years
              This is a great book filled with adventures!
              • C-loover 3 years
                AWSOME
                • kittylover8786
                  kittylover8786over 4 years55 stars
                  I relly like this book it is sooooooo good!!!
                  • linakapeteni
                    linakapetenialmost 5 years
                    this book is really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • belle252
                      belle252almost 5 years
                      i love this book so so so so much. It's funny and its well technically a funnier version of sleeping beauty!