Greystone Secrets #1: The Strangers

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix takes readers on a thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

What makes you you?

The Greystone kids thought they knew. Chess has always been the protector over his younger siblings, Emma loves math, and Finn does what Finn does best—acting silly and being adored. They’ve been a happy family, just the three of them and their mom.

But everything changes when reports of three kidnapped children reach the Greystone kids, and they’re shocked by the startling similarities between themselves and these complete strangers. The other kids share their same first and middle names. They’re the same ages. They even have identical birthdays. Who, exactly, are these strangers?

Before Chess, Emma, and Finn can question their mom about it, she takes off on a sudden work trip and leaves them in the care of Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. But puzzling clues left behind lead to complex codes, hidden rooms, and a dangerous secret that will turn their world upside down.

Hardcover, 416 pages
Published on April 2, 2019 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062838377
ISBN-13: 9780062838377
10 Book Reviews
  • willowschultz
    willowschultzWednesday, February 17, 2021 at 6:22 pm33 stars
    this is a pretty good book. Mystery/thriller
    • sg123
      sg123Friday, January 8, 2021 at 9:39 am55 stars
      Amazing book! Really suspenseful and interesting book. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who like mystery and suspense.
      • hamilfan99
        hamilfan99Monday, November 9, 2020 at 6:08 am55 stars
        A great page turner and super interesting!! I LOVED it!!
        • bookfan2008
          bookfan2008Thursday, June 25, 2020 at 3:28 pm55 stars
          Amazing so far!!! Love it!
          • roxanne3
            roxanne3Friday, May 8, 2020 at 11:21 am
            I read this book and now I am on the second book. These are really good books, but warning- don't start the first one until you have both available, because my mom ordered the second one while I was reading the first but then I had to wait like 2 weeks because it took forever to get here. There is a kind of cliffhanger at the end, not that bad but it made me mad!!!!! This book is a really good mystery, and I love the secret entrance to a different world that is in the basement of the kids house. I would love to find one of those in my house, minus the whole disappearing mother part. It was so sad and I can't wait to finish book 2 and find out what happens!!
            • minimiri
              minimiriSunday, April 5, 2020 at 12:48 pm55 stars
              This book is amazing! It can get a little confusing towards the end of the middle, but it is an amazing book and I definitely recommend it if you like A Series Of Unfortunate Events, or like Sci-Fi books or something. It is a really good book
              • olive_tree18
                olive_tree18Friday, February 21, 2020 at 7:44 am55 stars
                This book was incredibly entertaining to read and intense. It is about the 3 Greystone kids: Chess, Emma, and Finn. One day they came home from school and discovered there were three other kids with the same first, middle, last names and birthdays. Before they could ask their mom, Kate Greystone, about it she left on a spontaneous "business trip". They are left with Ms. Morales and her daughter, Natalie. They later find out that their mom will not be coming back and could be in danger. They go through her phone and computer that she oddly left at home and discover a coded letter. As they go through the code to find out what it is they are planning to bring their om back home. This leads to one crazy, action-packed adventure. All you have to do now is read the book to find out what happens in their adventure and if they get their mom back. I would give this book a five-star rating because I could really make a movie in my head. I would recommend this book to 5th through 6th graders.
                • applemango
                  applemangoFriday, June 28, 2019 at 10:35 pm55 stars
                  BEST BOOK EVER!!!! This is about the three Greystone kids! They come home one day and find their mom with a blank expression on her face....it's because the other kids same identical kids have been kidnapped! Emma, Finn, and Chess have to survive when her mother goes on a fake business trip to save the kids. They learn that their dad has actually been murdered, just because they tried to expose all the politician's lies. The three graystone kids find Natalie actually friendly and she helps them on their mission, to go to the other world and get their mom, and the kids back. While there they also meet Joe who helps them, however Joe and their om couldn't get out and only the kids got out.....
                  • RaiThursday, June 27, 2019 at 10:32 pm
                    This is a cool book i know it sounds creepybut it actually is not!
                    • hedgeguin2
                      hedgeguin2Tuesday, June 18, 2019 at 5:29 pm
                      This book sounds awesome. I got a little preview of it, and it already sounds so suspenseful! I can’t wait to borrow it from my library, or buy it. I have read books from this author before, and she knows how to make thrilling stories! :D