Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 6n/a5.3133543

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they've always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

Mare Barrow's blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on February 9, 2016 by HarperTeen
ISBN-10: 0062310666
ISBN-13: 9780062310668
7 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • queenofthedark
    queenofthedarkSaturday, September 26, 2020 at 10:07 pm55 stars
    The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known - and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul. This book is the perfect summary and is an overall amazing book!
    • girlpower4ever
      girlpower4everSunday, August 9, 2020 at 10:47 am22 stars
      To my disappointment, Glass Sword did not live up to my expectations at all. Its predecessor, Red Queen, was enthralling and left my vying for more, but this is not the sequel for me. First of all, most of the beginning and middle of the book consists of Mare wrangling with her emotions. She doesn't do much except for think about things like "Oh, I wonder how Cal's shaping up," and "How do I betray Maven," even though she literally does nothing half of the time. Also, as Mare and the other Reds venture through the kingdom, the book has a knack of going into long descriptions about their surroundings - which might seem essential, but it's a real drag. Most of the time, Mare is indecisive, reckless, and completely over her head. It makes me really uncomfortable even to read the story from her perspective. And the ending could rival even that of the first book, but by that time, it was too late; I was bored out of my mind. It took a lot out of me even to make it to the end, so dreadful was the writing. All in all, if you want to read about a protagonist stuck in her head most of the time, barely any humor, rather badly-developed characters (Kilorn was the worst; reading his character pained me physically), and you don't mind slow-paced writing, then go ahead and read this. But Glass Sword personally disappointed me and eradicated any prospects of reading King's Cage. Victoria, I love you, but you've plateaued!
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolFriday, July 10, 2020 at 11:36 am55 stars
        This book is in the Red Queen series. Mare Barrow is now apart of the Scarlet Guard openly, and she is heartbroken over the betrayal of her betroned, Maven Calore. She and Cal Calore, brother of Maven, have escaped the castle and have been framed for something Maven and the queen are responsible for. Not only that, but they are in the race to find the newbloods, otherwise known as Red and Silver together, before Maven and the queen find them. Newbloods are even more powerful than Silvers, which is why they must be found for their safety because the Queen and Maven are aware of the power they hold, and how dangerous they may possibly be against them. Mare is also left with trust issues, and conflicts with her feelings due to the betrayal of Maven, and how she was tricked.. She is also concerned for the safety of her friend, Kilorn, who assures her he is capable of protecting himself. Overall, this book was good other than the excessive use of the words smirk and sneer and the slow plot. I recommend this book to people who enjoy dystopian or romance books. This book will also definitely spark your interest if you enjoy The Selection series. I rate this book 5/5.
        • starsinthenight
          starsinthenightTuesday, May 19, 2020 at 7:12 pm44 stars
          This book is a little more mature and hard to read than some other books for teens, I love the characters and also the plot has so many twists and turns and ends you wanting more.
          • kkuhy
            kkuhyTuesday, April 25, 2017 at 8:27 am55 stars
            love it!
            • vegantarian
              vegantarianFriday, April 21, 2017 at 6:59 am55 stars
              This book was great. The plot is twisted and takes unexpected turns through out the book -turns that you would've never expected to happen. It leaves you eager for the next book, and you'll go through the series super quickly!
              • itsonlyyzariah
                itsonlyyzariahThursday, April 14, 2016 at 4:37 pm55 stars
                Seems very interesting. I saw this book at my book fair and i saw the trailer and I was like it might be great to read a book once in a daily life.Especially something I never read before.I wi will it be good or just fatal.I will see!! : (