Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.748044

Cheyenne, a blind sixteen year-old, is kidnapped and held for ransom; she must outwit her captors to get out alive.

Sixteen year-old Cheyenne Wilder is sleeping in the back of a car while her mom fills her prescription at the pharmacy. Before Cheyenne realizes what's happening, their car is being stolen--with her inside! Griffin hadn't meant to kidnap Cheyenne, all he needed to do was steal a car for the others.

But once Griffin's dad finds out that Cheyenne's father is the president of a powerful corporation, everything changes―now there's a reason to keep her. What Griffin doesn't know is that Cheyenne is not only sick with pneumonia, she is blind. How will Cheyenne survive this nightmare, and if she does, at what price?

Prepare yourself for a fast-paced and hard-edged thriller full of nail-biting suspense.

This title has Common Core connections.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on September 28, 2010 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0805090053
ISBN-13: 9780805090055
33 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tastydonuts111
    tastydonuts111Monday, October 28, 2019 at 6:54 pm55 stars
    One of my favorite books. If you enjoyed this check out the sequel to this book called count her bones.
    • kgautam
      kgautamMonday, June 3, 2019 at 9:40 am44 stars
      this was another great book from april henry. to be honest, it is a crazy thriller, and not extremely scary to read about. but if i was sick, blind, and being kidnapped, i would be scared out of my mind.
      • Taylor Miller Sunday, November 25, 2018 at 3:51 pm
        I give this book a five out of five stars. It was a great book that always left me wanting to keep reading. Some parts of the book were so good my heart would start to race and I just couldn't put the book down.
        • mystery_person5Monday, November 12, 2018 at 6:54 am
          Really good book!
          • Just kidding toTuesday, October 2, 2018 at 5:51 pm
            Just kidding. I'm writing to myself
            • lalahn
              lalahnMonday, October 1, 2018 at 5:57 pm55 stars
              This book is about a blind girl who begs her stepmom to let her stay in the car while the stepmom goes and gets the girls medicine. Then a random man comes in the car and goes off without knowing that the girl was there. It is a great book!!!!
              • l_linnell_117
                l_linnell_117Sunday, June 17, 2018 at 4:43 pm
                I really want to read this book supper supper bad. I am super obsessed with all April henery books and unfortunately I have not gotten a chance to read it yet. Tell me what you guys thought of it and maybe I will read it. Fill you in when I do.
                • xyhyhewihigugi
                  xyhyhewihigugiThursday, May 31, 2018 at 7:41 am
                  This is a really good book I recommend this for young adults. This book is a mystery book and I'm sure that you would like it here is some information about this book: Cheyenne realizes she is being kidnapped and Cheyenne can't see they guy who is kidnapping her or where they are going because for the last 3 years Cheyenne has been blind.
                  • k.mThursday, July 28, 2016 at 6:39 pm
                    i really want to read this book!
                    • J.L Thursday, July 14, 2016 at 6:35 pm
                      Desperately want to read this amazing book