Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 2 - 5P4.011963
This collectable hardcover edition will feature a beautiful cover and deluxe packaging, including color interior text and illustrations!

From the bestselling author of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Matilda comes the story of a not-so-lovely grandma, a boy, and a magical medicine.

George is alone in the house with Grandma. The most horrid, grizzly old grunion of a grandma ever. She needs something stronger than her usual medicine to cure her chronic grouchiness. A special grandma medicine, a remedy for everything. And George knows just what to put into it. Grandma’s in for the surprise of her life–and so is George, when he sees the results of his mixture!
Hardcover, 96 pages
ISBN-10: 0224019015
ISBN-13: 9780224019019
44 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • inmemoryofcpr
    inmemoryofcprMonday, June 17, 2019 at 2:54 pm33 stars
    So I just love Roald Dahl's books when I was little so it was super nice to take a trip down to memory lane. THe story was super enjoyable and fun. I would recommend this for ages 7+
    • athlete08
      athlete08Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 3:41 pm55 stars
      This book is very good, and interesting! Although, it was a very quick read!
      • ShahrajSunday, April 7, 2019 at 3:25 am
        It is a very interesting book In which George a boy who doesn't has enough friends and is alone at home with his grandmother and has to give her medicine but his grandmother is not good so he makes medicence by himself and then gives it to her and then she turns big , fat , long , thin and small , smaller and then disappears and them he lives happily with his family
        • PugLife101Saturday, March 9, 2019 at 5:48 pm
          This book is so AWESOME!! I love how George experiments with different food around his house and actually makes something that can make him rich.
          • Don chutiaSaturday, November 17, 2018 at 3:05 am
            Best book
            • SalwaWednesday, October 31, 2018 at 7:53 am
              It's nice to read espacially for kids
              • armcginn
                armcginnFriday, June 22, 2018 at 9:26 am55 stars
                this book is guaranteed to make you laugh out loud, as George attempts to cure this grouchy granny!
                • koustubh
                  koustubhWednesday, May 9, 2018 at 2:57 amFeatured
                  Yet another great story. The reason I recommended this book is because of it's comic story line and the fact that the writer made sure that "villain" or the antagonist in the story gets a fitting end. The only flaw lies in how they portrayed grandma like a "witch" in the story, which may seem somewhat strange, considering that no grandma is like that. But anyhow, it was a splendidly put together story, and I believe that all the young readers will have an enjoyable time while reading this book.
                  • athlete08
                    athlete08Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 3:42 pm55 stars
                    Nice Job koustubh! How do you get those badges Editor's Pick badges?
                  • cutegirlpaige
                    cutegirlpaigeTuesday, June 20, 2017 at 11:34 pm44 stars
                    it is really cool and i think that it is one of his best book!
                    • Anabella Wednesday, June 14, 2017 at 11:45 am
                      Not bad