Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.930285
A hilarious and moving story of old age, adventure, stolen jewels and swimming the Thames, from from David Walliams, number one bestseller and fastest growing children's author in the country. "I absolutely love David Walliams's books. In a few more years they will become classics." - Sue Townsend, author of Adrian Mole Our hero Ben is bored beyond belief after he is made to stay at his grandma's house. She's the boringest grandma ever: all she wants to do is to play Scrabble, and eat cabbage soup. But there are two things Ben doesn't know about his grandma. 1) She was once an international jewel thief. 2) All her life, she has been plotting to steal the Crown Jewels, and now she needs Ben's help...
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on February 28, 2013 by HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0007371462
ISBN-13: 9780007371464
35 Book Reviews
  • wpg_bookelves
    wpg_bookelvesTuesday, February 2, 2021 at 9:05 am55 stars
    I love David Walliams books! Gangsta Granny is very funny book, because they try to steal valuable jewels. The Granny loves all food with cabbage, she even managed to find after dinner cabbage chocolate mints. Ben (the grandson), loves plumbing, and has creative ideas to help them as burglars.
    • elboscar
      elboscarFriday, August 21, 2020 at 12:57 pm55 stars
      I love all David walliams books he writes so well. This one is so funny and a little sad in the end. Spoiler Alert his grandma dies😭
      • devbaiba
        devbaibaMonday, August 10, 2020 at 11:18 am44 stars
        Gangsta granny was a wonderful book.
        • MusfirahSunday, April 26, 2020 at 6:06 am
          It wad the best book i have ever read
          • OMG 4363Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at 9:35 am
            OMG THIS BOOK IS AMAZING I LOVE IT SO MUCH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • unicornbooks
              unicornbooksTuesday, June 11, 2019 at 4:20 am55 stars
              Gangsta Granny was a emotional, funny and an enjoyable book. It was about a boy named Jack who was 12 years old and he always stayed at his granny's bungalow every Saturday. Granny was a lady who STINKED of cabbage and always enjoyed putting cabbage as a ingredient in every meal and playing scrabble. Ben hated to stay there but his granny had a secret... She wasn't a normal, boring person, she was a international crown jewel thief. This book was so good! Definitely a book to read!
              • πŸŽ‰Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 5:30 am
                That book was so good
                • πŸŽ‰Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 5:28 am
                  Looks nice! I might go and read it!
                  • Cal boy 1Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 3:43 am
                    It's ok in a way but it didn't really work for me. I'd like to read it again but to me it's a 3star book. For now I'm going to stick with Harry potter.
                    • theguyattheshop
                      theguyattheshopFriday, February 8, 2019 at 2:47 am55 stars
                      My 5 star book