Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a4.930285
A hilarious and moving story of old age, adventure, stolen jewels and swimming the Thames, from from David Walliams, number one bestseller and fastest growing children's author in the country. "I absolutely love David Walliams's books. In a few more years they will become classics." - Sue Townsend, author of Adrian Mole Our hero Ben is bored beyond belief after he is made to stay at his grandma's house. She's the boringest grandma ever: all she wants to do is to play Scrabble, and eat cabbage soup. But there are two things Ben doesn't know about his grandma. 1) She was once an international jewel thief. 2) All her life, she has been plotting to steal the Crown Jewels, and now she needs Ben's help...
Paperback, 304 pages
Published on February 28, 2013 by HarperCollins Children's Books
ISBN-10: 0007371462
ISBN-13: 9780007371464
17 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • rfoxy
    rfoxyWednesday, February 28, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
    its a very cool book my favourite part was when they got caught by the Queen when they were just about to steal the Queens crown!
    • poopascoopa
      poopascoopaThursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:01 pm55 stars
      Thriller book,Lots of great unexpectations
      • Annie Thursday, January 25, 2018 at 11:23 am
        I think this book is really good however, after you read this book you will realise you should never stress your granny or grandparents no matter what because deep down they love you.
        • booksrcool958
          booksrcool958Tuesday, November 7, 2017 at 11:09 am55 stars
          Gangsta Granny is a really good book, its were there is a young boy named George thinks his granny is really boring. She likes to play scramble, eat cabbage and spent time with her only grandson. His mom works at a nail shop and his dad works as a police man in front on a supermarket. One day he went to his Grandma's it was a normal day, Georges grandma goes to bed and he phones his parent to take him home because she was boring. Georges grandma heard his whole conversation with his parents. The next time George went to his grandma he got tired of eating cabbage and remembered hid grandma kept biscuits is a tin on her cabinet so he reached to get it, when he opened the box the're were lots of jewels, George was thinking to himself was his grandma a billionaire or a gangsta. Georges grandma told him all about her stories of stealing jewels and they both planned to steal the crown. Before they did the plan Georges grandma got really ill but did not tell George the truth about her illness. they rode on a old person scooter all the way to the queens home, they hopped into the drains and they ended up meeting the queen! While they where with the queen Georges grandma confessed that she is not a jewel thief and she was suffering cancer. Hope you enjoyed have a great day!
          • kaza99
            kaza99Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 11:38 pm44 stars
            its really a cool book
            • harlzthe1
              harlzthe1Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 5:33 pm
              this is my favourite book it is really GGOOD
              • Riley aged 7 Wednesday, October 12, 2016 at 10:55 am
                I like it because it has funny words.Some of the actors act like gangsters.One chapter is called The love bomb it's funny because he dressed up as funny things.
                • lollygirl
                  lollygirlTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 10:21 pm44 stars
                  it was so funny my fave part was when the boy named gorge found out that his granny was a robber. ps there is a movie.
                  • Thug lifeMonday, April 6, 2015 at 8:05 am
                    I never chose thug life. Thug life chose me
                    • ashtoncreekside
                      ashtoncreeksideThursday, September 18, 2014 at 11:23 am55 stars
                      I really loved this book because there grandma pretends to be a gangsta when she isn't to spend time with her grandchild.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      caitlynpv5
                      caitlynpv5 wrote:

                      It's an amazing book and I think...
                      Cake Pop Crush: A Wish Novel

                      Kobalt wrote:

                      This book was a blessing to have...
                      Wayside School Is Falling Down

                      raveb772
                      raveb772 wrote:

                      After Carter and Sadie Kane have...
                      The Throne of Fire (The Kane Chr...