Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5n/a4.627734

When videogame obsessed Pete Watson discovers his dad is not only a super-spy but has been kidnapped and is now trapped inside a video game, he has to use his super gaming skills and enter the game to rescue him. Will he be able to save his friends and family and the entire world from giant mechanical cockroaches and a massive cyber attack set to take down the world's network? And if he succeeds, who will save Pete from his massive crush on Callie Midwood?
From the comedic mind of Joe Schreiber (Lenny Cyrus School Virus, Au Revoir Crazy European Chick, Perry's Killer Playlist), comes an action-packed Alex Rider-meets-Greg Heffley middle grade romp that grabs readers by the funny bone and doesn't let go! Illustrated throughout with black and white comic drawings by Andy Rash.

 

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on March 11, 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0544157567
ISBN-13: 9780544157569
48 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • roboguy
    roboguyWednesday, May 20, 2015 at 10:08 am
    I've read the preview for this book. It sounds more interesting than it really is. This book is probably for younger readers, probably 3rd grade through 5th grade. I'm in 7th grade now so this doesn't interest me a single bit.
    • bibliophile
      bibliophileTuesday, December 9, 2014 at 5:14 pm
      Thank you DOGO for sending this book... I recently received this book... I first read it, and then my brother read it... my brother seemed to like the book more than me... I think it's probably because it had a boy perspective and it involved video games with it(my brother really like video games)... but even though it had a video game theme to this book, and it was a boy POV, I thought it was hilarious and I enjoyed this short read... it also has cute comic pictures... Pete Watson is a video game obsessed person, also his so called best friend Wesley Midwood... They have been drifting apart, and Pete sold something special at a garage sale... only to find out it had the TOP SECRETS of AMERICA!!!!!! He also found out that his dad, a so called average person like Bob(his name is not Bob... I'm just stating a point) is an IMPORTANT person(I'm not going to spoil a lot)... messing with cockroaches grammar books, and fake betrayals, can Pete save his dad who is stuck in a video game? READ it and find out... for fans who like Diary of the Wimpy Kid series or the book The Brilliant Word of Tom Gates, you will see how a video game is not your regular video game... instead a lot more...
      • penguin313
        penguin313Saturday, December 6, 2014 at 8:11 pm55 stars
        I won this book from IDOGO. It was funny and video game players and very imaginative people can relate to this absurd story.
        • mckenna123
          mckenna123Monday, September 8, 2014 at 4:37 pm33 stars
          I got this book for free and i liked it even though I'm not crazy about video games.The boy in the story is in a video game,so i think boys would like this book.It was a little funny.
          • mckenna123
            mckenna123Sunday, August 17, 2014 at 6:04 am33 stars
            What did You watch the video!!??
            • yoblingo
              yoblingoMonday, June 2, 2014 at 11:35 am55 stars
              this book is AWESOOME
              • maxiemillonMonday, May 19, 2014 at 7:35 am
                i thought it was awesome
                • yoblingo
                  yoblingoMonday, June 2, 2014 at 11:35 am55 stars
                  i am going to get this book!!!
                • tomketchupThursday, May 8, 2014 at 1:54 pm
                  who has it?
                  • mckenna123
                    mckenna123Sunday, December 14, 2014 at 3:41 pm33 stars
                    I have it.
                  • dantartarsause
                    dantartarsauseThursday, May 8, 2014 at 1:51 pm
                    LOL I CANT STOP LOOOL
                    • kittenhead
                      kittenheadWednesday, May 7, 2014 at 6:10 am55 stars
                      thanks for telling me all about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!