Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6R5.416232
Nicholas Allen has plenty of ideas. Who can forget the time he turned his third-grade classroom into a tropical island, or the times he fooled his teacher by chirping like a blackbird? But now Nick's in fifth grade, and it looks like his days as a troublemaker are over. Everyone knows that Mrs. Granger, the language arts teacher, has X-ray vision, and nobody gets away with anything in her classroom. To make matters worse, she's also a fanatic about the dictionary, which is hopelessly boring to Nick. But when Nick learns an interesting tidbit about words and where they come from, it inspires his greatest plan yet: to invent a new word. From now on, a pen is no longer a pen -- it's a frindle. It doesn't take long for frindle to take root, and soon the excitement spreads well beyond his school and town. His parents and Mrs. Granger would like Nick to put an end to all this nonsense. But frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore. All he can do now is sit back and watch what happens.
This quirky, imaginative tale about creative thought and the power of words will have readers inventing their own words. Brian Selznick's black-and-white illustrations enhance the humor in this unforgettable story.
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on October 1, 1996 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689806698
ISBN-13: 9780689806698
139 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • WaddlesGMESFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:00 am
    I LOVE this book. It got me hooked on all the books written by Andrew Clements. I could never put this down. I hope all other who read this agree. Thanks!
    • sheashea
      sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:21 am55 stars
      Andrew Clements writes this funny story about Nick and his classmates. Nick is not fond of school and challenges himself to find ways to make it more interesting for his classmates. He gets everyone to change the name of a pen, and the events that follow are hilarious.
      • mistymom
        mistymomFriday, August 2, 2019 at 11:15 am44 stars
        I really liked this book and it's perfect for 5th graders. The reason I think it is better for 5th graders is because there are a couple of harder words in it. it's a really funny book with a lot of surprises in it. it took me a while to get into it and start to like it but when I got into about the 3rd chapter I really started to like it.
        • applemango
          applemangoThursday, June 6, 2019 at 9:45 pm44 stars
          Nick is in fourth grade and he goes into Mrs. Granger's classroom....he trys to delay homework while asking a question about the dictionary when, instead of getting homework delayed he gets assigned extra homework. When Nick learns he could actually make a word while he is picking up a friend's pen he comes up with the word frindle. A group of friends agree that they will never use the word pen again and they will use the word frindle, always. When that causes an out break everyone is set in a motion of using frindle. Until someone puts up a sign that says anyone caught using the word frindle will serve detention. Of course that made the kids more determined to keep using the word and that causes a huge load of kids to serve detention. It grows so big that news reporters come to interview Nick! A store owner thinks of a brilliant idea to make frindle products and they achieve a great part of a deal to Nick. He gives his family money and to Mrs. Granger....when she sends her the dictionary that has his word on it.....
          • advik111
            advik111Wednesday, February 6, 2019 at 5:58 am55 stars
            I really liked this book because i got it as a present
            • fishfin
              fishfinTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 6:56 am44 stars
              It is very good to read if your in the 5th grade it gives off alot of laughter and if your reading it for main ideas the main idea I got is ¨Fame can die out¨ Sorry if this was a spoiler I rate it a 4.1/5 You should read it!
              • gymzonia
                gymzoniaThursday, May 24, 2018 at 5:35 pm55 stars
                This book is totally awesome. I decided to read it because during this challenge at my school we were trying to read many books. There is sweet revenge in this. Get ready for the Awesome Book!!!!!
                • asiekmann
                  asiekmannThursday, May 3, 2018 at 8:04 pm55 stars
                  I liked this book a lot because I think it was funny but over all it had a good message. I liked the ending a lot and it almost made me want to cry because of how Nick and his teacher stayed in touch ten years after he was in her class. I also really enjoyed how his teacher Mrs. Granger secretly wanted him to win the war between the frindle.
                  • pinsir4610
                    pinsir4610Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at 4:53 pm44 stars
                    I would rate this book three and a half because it is geat
                    • borlandal
                      borlandalMonday, February 12, 2018 at 4:54 pm55 stars
                      What is a frindle? Read the book and find out.