Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6R5.416232
Nicholas Allen has plenty of ideas. Who can forget the time he turned his third-grade classroom into a tropical island, or the times he fooled his teacher by chirping like a blackbird? But now Nick's in fifth grade, and it looks like his days as a troublemaker are over. Everyone knows that Mrs. Granger, the language arts teacher, has X-ray vision, and nobody gets away with anything in her classroom. To make matters worse, she's also a fanatic about the dictionary, which is hopelessly boring to Nick. But when Nick learns an interesting tidbit about words and where they come from, it inspires his greatest plan yet: to invent a new word. From now on, a pen is no longer a pen -- it's a frindle. It doesn't take long for frindle to take root, and soon the excitement spreads well beyond his school and town. His parents and Mrs. Granger would like Nick to put an end to all this nonsense. But frindle doesn't belong to Nick anymore. All he can do now is sit back and watch what happens.
This quirky, imaginative tale about creative thought and the power of words will have readers inventing their own words. Brian Selznick's black-and-white illustrations enhance the humor in this unforgettable story.
Hardcover, 112 pages
Published on October 1, 1996 by Atheneum Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0689806698
ISBN-13: 9780689806698
143 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • swirlycool
    swirlycoolFriday, July 10, 2020 at 11:03 am55 stars
    Nick Allen loves to make things more interesting at school. He has plenty of great ideas. When he goes to fifth grade, his teacher Mrs. Granger told him to write an essay about words and the dictionary. This leads to Nick coming up with an idea for a new word. He would now call a pen a frindle. Because many kids were staying after school because they called a pen a frindle, it started attracting the attention of the public. At first it started off as a joke, but the word spread and the popularity of the word started rising. Soon the word frindle would be the new, worldwide name for a pen. Overall, I enjoyed this book and it was very interesting to the influence the word had on the rest of the world. I recommend this book to people who enjoy comedy books. I rate this book 5/5.
    • belle252
      belle252Tuesday, May 26, 2020 at 11:57 pm55 stars
      Frindle is book that gives joy and excitement to readers. Nicholas has many ideas for new words, but he has one that is about to be viral- replace pen with frindle. He tells everyone to start saying frindle instead of pen, and that enrages the teacher. Pen was named after a Latino combining form and it makes sense- so it should not change. Frindle goes viral and even news reporters come to talk to Nicholas and his teacher. But Nicholas wins the fight and his teacher lost. Then, he sees the best thing in the world: Frindle is in the dictionary. Clements provides a fun story of a word and engages all readers with his book.
      • queen_strong
        queen_strongFriday, May 22, 2020 at 10:05 am33 stars
        I read this book when I was 6 . It seemed a little boring to me then but I think I might like it more now!
        • fantasyreader65
          fantasyreader65Friday, May 22, 2020 at 7:53 am
          This is a really funny story and the word Frindle is actually in the dictionary. I have read this book several times and have liked it more every time.
          • WaddlesGMESFriday, October 18, 2019 at 6:00 am
            I LOVE this book. It got me hooked on all the books written by Andrew Clements. I could never put this down. I hope all other who read this agree. Thanks!
            • sheashea
              sheasheaFriday, October 18, 2019 at 4:21 am55 stars
              Andrew Clements writes this funny story about Nick and his classmates. Nick is not fond of school and challenges himself to find ways to make it more interesting for his classmates. He gets everyone to change the name of a pen, and the events that follow are hilarious.
              • mistymom
                mistymomFriday, August 2, 2019 at 11:15 am44 stars
                I really liked this book and it's perfect for 5th graders. The reason I think it is better for 5th graders is because there are a couple of harder words in it. it's a really funny book with a lot of surprises in it. it took me a while to get into it and start to like it but when I got into about the 3rd chapter I really started to like it.
                • applemango
                  applemangoThursday, June 6, 2019 at 9:45 pm44 stars
                  Nick is in fourth grade and he goes into Mrs. Granger's classroom....he trys to delay homework while asking a question about the dictionary when, instead of getting homework delayed he gets assigned extra homework. When Nick learns he could actually make a word while he is picking up a friend's pen he comes up with the word frindle. A group of friends agree that they will never use the word pen again and they will use the word frindle, always. When that causes an out break everyone is set in a motion of using frindle. Until someone puts up a sign that says anyone caught using the word frindle will serve detention. Of course that made the kids more determined to keep using the word and that causes a huge load of kids to serve detention. It grows so big that news reporters come to interview Nick! A store owner thinks of a brilliant idea to make frindle products and they achieve a great part of a deal to Nick. He gives his family money and to Mrs. Granger....when she sends her the dictionary that has his word on it.....
                  • advik111
                    advik111Wednesday, February 6, 2019 at 5:58 am55 stars
                    I really liked this book because i got it as a present
                    • fishfin
                      fishfinTuesday, January 15, 2019 at 6:56 am44 stars
                      It is very good to read if your in the 5th grade it gives off alot of laughter and if your reading it for main ideas the main idea I got is ¨Fame can die out¨ Sorry if this was a spoiler I rate it a 4.1/5 You should read it!