Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 9Grades 5 - 10W5.535442
A 20th anniversary edition honors this unforgettable, classic story of two boys who are teased and harassed until they join forces and become invincible. Now with thirty-two pages of added content!

It has been twenty years--and more than two million copies, eight foreign editions, and a popular Miramax feature film--since the world was introduced to this powerful story of a unique friendship between a troubled, oversized boy and the tiny, physically challenged genius who proves that courage comes in all sizes. This simple yet timeless story explores many themes, including bullying--an important topic in today's schools. Now we have a new edition to celebrate this poignant novel's success.

Thirty-two pages of new content offers: extensive Q&A with the Newbery Honor-winning author; letters between the author and fans; author's exclusive commentary on the film, THE MIGHTY, and the book's effect on a generation of readers; and the original text.

Perfect for teachers, librarians, and perennial fans, this anniversary edition is also a spectacular introduction for new readers. FREAK THE MIGHTY is sure to remain fresh, dramatic, and memorable for the next twenty years and beyond!
Hardcover, 169 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307259609
ISBN-13: 9780307259608
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • riley_108
    riley_108Thursday, October 17, 2019 at 9:30 pm55 stars
    I gave this book a 5 star rating, because Freak the Mighty was a inspiring book. Its about working together and Max and Kevin both can rely on each other for help. Max was there to support him and make him feel better, because something happen but I cant give it away because that would be spoiling the book, but the book is about friendship and helping each other. I would definitely recommend this book for friends and family.
    • Brody D.Thursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:19 am
      Freak the Mighty is about the friendship between Max and Freak, who is a small for his but has a huge brain. Read about how they face average sixth grade problems this book would appeal to 4th-8th grade kids boy or girl. It is about a fifth grade reading level. Iiked the book because it felt very real in some ways and somewhat relatable. I think you should read this book
      • ConnerThursday, December 6, 2018 at 10:18 am
        Freak the mighty review The Author of this book is Rodman Philbrick and the publish date is book is was 1993. I think the main point is don’t judge someone by the way they look. In this book, a disabled kid was bullied when he was small. When he got older the bully became his best friend. They went on journeys together and had a great time. The characters are Maxwell Kane, the bully; Kevin Dillon, the disabled kid; Gram; and Loretta Lee. I like this book because it was so adventurous. There were so many twist and turns. There was some bad parts, but I loved it. I would recommend it to 3rd to 8th grade to girls and boys.
        • LandonFriday, November 30, 2018 at 9:58 am
          Author:Rodman Philbrick Publish date:1993 Freak The Mighty Freak The Mighty is a story about a crippled kid named Kevin but he is called Freak. Freak is a smart,kind,and adventurous kid. Freak moves to a place where he used to live and he finds a kid that used to go to daycare with him. His name is Maxwell,but he is called Max. Max and Freak got along just fine and soon they become best friends. Together Max and Freak go on adventures and that’s how they get the name Freak the Mighty. Later in the story, something unusual happens and Max goes missing. I liked this book because it has everything I look for in a book. It has adventures,excitement,and dangerous things that happen. The reading level is a 7th through 12th grade reading level. I recommend this book for 9-11 year old boys and girls.
          • YouMonday, October 29, 2018 at 6:38 am
            it was a really good book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • YouMonday, October 22, 2018 at 12:32 pm
              Delicious book to read
              • YouMonday, October 22, 2018 at 12:31 pm
                Delicious book to get into
                • odubsThursday, June 21, 2018 at 12:49 pm
                  This book is the 6th grade reading requirement for my new school and I actually enjoyed it. I liked that Freak and Max called themselves "freak the mighty" because its a positive name. My favorite part of the book is when Freak tricked Killer Kane by pretending there was acid in his squirt gun. I didn't like the ending though I hoped it could have been a happily ever after ending. I really enjoyed that Freak liked robots and electronics.
                  • siobhanFriday, March 16, 2018 at 5:53 am
                    I think my class enjoyed the book, but it was a bit ahnoying and unrelatable. It made everything seem sooooo emotional. It was eh.
                    • NataliaTuesday, February 6, 2018 at 12:30 pm
                      it was good