Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10W6.0100234

The second book in the internationally bestselling Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage, featuring the funny and fantastic adventures of a wizard apprentice and his quest to become an ExtraOrdinary Wizard.

New York Times Bestselling Series

“Terrifically entertaining. Fans of the first book will be delighted with this sequel to Septimus’s story.” —VOYA (starred review)

“Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this imaginative world, moving from one well-crafted adventure to another at a suspenseful pace.” —School Library Journal

It's been a year since Septimus Heap discovered his real family and true calling to be a wizard. As Apprentice to ExtraOrdinary Wizard Marcia Overstrand, he is learning the fine arts of Conjurations, Charms, and other Magyk, while Jenna is adapting to life as the Princess and enjoying the freedom of the Castle.

But there is something sinister at work. Marcia is constantly trailed by a menacing Darke Shadow, and Septimus's brother Simon seems bent on a revenge no one understands. Why is the Darke Magyk still lingering?

Bringing fantasy to new heights, Angie Sage continues the journey of Septimus Heap with her trademark humor and all of the clever details readers have come to love.

Paperback, 532 pages
Published on March 27, 2007 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0060577363
ISBN-13: 9780060577360
13 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • 4usa
    4usaSaturday, May 9, 2020 at 7:03 am55 stars
    When Jenna is kidnapped by their older brother Simon Septumis and Nico go to find her! Jenna escapes and joins up with her brothers but they are in for a surprise when they discover that Simon is the apprentice of a former enemy and has rediscovered flyte! Septumis is also reunited with an old friend!
    • silica6
      silica6Friday, December 8, 2017 at 4:25 pm55 stars
      okie doki. i love love love the book so far and i'm only on the third chapter. i haven't read hte first 'cause it's not availible at my local library but i'm sure i can buy it or read it online somewhere!!!!! black is such a happy color!!!
      • brockmoney
        brockmoneyThursday, October 22, 2015 at 8:35 am44 stars
        i liked it
        • baileli
          baileliMonday, January 26, 2015 at 6:43 am55 stars
          I want to read this book.
          • luvlekittykat
            luvlekittykatSaturday, January 24, 2015 at 11:13 am55 stars
            its awesome and you should read the book, just make sure you read the first one before hand (Magyk By:Angie Sage) and yes i meant to spell magyk that way!
            • mamajunebug
              mamajunebugSunday, August 3, 2014 at 3:21 pm
              This is truly one of the best series that i have ever read. This says alot because I have read too many books to count and this series amazed me beyond compare.
              • books247
                books247Monday, October 21, 2013 at 7:35 pm55 stars
                This book was amazing. I read it quite a long time ago so I don't exactly remember the story but I do know it was really good and every body should read it.
                • zebralove
                  zebraloveFriday, October 11, 2013 at 2:29 pm55 stars
                  readers of this review, please consider this book. It made a terrifying, happy, hilarious, and just amazingly awesome sequel to Magyk!!!!!!!! Thank you Angie Sage.
                  • headream100
                    headream100Saturday, September 28, 2013 at 5:17 am55 stars
                    Magikal and darke, this book really pulls readers into the book itself! Actually, if Septimus was real, I might have had a small crush on him. Well, just kidding! :) I prefer Spit Fyre better.
                    • mamajunebug
                      mamajunebugSunday, August 3, 2014 at 3:22 pm
                      LOL i totally kinda have a fictional crush on Sep. :)
                    • kittylovesmilk
                      kittylovesmilkMonday, January 21, 2013 at 1:13 pm55 stars
                      Very well written and a beautiful story . Awesome!!! A must read!!!