Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5U4.855502
The first time she saw him, she flipped. The first time he saw her, he ran. That was the second grade, but not much has changed by the seventh. She says: “My Bryce. Still walking around with my first kiss.” He says: “It’s been six years of strategic avoidance and social discomfort.” But in the eighth grade everything gets turned upside down. And just as he’s thinking there’s more to her than meets the eye, she’ s thinking that he’s not quite all he seemed.

This is a classic romantic comedy of errors told in alternating chapters by two fresh, funny voices. Wendelin Van Draanen is at her best here with a knockout cast of quirky characters and a hilarious series of misunderstandings and missed opportunities. But underlying the humor are two teens in transition. They are each learning to look beyond the surface of people, both figuring out who they are, who they want to be, and who they want to be with.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 9, 2001 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
58 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kkgautamm
    kkgautammFriday, August 14, 2020 at 10:58 am33 stars
    this book is absoultely adorable! its funny and cute, and very memorable. i remember when i first read it in third grade, i was obsessed with it. i don't think i will ever get tired of reading this book.
    • willow123goma
      willow123gomaThursday, May 28, 2020 at 1:28 pm55 stars
      This is an amazing book about two people that, when one liked the other, the other didn't like back, and when the other liked the one, the one did not like back. Eventually they find their happily ever after. This is an comical, interesting , and romantic novel .
      • keylimepie
        keylimepieTuesday, October 15, 2019 at 4:26 pm55 stars
        I just found it in our schools bookshelf, and it didn't look bad so i tried it. It is really good, if you like comedy, and a bit of romance. Not deep romance, just crush level. I totally reccomend.
        • kkgautamm
          kkgautammWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:06 am33 stars
          first time rereading the book since fourth grade. it was such a sweet book, i loved it. reminds me of what its like to be young and not worry about anything.
          • kkgautamm
            kkgautammTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:18 pm33 stars
            first time rereading the book since fourth grade. it was such a sweet book, i loved it.
            • aaa57
              aaa57Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 10:30 am
              I just got this book it looks really good. But I am in 6th grade so my mom toald me to wait to read it till I am older.
              • snuggles07
                snuggles07Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:00 pm55 stars
                I read this book 3 times now. It's romance and probably explains all of your lives. Shout out to all the girls and boys out there!! Also, follow me! -Desperate
                • cybill
                  cybillWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 3:06 pm
                  Best Book in the WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                  • cybill
                    cybillTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 3:50 pm
                    I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                    • bookqueen1o13
                      bookqueen1o13Friday, December 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm55 stars
                      love this book it was very cute i like it when books show both side of a story sometimes i feal like juli