Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5U4.855502
The first time she saw him, she flipped. The first time he saw her, he ran. That was the second grade, but not much has changed by the seventh. She says: “My Bryce. Still walking around with my first kiss.” He says: “It’s been six years of strategic avoidance and social discomfort.” But in the eighth grade everything gets turned upside down. And just as he’s thinking there’s more to her than meets the eye, she’ s thinking that he’s not quite all he seemed.

This is a classic romantic comedy of errors told in alternating chapters by two fresh, funny voices. Wendelin Van Draanen is at her best here with a knockout cast of quirky characters and a hilarious series of misunderstandings and missed opportunities. But underlying the humor are two teens in transition. They are each learning to look beyond the surface of people, both figuring out who they are, who they want to be, and who they want to be with.
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on October 9, 2001 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0375811745
ISBN-13: 9780375811746
55 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • kgautam
    kgautamWednesday, May 29, 2019 at 11:06 am33 stars
    first time rereading the book since fourth grade. it was such a sweet book, i loved it. reminds me of what its like to be young and not worry about anything.
    • kgautam
      kgautamTuesday, May 28, 2019 at 3:18 pm33 stars
      first time rereading the book since fourth grade. it was such a sweet book, i loved it.
      • aaa57
        aaa57Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 10:30 am
        I just got this book it looks really good. But I am in 6th grade so my mom toald me to wait to read it till I am older.
        • snuggles07
          snuggles07Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 1:00 pm55 stars
          I read this book 3 times now. It's romance and probably explains all of your lives. Shout out to all the girls and boys out there!! Also, follow me! -Desperate
          • cybill
            cybillWednesday, October 11, 2017 at 3:06 pm
            Best Book in the WORLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
            • cybill
              cybillTuesday, October 10, 2017 at 3:50 pm
              I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
              • bookqueen1o13
                bookqueen1o13Friday, December 2, 2016 at 3:24 pm55 stars
                love this book it was very cute i like it when books show both side of a story sometimes i feal like juli
                • bookqueen1o13
                  bookqueen1o13Friday, December 2, 2016 at 2:34 pm55 stars
                  really good book you should read it every one should i think read it now needs more star than just 5 it needs 8
                  • rogelioMonday, October 31, 2016 at 10:33 am
                    it was awsome
                    • bookqueen1o13
                      bookqueen1o13Friday, December 2, 2016 at 3:25 pm55 stars
                      i agree with you it was awesome
                    • 21grifel
                      21grifelMonday, July 11, 2016 at 11:56 am44 stars
                      flipped was a very cute book and I liked how it showed a lot of emotion and feelings through both perspectives of the story. I definitely recommend this movie to people because it is very entertaining and relates to a lot of real life issues.