Soon to be a major motion picture starring Cole Sprouse and Haley Lu Richardson in March 2019!

In this moving story that’s perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, two teens fall in love with just one minor complication—they can’t get within a few feet of each other without risking their lives.

Can you love someone you can never touch?

Stella Grant likes to be in control—even though her totally out of control lungs have sent her in and out of the hospital most of her life. At this point, what Stella needs to control most is keeping herself away from anyone or anything that might pass along an infection and jeopardize the possibility of a lung transplant. Six feet apart. No exceptions.

The only thing Will Newman wants to be in control of is getting out of this hospital. He couldn’t care less about his treatments, or a fancy new clinical drug trial. Soon, he’ll turn eighteen and then he’ll be able to unplug all these machines and actually go see the world, not just its hospitals.

Will’s exactly what Stella needs to stay away from. If he so much as breathes on Stella she could lose her spot on the transplant list. Either one of them could die. The only way to stay alive is to stay apart. But suddenly six feet doesn’t feel like safety. It feels like punishment.

What if they could steal back just a little bit of the space their broken lungs have stolen from them? Would five feet apart really be so dangerous if it stops their hearts from breaking too?
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published on November 20, 2018 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1534437339
ISBN-13: 9781534437333
15 Book Reviews
  • livmci2021
    livmci2021Tuesday, January 26, 2021 at 8:03 am
    Imagine being in love with someone but not being able to get within 6 feet of them. Five Feet Apart by Racheal Lippincott, is told from Stella Grant's perspective, along with Will Newman’s. Stella Grant suffers from cystic fibrosis (CF) and is waiting for a lung transplant. She’s had CF for almost her whole life and has been in Saint Grace’s Hospital for a long time too. She’s used to being in control of everything and Saint Grace’s is her second home. Will Newman is the complete opposite. He has just come to Saint Grace’s after being in several different hospitals because of his CF but also B ceptica. Will does whatever he wants and whenever he wants. Stella meets Will and instantly she hates him. She doesn’t like how he doesn’t care about his meds or health. Stella tries to help Will out by getting him to take his meds, but something unexpected happens, they fall in love. Except they can’t get closer than 6 feet or they can die. Anyone who enjoys romance with a big conflict should read this book. In my opinion this book is good for 6th graders and up. It has a mature context but isn’t widely inappropriate. I really liked this book because the story was told from both characters' point of views. This helped me understand how both Will and Stella felt.
    • lovetoread26
      lovetoread26Thursday, July 2, 2020 at 6:09 pm55 stars
      Such a sweet book! Stella Grant has cystic fibrosis, or CF. Anytime she has even the slightest sore throat, she has to go to the hospital. This time, her best friend Poe is there too. But this trip to the hospital is not all positive. Stella has to miss out on her senior trip to Cabo. She is dejected, and very upset about being stuck at the hospital until she meets Will. He also has CF, but with something else. B cepacia. Stella cannot be closer than 6 feet to him. At first this is okay, because they hate each other. But gradually they become friends, and then fall in love. Stella breaks through many barriers, and she learns to follow her heart and be happy through grief. I hope you enjoy this book!
      • kkgautamm
        kkgautammSaturday, June 27, 2020 at 2:41 pm55 stars
        i cried so much over this book! there's a reason it became a movie. its emotional, engaging and really heartbreaking. my favorite part was when they were happy and ice skating ;))
        • stellaluna
          stellalunaFriday, January 24, 2020 at 6:26 am55 stars
          This book was amazing. I was living inside the pages, in each characters lives. I cried so hard, and smiled so wide. This book has so many emotions. This is a must read. (I have read it four times) but slightly inappropriate. For fifth and up
          • sirireads
            sirireadsSunday, January 19, 2020 at 9:58 pm55 stars
            This book is an amazing love story (romantic enough to satisfy but not inappropriate). You can almost feel their pain and longing for each other. Although it does have obscene language, I read it in 5th grade and I was fine. It broke my heart in the best possible way and I´m not much of a book crier, but I let me tell you, I really CRIED!!! In the end it was well, still heartbreaking!! But it resolved itself to be heartwarming as well. I encourage you and anyone else to read it!!
            • roxanne3
              roxanne3Monday, January 20, 2020 at 11:32 am
              I have not read this but it sound amazing!!
            • resmeet264
              resmeet264Friday, January 17, 2020 at 10:44 am55 stars
              ~I think this book looks cool~ From:Resmee
              • riyaFriday, January 17, 2020 at 10:03 am
                This book was really inspiring. It introduces the hard life that people with CF have to deal with. The characters are really relatable even for people who don’t have CF. This book shows that you can push through anything life throws at you while also telling a beautiful love story. I give it a 10/10.
                • riyaFriday, January 17, 2020 at 8:44 am
                  This book was really inspiring. It introduces the hard life that people with CF have to deal with. The characters are really relatable even for people who don’t have CF. This book shows that you can push through anything life throws at you while also telling a beautiful love story. I give it a 10/10.
                  • applebutter
                    applebutterThursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:32 pm55 stars
                    Omg this book. ok this book is SO GOOD( the movie is good to) it is about two kids with sis tic fibrosis where there lungs fill up with fluid. They are both in a hospital because of this illness. When they fall in love they can only be together if they are five feet apart. If not it could be deadly. Is love worth the risk? you will have to read the book to find out :)
                    • catlover22
                      catlover22Thursday, May 30, 2019 at 12:12 pm
                      I want to read this book so bad I hope it is good