Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 6n/a5.1104499
The #1 New York Times bestseller and sequel to Steelheart—a novel that James Dashner called “fantastic.” Brandon Sanderson, the author of Words of Radiance, coauthor of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time series, and creator of the internationally bestselling Mistborn trilogy, presents the second book in the Reckoners series: Firefight. And don’t miss Calamity, the exciting conclusion to the Reckoners series available now!
Newcago is free.
They told David it was impossible, that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet Steelheart--invincible, immortal, unconquerable--is dead. And he died by David's hand.
Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life simpler. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And no one in Newcago can give him answers.
Babylon Restored, the city formerly known as the borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic Regalia, Babylon Restored is flooded and miserable, but David is sure it's the path that will lead him to what he needs to find. Entering a city oppressed by a High Epic despot is risky, but David's willing to take the gamble. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David's heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic--Firefight. And now he will go on a quest darker and even more dangerous than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.

Praise for the Reckoners Series:

#1 New York Times Bestselling Series

“The suspense is relentless and the climax explosive.” —James Dashner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Maze Runner series

Another win for Sanderson . . . he’s simply a brilliant writer. Period.” —Patrick Rothfuss, author of the New York Times and USA Today bestseller The Name of the Wind

Action-packed.” —

Compelling. . . . Sanderson uses plot twists that he teases enough for readers to pick up on to distract from the more dramatic reveals he has in store.” —The A.V. Club
Hardcover, 432 pages
Published on January 6, 2015 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 0385743580
ISBN-13: 9780385743587
4 Book Reviews
  • cars5469
    cars5469over 6 years
    very very cool book!!!!
    • palindrome
      palindromeover 6 yearsFeatured
      For me, this series was a potato in a minefield. If you'd read Firefight, the second book in Brandon Sanderson's The Reckoners Trilogy, you'd know what I was talking about. When I first read Steelheart, the first book in the series, it was because I had lost a bet with my brother. Now, they're some of my favorite books ever. Firefight is the sequel to Steelheart. Both books take place in a dystopian America that is dominated by Epics, people who have amazing, superhero-like powers that corrupt them and turn them evil. In Steelheart, David, the bad-metaphored, Epic-hating protagonist, joined a group of Epic assassins known as the Reckoners in order to slay Steelheart, the Epic who ruled David's town of Newcago (Chicago) and killed David's father. In the second book, Firefight, David and the Reckoners are also out to kill an Epic--this time Regalia, ruler of Babalon Restored (New York). In New York, a new cast of characters meets David, the Reckoner Tia, and Prof, the leader and founder of the Reckoners who is secretly and Epic, and is struggling not to use his corrupting powers and keep his evil at bay. They help a squad of New York Reckoners: the tough, serious Val, the strange Exel, and happy, perky, goofy Mizzy. David also reunites with Megan, the sly, very attractive Epic who was a spy for Steelheart in the first book. David must do several things at once: plot to kill the Epic Regalia with the Reckoners, help Prof keep his Epic powers from overcoming him, keep an eye on Oblivion, an Epic who has the power to wipe out Babalon Restored in a single blast, and meet with Megan without the Reckoners knowing, all of whom think of her as an evil murderer. To make matters more complicated, a larger mystery is at hand. Humans first started becoming Epics when a large, red star called Calamity appeared over the world. David wants to solve the mystery as to how Epics get their powers and weaknesses and what Calamity has to do with it, not to mention what Calamity is. By the end of the book, David and the reader will be closer to solving the mystery, but still not completely there. The reader will have to wait until the spring of 2016, when the third book, Calamity, comes out. This book has high-action and a complicated, enthralling plotline. It has lived up to its predecessor, Steelheart, and will leave the reader just as interested and thrilled. I like this book because it has almost everything you could ask for in an interesting story: action, plot, humor, unique characters, romance, and an incredible stare-at-the-book-with-your-mouth-hanging-open twist ending. I would recommend Firefight to anyone who likes action-filled or humorous books, and has read Steelheart.. Most kids would definitely enjoy reading Steelheart, Firefight, and (in spring of 2016), Calamity.
      • braydencreekside
        braydencreeksideover 6 years44 stars
        This was an amazing book with a great story line of where david after beating steelheart goes to kill regalia... This was a great book
        • frankybaby
          frankybabyover 6 years
          This is the best book ever.