Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 5 - 8Grades 2 - 12Z4.451076
It's late summer 1793, and the streets of Philadelphia are abuzz with mosquitoes and rumors of fever. Down near the docks, many have taken ill, and the fatalities are mounting. Now they include Polly, the serving girl at the Cook Coffeehouse. But fourteen-year-old Mattie Cook doesn't get a moment to mourn the passing of her childhood playmate. New customers have overrun her family's coffee shop, located far from the mosquito-infested river, and Mattie's concerns of fever are all but overshadowed by dreams of growing her family's small business into a thriving enterprise. But when the fever begins to strike closer to home, Mattie's struggle to build a new life must give way to a new fight-the fight to stay alive.
Hardcover, 256 pages
Published on January 1, 2006 by Listening Library
ISBN-10: 0307260496
ISBN-13: 9780307260499
76 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • blossomreader
    blossomreaderMonday, June 8, 2020 at 8:49 am11 star
    I did NOT like this book! It was way too boring. I know some people actually like this book, so I won't judge, but I didn't like it at all. It didn't make much sense to me and nothing was good. I don't recommend this book. It's about a fever that breaks out, and Mattie has to run away to escape the chance of getting sick. Can she do it? I regret reading this book. It was a waste of time.
    • ava_succulents
      ava_succulentsFriday, November 15, 2019 at 6:52 am
      This BOOK IS AMAZING! It is amazing how a girl like Mattie can survive a major fever! She was strong, caring, and smart. I 100 percent RECOMMEND this book.
      • ava_colors
        ava_colorsMonday, November 11, 2019 at 6:52 am55 stars
        This is a great book, and I loved it! It is so amazing with all the twists and turns that Maddie deals with. And how she stays strong through it all.
        • papamurphies555Monday, October 7, 2019 at 10:45 am
          This is one of the best books i have ever read. its thrilling and it takes you captive into the story.
          • reader2009
            reader2009Friday, July 19, 2019 at 9:40 pm11 star
            This was an okay book but it was really scary in my opinion. If you want to read this book don't read it at night.
            • lavoiem
              lavoiemMonday, May 6, 2019 at 8:03 pm55 stars
              1 word...WOW!!! This book is VERY good and I loved it a lot. It was so different form the books I’m used to reading and the time of the book is very different from what I usually read which was new to me but very good!!!
              • celia_berry13
                celia_berry13Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:20 pm55 stars
                Fever 1793 is the story of a 14-year-old girl fighting to stay alive in the Yellow Fever Epidemic. I suggest this book to grades 3rd and up. Ages 9 and up. I suggest that due to some death content and some violent scenes. I suggest this to people who enjoy non-fiction and adventure. It is a really good book!
                • Spaced outWednesday, December 26, 2018 at 3:18 pm
                  This is an awesome book! My teacher started reading it to us not to long ago and it we still didn't finish the book. But I did do well on the quiz. I'm sad the grandfather died, though. 😞
                  • celia_berry13
                    celia_berry13Wednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:21 pm55 stars
                    No spoilers! ;)
                  • Gigi🌸Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at 9:18 am
                    This book is fantastic! I read it for the first time in 5th grade and have read it many times since then. Very well written and one of my personal favorites :)
                    • Olivia😝Friday, March 3, 2017 at 2:53 pm
                      This book is extremely interesting