Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grade 6n/a5.389881
While on a run one day, Maise gets into a terrible accident. A hot-burning electrical fire consumes her, destroying her face. Where her nose, cheeks, and chin used to be, now there is . . . nothing.

She is lucky enough to qualify for a face transplant. But with someone else's features staring back at her in the mirror, Maise looks -- and feels -- like a stranger. The doctors promised that the transplant was her chance to live a normal life again, but nothing feels normal anymore. Before, she knew who she was -- a regular girl who ran track and got good grades, who loved her boyfriend and her best friend. Now, she can't even recognize herself.

From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes a gripping and gorgeously written tale of identity and love. This is a story of losing yourself, and the long, hard fight to find your way back.
Paperback
Published on January 7, 2016 by Chicken House Ltd
ISBN-10: 1910655198
ISBN-13: 9781910655191
9 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • alpha_wolf_lulu
    alpha_wolf_luluFriday, May 17, 2019 at 8:53 am44 stars
    i think it looks interesting to me but, human eyes are better!
    • aly_spoon675
      aly_spoon675Thursday, May 9, 2019 at 7:10 pm
      This looks SO interesting, I'm going to try to read this book ASAP!!!
      • swirlycool
        swirlycoolSunday, April 28, 2019 at 7:43 pm
        This seems like an interesting book! How convenient that the reading level is my grade haha. I might try out this book! Has anyone else read it? If so, how was it?
        • LizaMonday, April 22, 2019 at 11:42 am
          This seems good I'll try it
          • 8th graderFriday, April 12, 2019 at 8:37 am
            faceless is a really good book i like how they put the details of how they put the words when the characters talk
            • eighth graderThursday, January 17, 2019 at 6:17 pm
              Faceless is a really good book that keeps you hooked from the moment you pick it up. I recommend you read it if you are okay with reading about medical treatments and details about them. Besides that I highly recommended it for everyone.
              • okohler24
                okohler24Wednesday, October 3, 2018 at 10:47 am55 stars
                I would 10/10 recommend this book for everyone! Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel is about a girl named, Maisie who got her face burnt off on a morning jog. It started getting a little windy and dark outside because a storm was approaching. She figured she could run really fast and make it home, but that wasn't the turn out. A lightning pole caught on fire and made different parts of Maisie catch on fire. She ends up in the hospital for a few months. Will she make it? If she makes it what will people think about her, will they judge her? Will she people to talk or hear? If you want the answers to these questions, read the amazing book, Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel! **Disclaimer** This book is in the library, but you must have permission to get it because, it is behind Ms. Custers desk!
                • catpath13
                  catpath13Thursday, June 1, 2017 at 3:38 pm44 stars
                  This is a book about how everything can go down the side of a cliff in an instant. Maisie Winters had an almost perfect life, her boyfriend Chirag had just asked her to prom, she was best on the track team, and she had friends who would do anything for her. Then, one morning on her run it started to rain. A bolt of lightning started an electrical fire, and Maisie woke up from her coma in a hospital a month later. She was horrified to discover that her face had been burnt off, and she would have to get a face transplant.
                  • kaylafigueroa7
                    kaylafigueroa7Thursday, March 17, 2016 at 2:59 pm55 stars
                    I just started reading it yesterday durning library this I'm almost done so far this book is really interesting this book so far talks about a girl who her par emits fight a lot and she try's to talk to her boyfriend but her parents are to loud