Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 6 - 8Grades 3 - 12Z5.181681

Fame

It's a few years after rebel Tally Youngblood took down the uglies/pretties/specials regime. Without those strict roles and rules, the world is in a complete cultural renaissance. "Tech-heads" flaunt their latest gadgets, "kickers" spread gossip and trends, and "surge monkeys" are hooked on extreme plastic surgery. And it's all monitored on a bazillion different cameras. The world is like a gigantic game of American Idol. Whoever is getting the most buzz gets the most votes. Popularity rules.

As if being fifteen doesn't suck enough, Aya Fuse's rank of 451,369 is so low, she's a total nobody. An extra. But Aya doesn't care; she just wants to lie low with her drone, Moggle. And maybe kick a good story for herself.

Then Aya meets a clique of girls who pull crazy tricks, yet are deeply secretive of it. Aya wants desperately to kick their story, to show everyone how intensely cool the Sly Girls are. But doing so would propel her out of extra-land and into the world of fame, celebrity...and extreme danger. A world she's not prepared for.

Hardcover, 495 pages
Published on May 1, 2008 by Thorndike Press
ISBN-10: 1410406350
ISBN-13: 9781410406354
12 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • tally
    tallyTuesday, June 2, 2015 at 11:14 am55 stars
    This is a good book.
    • nobodyhere
      nobodyhereSunday, November 9, 2014 at 12:36 pm55 stars
      Aya Fuse lives in a world where popularity is everything. But Aya isn't popular, she has a face rank of 451,369. But when she finds a clique called the Sly Girls, her world changes. Before she knows it she has a face rank in single digits. But sometimes fame can be dangerous.
      • rozeb
        rozebTuesday, May 20, 2014 at 3:03 pm55 stars
        This book is so amazing! I completely love it. Although, the guy does kind of leave you at a cliffhanger at the end. I wish it had 5 books in the series. WRITE ANOTHER BOOK, SCOTT! WE NEED YOU TO. I think that Extras was completely my favorite book of the entire series. I just love this series so much. I am hooked to this. Sorry, I just have to repeat: WRITE ANOTHER BOOK NOW! BTW, did you guys know that there is an Uglies MOVIE coming out? It is going to be so awesome. Although, it's not going to be as good as the book, Uglies. I bet it will still be good. I can't wait until they get to making the movie of Extras. Extras is AWESOME! Everyone should READ IT! Like, now.
        • rozeb
          rozebMonday, May 19, 2014 at 7:18 pm55 stars
          I am only halfway through this book, but I already know that if you don't like this book, you are totally brain-missing. I would totally want to be a kicker. Our a reputation bomber. Being a Sly Girl would be way fun. This book is like the yet-to-be as famous as the mind rain or Tally Youngblood. I am obsessed with this. Right now (Non-awesome-missing alert) (Also a SPOILER) I am at the part where Tally Youngblood just pinged Aya.
          • trollarch
            trollarchWednesday, April 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm
            Best Book Ever! Read the rest of the series, YOU'LL BE HOOKED TO THE BOOK.
            • milomaster11
              milomaster11Wednesday, January 22, 2014 at 2:47 pm55 stars
              You're a poet and you didn't even know it!
            • puppyloser
              puppyloserFriday, November 2, 2012 at 5:05 pm22 starsFeatured
              I love this book because it's talking about two girl's named Tally & Sheah and their's one boy named Zane .Tally & Sheah are fighting about him .But I mostly like this book because Tally has a secert about her old life even she can't have this information because they brain washed everyone if anyone finds out this might be the end of Tally's life.
              • rozeb
                rozebTuesday, May 20, 2014 at 3:03 pm55 stars
                I think you have the wrong book.
              • skypainter
                skypainterSunday, October 14, 2012 at 7:12 am44 stars
                It's really good so far... although really confusing. I think Aya is a strong main character. I do miss David though... WHERE DID HE GO?? Whatever, they might tell me. Anyway, 4 1/2 stars for now. I'll update later. -E., (Sky)
                • otter
                  otterTuesday, May 20, 2014 at 4:42 pm
                  I think you're talking about Pretties. That is good, but you need to read Uglies first. It explains everything.
                  • rozeb
                    rozebTuesday, May 20, 2014 at 3:04 pm55 stars
                    If you read the whole book, he does appear. Very briefly. And I didn't like David. I mean, he was okay. I don't know. Scott Westerfield is an AWESOME writer. WRITE ANOTHER BOOK!
                  • suzannafromkentucky
                    suzannafromkentuckySunday, September 30, 2012 at 10:22 am55 starsFeatured
                    This book differs from the rest of the series. Instead of Tally Youngblood, Aya Fuse is the main character. In a time when social ratings are all that matter to teenagers, Aya is left out. Her brother is going to be invited to he hundred party soon, and she is an unknown journalist. But when she discovers containers filled with unknown things, her boring life is soon to become very unusual...