Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 5 - 10V5.832159
By the author of The Trolls, a National Book Award Finalist.

My name is Primrose Squarp. I am eleven years old. I have hair the color of carrots in apricot glaze (recipe to follow), skin fair and clear where it isn't freckled, and eyes like summer storms.

Readers will know right from the start that the narrator of Everything on a Waffle is going to tell her story straight and pull no punches. Primrose's parents have been lost at sea, but she believes without an iota of doubt that they are still alive, somewhere. She moves in with her Uncle Jack, but feels generally friendless. Her only real refuge is a local restaurant called The Girl on the Red Swing, where the owner, Miss Bowzer, serves everything on waffles -- except advice and good sense, which come free of charge and are always reliable.

Food in general plays an important role in Primrose's journey toward peace and understanding (a recipe dictated in her unmistakable voice is appended to each chapter), and readers will eagerly cheer her on through this funny, bittersweet novel.
Everything on a Waffle is a 2001 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award Honor Book for Fiction and Poetry and a 2002 Newbery Honor Book.

Hardcover, 160 pages
Published on April 4, 2001 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
ISBN-10: 0374322368
ISBN-13: 9780374322366
16 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • pasta16
    pasta16Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 1:29 am
    Love the book
    • pasta16Wednesday, October 14, 2015 at 1:28 am
      Love it
      • alliya
        alliyaSaturday, October 10, 2015 at 3:19 pm
        i was going to read it for school. i voted it. but we got invisible boy instead
        • emoji
          emojiSunday, August 30, 2015 at 9:27 am55 stars
          You will want to read this over and over again. It has the perfect amount of humor. You'll love it. ❤️
          • chickenwingsr0902
            chickenwingsr0902Thursday, February 26, 2015 at 12:52 pm
            I loved this book! Primrose is the main charicter she has a little bit of a hard life. Her parents went to the middle of the ocean so that is another reason why I like this book! my favorite part in the book is when she loses her toe!!!!
            • pigdip37
              pigdip37Friday, March 7, 2014 at 5:14 pm
              i thought the girl girl in this book did not give up on her parents even though other people gave up on them.
              • adripink123
                adripink123Saturday, February 1, 2014 at 9:28 am
                i have this book and you know what would be awesome, if more people follow me lol
                • kaseyfagan6
                  kaseyfagan6Saturday, February 1, 2014 at 9:15 am55 stars
                  This book I read in like third grade and it was pretty good, I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventure and fun.
                  • otter
                    otterFriday, January 31, 2014 at 5:06 pm44 stars
                    This book is pretty good.
                    • jojocheese
                      jojocheeseThursday, June 27, 2013 at 9:14 pm
                      I definitely want to try this book! I'm sure it'll be great!