Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
193 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • fossilfury
    fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 8:40 pm55 stars
    This is a great book. I think is is fun, exiting, a bit suspenseful, and enough to leave the reader satisfied. I would definitely recommend this book.!
    • fossilfury
      fossilfuryTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 3:16 pm55 stars
      This was an amazing book! I just loved to sit write down and read it. There are some words, like stupid or loser that are mentioned in this book, but overall it is a great book. I love the library!
      • BradenTuesday, August 28, 2018 at 1:52 pm
        This book is amazing!! I love how it is a library but it is also a magical place! It is kind of cool how they have to solve puzzles to get out! You should definitely read this book and the other books in the series.
        • kittensarecute
          kittensarecuteSunday, August 26, 2018 at 1:49 pm
          i want to read this book
          • at41569
            at41569Thursday, August 23, 2018 at 5:54 pm
            This was such a good book! I really wish my library was like the one in the book! :) It was so thrilling, yet added many aspects of everyday life. I highly recommend this to all readers out there!
            • snicker9
              snicker9Wednesday, August 22, 2018 at 6:43 pm44 stars
              Kyle is a huge fan of Mr. Lemoncello and of all things games and puzzles. He is thrilled when he is chosen as one of the twelve kids chosen to get to sleepover in the brand new library that Mr. Lemoncello built. Secret puzzles and games that lead to a hidden escape route (with a prize!) await. This was a really fun book that I would recommend to elementary grade and up. I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.
              • iifreeze
                iifreezeMonday, August 20, 2018 at 7:01 pm
                OMG YES I FINALLY FOUND THE PAGE. This is an amazing book about a boy named Kyle Keeley and a competition by the eccentric billionaire Luigi Lemoncello. ALSO READ THE SECOND BOOK I DONT HAVE TIME TO WRITE A GOOD REVIEW BYE AND ALSO SPOILER KYLE WINS YEET XD
                • readingbr
                  readingbrFriday, August 17, 2018 at 9:19 pm55 stars
                  This is a really good book. I read it more than once and I really recommend this book. The second time I read it was after watching the movie. The book is way better than the movie.
                  • demigod3000
                    demigod3000Monday, August 13, 2018 at 5:51 am55 stars
                    Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is an amazing book. These kids have to play this game-to escape from the library. They must solve all sorts of riddles and team up in order to be the ones to escape. The colorful characters, funny humor and tense pressure makes this book a must read.
                    • eaglegamer
                      eaglegamerFriday, August 10, 2018 at 10:27 pm55 stars
                      I liked Mr. Lemoncello's Library because it contains lots of riddles and puzzles to solve. There is a rivalry between the two main characters, Kyle Keeley and Charles Chillington. Kyle plays by the rules and is fair, but Charles turns out to be a bully and cheats all the time. There is a lot of suspense and twists and turns in the competition to see who can figure out how to get out of this high tech library.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      person wrote:

                      ehhh it was ok but kinda not for...
                      Always Never Yours

                      ezernaad
                      ezernaad wrote:

                      Awesome book with a great way of...
                      The Mysterious Benedict Society

                      ninja wrote:

                      it,s reaiy asomessnneess
                      Wonder

                      ninja 2.o0 wrote:

                      never red it
                      Wonder

                      Our Apps and Plugins