Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 3 - 5T4.547493
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
153 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
Sign in to use your custom avatar.
  • auntieb
    auntiebMonday, June 18, 2018 at 9:05 am55 stars
    Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is a book I earned from a summer reading program a couple of years ago I read it once and thought it was pretty good I read it again and it is AMAZING!!!!! I love how Mr. Lemoncello sprinkles in book titles when he talks a love all the puzzles and fun in this game I think this is a great book! And would recommend this book any day!
    • hiyallMonday, June 18, 2018 at 7:23 am
      i love this book five stars
      • tybook2018
        tybook2018Friday, June 15, 2018 at 3:37 pm
        Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is a clue book that is fun and that I enjoy reading too. It's full of technology and funnies and laughs.
        • rainshine116
          rainshine116Friday, June 15, 2018 at 12:46 pm55 stars
          This is a great book and is one of my favorites! There are 12 sixth grade kids who get chosen as winners from an essay contest to take a tour of the new town library. The old one became a mall parking lot. The new building used to be a bank but is now a high-tech library. The next day those kids find out that they will be locked in trying to escape but, they are not allowed to escape through the front doors or the fire escape. Some kids don't want to participate because they have better things to do. Others are caught cheating or are wrong and must exit the game. Who will be the winners? Find out by reading this book!
          • cobrazeus10
            cobrazeus10Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 7:00 pm55 stars
            This is one of the best books I have ever read. If you love books and solving puzzles, than is is a must read. I wish that this book were actually true so that I could go visit this library. Definitely a book I plan to own in the near future. I loved the list of books that they mentioned in the book in the back of the book. It added several more books to my "can't wait to read this" list.
            • rainshine116
              rainshine116Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 6:02 pm55 stars
              This is a great book series! I love that the author puts an extra clue that you have to find at the end of the book.
              • artsy10
                artsy10Thursday, June 14, 2018 at 9:36 am33 stars
                This book is wonderful! It is so magical, and will make you wish that you were put in the kids shoes. This book at the same time portrays normal kids, just like you and me, making this book really relatable so that you can relate to these students and their decisions.This book is even super funny.
                • rainshine116
                  rainshine116Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 5:50 pm55 stars
                  This is a great book and is one of my favorites! There are 12 sixth grade kids who get chosen as winners from an essay contest to take a tour of the new town library. The old one became a mall parking lot. The new building used to be a bank but is now a high-tech library. The next day those kids find out that they will be locked in trying to escape but, they are not allowed to escape through the front doors or the fire escape. Some kids don't want to participate because they have better things to do. Others are caught cheating or are wrong and must exit the game. Who will be the winners? Find out by reading this book!
                  • nybook2018
                    nybook2018Wednesday, June 13, 2018 at 9:51 am
                    Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library is a book that personally enjoy reading because it has clues involved. It also has suspense and humor. So I really enjoy this book.
                    • eybook2018
                      eybook2018Monday, June 11, 2018 at 3:14 pm55 stars
                      I love reading Mr. Lemoncello's books and about his library. I wish i had a library like his. his games are very interesting on how he makes them.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      tybook2018
                      tybook2018 wrote:

                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...
                      Book Scavenger (The Book Scaveng...

                      jaden07
                      jaden07 wrote:

                      i agree with you. you are right,...
                      From the Kane Chronicles Brookly...

                      unicornbrain

                      This book is great! I like merma...
                      Third Grade Mermaid

                      aracha
                      aracha wrote:

                      I love Harry Potter! First I tho...
                      Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's ...