Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
78 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ailovd
    ailovdWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 10:52 am55 stars
    This book is amazing!!!!!!! I got this book at Barnes & Noble and I just love this book! Over 2016, I've read this book 20+ times. So I've had this book for 1 year and I just love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also have: Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics, and Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race. And I just love this Lemoncello series.
    • dog_love
      dog_loveMonday, November 6, 2017 at 4:10 pm55 stars
      I got this for Easter 2 years ago, and pushed it off until the very end of this summer. I'm mad that I did, because it was such a good book. There is a second one, but I can't remember it's name off the top of my head.
      • celekovymu
        celekovymuMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:16 am55 stars
        I read this and it is very mysterious and you want to know more. If you like mysteries, this is the perfect book for you. Kyle suddenly realizes that he is chosen to be invited to the opening of the new library. He then gets himself into the game that the new librarian decided that she would experiment on them. Will Kyle be able to win the game or will it involve a bit of teamwork?
        • liv11
          liv11Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 12:18 pm55 stars
          It is a very fun book and has a very mysterious plot.
          • BookLoverThursday, October 26, 2017 at 6:46 am
            I have been watching the ads on tv for the movie of this and they make it look so interesting.This is definetly a book worth reading!!
            • jaxxyjustjack
              jaxxyjustjackWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
              This book is magical, you will get lost in a world where the "not normal" is suddenly normal. The characters have to find their way out of Mr. Lemonchellos library for a prize. I have read this book multiple times because I have enjoyed it so much. The 2nd and 3rd books (Mr. Lemonchellos Library Olympics, and The Island of Dr. Libris.) are amazing! They all have a small part of all the other books in them.
              • din10
                din10Monday, October 23, 2017 at 10:43 am
                i would probally like this i love james patterson book's
                • athea
                  atheaThursday, May 25, 2017 at 11:19 pm55 stars
                  Fun,surprising and adventurous library.Wishing that somehow there`s a library like that ;for people to learn and enjoy each book in the library.
                  • greenarrow793
                    greenarrow793Friday, May 19, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
                    Super good!
                    • e06
                      e06Saturday, April 29, 2017 at 3:35 pm
                      This book was amazing! it is one of those books that I could not put down. It captures the picture of a gameshow I would love to see and be on. I love how team Kyle worked like a team and there was not one person in that group who wanted the prize just for themeselves. I love how this book wasn't too stressful. There was some suspense if they might not get a awnser right. I love this book. I give it a 5 star rating. If you happen to be at the library or bookstore please check this book out.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      thenoobquax

                      Final battle is Dark Forest vs L...
                      Warriors #6: The Darkest Hour (W...

                      thenoobquax

                      Rusty walks around finding Grayp...
                      Warriors: Into the Wild

                      thenoobquax

                      How do you actually like Firesta...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...

                      thenoobquax

                      Finally Erin Hunter finally got ...
                      The Last Hope (Warriors: Omen of...