Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
71 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • athea
    atheaThursday, May 25, 2017 at 11:19 pm55 stars
    Fun,surprising and adventurous library.Wishing that somehow there`s a library like that ;for people to learn and enjoy each book in the library.
    • greenarrow793
      greenarrow793Friday, May 19, 2017 at 8:52 am55 stars
      Super good!
      • e06
        e06Saturday, April 29, 2017 at 3:35 pm
        This book was amazing! it is one of those books that I could not put down. It captures the picture of a gameshow I would love to see and be on. I love how team Kyle worked like a team and there was not one person in that group who wanted the prize just for themeselves. I love how this book wasn't too stressful. There was some suspense if they might not get a awnser right. I love this book. I give it a 5 star rating. If you happen to be at the library or bookstore please check this book out.
        • amazzingpotato
          amazzingpotatoThursday, February 9, 2017 at 12:17 pm55 stars
          This story is so good!!!!!!
          • CuteBunniesMonday, January 9, 2017 at 8:10 am
            This is a good book. Mr. Lemoncello is interesting and nice. One of the best things about Mr. Lemoncello is that he is trying to make video games better. It is nice how the author had you hoping the characters would escape the library.
            • ready4anything
              ready4anythingSunday, January 8, 2017 at 11:53 am44 stars
              A book full of games and riddles. You see, there are these kids who have to the escape the library order to , win a very special prize. But, you have to solve all the riddles and puzzles before time runs out. So they only have a small amount of time to do it. -And the library there in isn't just an ordinary library-it's a very extraordinary library full with interesting and also fascinating stuff!
              • Batup14Wednesday, January 4, 2017 at 5:20 pm
                I love this book. Honestly, if you gave me the choice I would put it up there alongside books like Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and The Lord of the rings. I would give this book 6/5 stars as being a great read that you should definitely check out!!!
                • makgag1617
                  makgag1617Monday, October 31, 2016 at 7:52 am
                  I read this book last year and its very good and I recommend this to people who like fiction books and has an imagination. I agree with icecream13.
                  • macaroni_yumyum
                    macaroni_yumyumSunday, October 30, 2016 at 3:13 pm
                    This book is quite interesting I had to read it for Battle of the Books and I read it 3 times. It just kept getting better. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!
                    • lrohne2005
                      lrohne2005Sunday, October 30, 2016 at 12:19 pm55 stars
                      Kyle loves games. In particular, video games. Everyone knows that, including Kyle's parents. That's how his parents knew no video games for a week would be a perfect punishment for him. On the bus, after high fiving his way to the back, his best friend asks him about this essay. After explaining and listing the prize, Kyle writes a two sentence essay about why he wants to stay the night in a library no one has been into yet. He knows if he wins, he will get out of his punishment. After winning the essay, he stays the night in the library, as promised. But in the morning, there is a special surprise. The 12 kids have to find there way out, not using the emergency exits. As the kids form teams, the suspense gets higher and higher. Who will win the big prize? Read the book to find out.

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      Parismilli wrote:

                      I have not read it but I think I...
                      Double Down

                      antwal1718
                      antwal1718 wrote:

                      i think the book was very good i...
                      Wormwood Mire

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      me+like=agree
                      The Losers Club

                      robin13
                      robin13 wrote:

                      ok so my sister told me this was...
                      The Losers Club