Charlie and the Chocolate Factory meets A Night in the Museum in this action-packed New York Times Bestseller from Chris Grabenstein, coauthor of I Funny, Treasure Hunters and other bestselling series with James Patterson!

Kyle Keeley is the class clown and a huge fan of all games—board games, word games, and particularly video games. His hero, Luigi Lemoncello, the most notorious and creative gamemaker in the world, just so happens to be the genius behind the construction of the new town library. Lucky Kyle wins a coveted spot as one of twelve kids invited for an overnight sleepover in the library, hosted by Mr. Lemoncello and riddled with lots and lots of games. But when morning comes, the doors stay locked. Kyle and the other kids must solve every clue and figure out every secret puzzle to find the hidden escape route!

Don't miss the next puzzle-packed adventure—Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics—coming in January 2016!

"Discover the coolest library in the world." —James Patterson, #1 New York Timesbestselling author


34 STATE AWARDS AND COUNTING -- INCLUDING THE SUNSHINE STATE AWARD!

Starred Review, Booklist

* “An ode to libraries and literature that is a worthy successor to the original madman puzzle-master himself, Willy Wonka.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews

*"Full of puzzles to think about, puns to groan at . . . this solid, tightly plotted read is a winner for readers and game-players alike."
Paperback, 336 pages
Published on June 24, 2014 by Yearling
ISBN-10: 0307931471
ISBN-13: 9780307931474
82 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • melody1626
    melody1626Monday, December 18, 2017 at 8:17 am
    This book is full of suspence that you can barly sit in you seat when you are reading it it is a grate book
    • hejyhexeza
      hejyhexezaFriday, December 15, 2017 at 7:51 am55 stars
      Mr. lemonchello's library was a great book it had so many magical things like flying books it was awesome and I can't wait to read the whole series
      • tori3ghoul
        tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 3:16 pm55 stars
        Discover a magical yet educational library. Kyle and his friends get a chance to explore this library before anyone else. From Imax theaters to crazy video games, this library has something for everyone! I really enjoyed this book and I bet many other kids will, too!
        • anajas1
          anajas1Sunday, November 26, 2017 at 8:37 am55 stars
          This is a really good book I loved. The book is about a boy named Kyle Kelley, who wins a chance to go to a library lock-in at the new library. The library was created by Mr. Luigi Lemoncello, Kyle’s favorite game maker. The library is full of cool gadgets, video games, food, and of course, books. But, the next day, when Kyle and his friends wake up, the doors don’t open. But can Kyle Keeley, younger brother of the total jock and total nerd, use his board game smarts, to find a way out of the library? Once you start reading this book you just can’t stop!!!
          • tori3ghoul
            tori3ghoulSunday, November 26, 2017 at 6:28 pm55 stars
            I felt the same way about this book, anajas1!
          • alilovd
            alilovdWednesday, November 8, 2017 at 10:52 am55 stars
            This book is amazing!!!!!!! I got this book at Barnes & Noble and I just love this book! Over 2016, I've read this book 20+ times. So I've had this book for 1 year and I just love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also have: Mr. Lemoncello's Library Olympics, and Mr. Lemoncello's Great Library Race. And I just love this Lemoncello series.
            • celekovymu
              celekovymuMonday, November 6, 2017 at 11:16 am55 stars
              I read this and it is very mysterious and you want to know more. If you like mysteries, this is the perfect book for you. Kyle suddenly realizes that he is chosen to be invited to the opening of the new library. He then gets himself into the game that the new librarian decided that she would experiment on them. Will Kyle be able to win the game or will it involve a bit of teamwork?
              • liv11
                liv11Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 12:18 pm55 stars
                It is a very fun book and has a very mysterious plot.
                • BookLoverThursday, October 26, 2017 at 6:46 am
                  I have been watching the ads on tv for the movie of this and they make it look so interesting.This is definetly a book worth reading!!
                  • jaxxyjustjack
                    jaxxyjustjackWednesday, October 25, 2017 at 7:58 am55 stars
                    This book is magical, you will get lost in a world where the "not normal" is suddenly normal. The characters have to find their way out of Mr. Lemonchellos library for a prize. I have read this book multiple times because I have enjoyed it so much. The 2nd and 3rd books (Mr. Lemonchellos Library Olympics, and The Island of Dr. Libris.) are amazing! They all have a small part of all the other books in them.
                    • din10
                      din10Monday, October 23, 2017 at 10:43 am
                      i would probally like this i love james patterson book's

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      nantada no no wrote:

                      BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      IT wrote:

                      loved it
                      Wonder

                      ... wrote:

                      it is ok
                      Wonder

                      ... wrote:

                      its ok but the life lesson thats...
                      Wonder