Perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, the New York Times bestselling Inheritance Cycle about the dragon rider Eragon has sold over 35 million copies and is an international fantasy sensation.


Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…

Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, have just saved the rebel state from destruction by the mighty forces of King Galbatorix, cruel ruler of the Empire. Now Eragon must travel to Ellesmera, land of the elves, for further training in the skills of the Dragon Rider: magic and swordsmanship. Soon he is on the journey of a lifetime, his eyes open to awe-inspring new places and people, his days filled with fresh adventure. But chaos and betrayal plague him at every turn, and nothing is what it seems. Before long, Eragon doesn’t know whom he can trust.

Meanwhile, his cousin Roran must fight a new battle–one that might put Eragon in even graver danger.

Will the king’s dark hand strangle all resistance? Eragon may not escape with even his life. . . .


Praise for Eragon:
“Unusual, powerful . . . fresh and fluid. An impressive start to a writing career that’s sure to flourish.” –Booklist, Starred
“Christopher Paolini make[s] literary magic with his precocious debut.” –People
“The new ‘It’ book of children’s lit.” –U.S. News & World Report
“An auspicious beginning to both career and series.” –Publishers Weekly

A #1 New York Times Bestseller
A #1 Publishers Weekly Bestseller
A USA Today Bestseller
A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
A Book Sense Book of the Year
A #1 Book Sense Selection
Library Binding, 679 pages
Published on March 13, 2007 by Perfection Learning
ISBN-10: 0756972825
ISBN-13: 9780756972820
20 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
to use your custom avatar.
  • ladyirene
    ladyireneThursday, September 7, 2017 at 4:44 pm55 stars
    Eldest is awesome, i read this in about 2-4 days. It is so weird to find out that earagon and Murtaghe are half Brothers!!!
    • shadowstabber
      shadowstabberThursday, August 25, 2016 at 7:31 am55 stars
      not quite as good as the first
      • saphlover249
        saphlover249Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 4:20 pm55 stars
        great if you love harry potter and lord of the rings
        • tashadtasha
          tashadtashaSaturday, February 13, 2016 at 9:58 am55 stars
          This is an amazing series!
          • BananaRamaFriday, September 25, 2015 at 10:51 amFeatured
            Saphira. Eragon later learned that the varden was going to war. Eragon then discovered another rider during the war on the opposing team. The rider then told him a horrifying truth. The reason I love this book is mostly of the amazing detail and dragons of course! This book series has also inspired me to try things that may seem impossible. Now here is the most important part (probably not) the main characters! Eragon and Saphira, these two are the biggest chunk of the series. Saphira will always be my favorite starting with her sense of humor to how wise she is. If you call yourself mature enough you may read it but I recommend ages 12 and older. Thank you for reading this review.
            • walton4
              walton4Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 12:20 pm55 stars
              love it
              • veerg3332
                veerg3332Monday, March 30, 2015 at 10:20 am55 stars
                almost as good as Inheritance
                • yusuf12
                  yusuf12Saturday, November 1, 2014 at 11:33 am44 stars
                  this book was amazing i can read this over and over again if i wanted to...this had to be one of the best books ever
                  • eragonisawesome
                    eragonisawesomeFriday, September 26, 2014 at 8:07 pm55 stars
                    The ending is so unexpected and awesome I was so shocked!!! I am not going to write the endings, I dont to give spoilers. Still awesome read in a day!!!
                    • eragonisawesome
                      eragonisawesomeFriday, September 26, 2014 at 8:05 pm55 stars
                      LOVE THIS BOOK :D

                      Recent Kids Book Reviews

                      animal lover wrote:

                      I loved the puppy and I wish I h...
                      Dork Diaries 12: Tales from a No...

                      gusto
                      gusto wrote:

                      This is a great story!
                      The Tapper Twins Go to War (With...

                      madimin05
                      madimin05 wrote:

                      Yes, I have read the book and th...
                      The Land of Stories: Worlds Collide

                      immaweirdo14

                      i wanted to read this book becau...
                      Tom the Turkey (Thanksgiving Boo...