Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.124123

Rachel Renee Russell's sequel to Dork Diaries is packed with adorable art and tons of laughs.

Recipe for disaster:
4 parties.
Add 2 friends and 1 crush.
Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki.
Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE!

Settled in at her new school and flanked by awesome friends Chloe and Zoey, life is looking up for Nikki Maxwell, especially since her crush, Brandon, asked her to be his lab partner—a seriously awesome development. However, when Nikki overhears mean girl Mackenzie bragging that Brandon’s taking her to the Halloween dance, a bummed Nikki signs on to spend Halloween at a kids’ party with her little sister, Brianna, instead. After she finds out Mackenzie was lying and her dream of going to the party with Brandon could be a reality, Nikki has two events to juggle . . . plus plenty of other entertaining trials and tribulations along the way!

DorkDiaries.com

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on March 26, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 147114402X
ISBN-13: 9781471144028
248 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • a person :3Wednesday, March 27, 2019 at 6:49 pm
    is this a new book?! cuz if it is I'm so gonna look forward to reading it!! ^U^ i just had to put 5 stars even though I haven't read it... :DD
    • HonnySunday, March 24, 2019 at 9:29 am
      I think its👍
      • Manuella Saturday, March 23, 2019 at 6:41 am
        Well I like it but the pages keep on turning before I'm done
        • instinctbuck
          instinctbuckTuesday, March 26, 2019 at 4:10 pm55 stars
          Oh, by the way, you can pause it and flip the pages by yourself! (:
        • Uni reaaderFriday, March 22, 2019 at 2:51 pm
          Not the best
          • amethist
            amethistThursday, March 21, 2019 at 8:39 am44 stars
            I think that is was okay because the pages keep turning when im in the middle of one and it's annoying.
            • CrystalParadiseTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 3:10 pm
              I LOVE the Dork Diaries series and I love to party KA-RAY-ZEE!!! I recommend this book for people that have experienced a really crazy party experience and that laugh about it now. This book would be fun and relative to them.
              • luvmylipgloss
                luvmylipglossTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 1:19 pm55 stars
                This book is about a 14 year-old girl called Nikki who is the school dork. She has a boyfriend called Brandon, who everyone 'likes'. Her biggest challenge is overcoming being bullied by Mackenzie, head of the CCP (cute cool popular) gang. In Nikki's opinion Mackenzie is a "shark in lip-gloss, skinny jeans and platform heels." I think this series is similar to the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series, but for girls. It's hilarious and silly, and has excellent illustrations. There is a bit in the book that made me laugh. It was Nikki's reaction when she is asked out by Brandon: "After dancing for an entire hour, I was so tired I could barely breathe. That's when I collapsed into a wheezing, sweat-soaked mass of body odor and sheer exhaustion. A very HAPPY wheezing, sweat-soaked mass of body odor and sheer exhaustion" I recommend this book to girls who like funny, crazy love stories and I rate it 8½ out of 10. So basically, the plot is Nikki.J. Maxwell is a 14 year old Middle Schooler in 8th grade But she is still getting used to her new school, new friends, new enemies, new diary, and new crush. But now she is about to enter a talent show at her school, all she needs is a group, a song, and a group name, as long as she find all of those. But there is one problem that's ruining her dream on stage, MACKENZIE HOLLISTER!!!!!!!!!!!! The most evil, but popular girl in the whole school, and she HATE'S NIKKI!!!!!!!!!!!! Now that Nikki has a group and everything handle all she needs is a group name, but Mackenzie is not about to let that happen. Even though Nikki has problems at school she still has a little bit of problems at home, with her Mom, Dad, and her little 6-year-old sister. When Nikki and her group try to practice there song, the day before Saturday, Mackenzie quietly speaks to Sasha Ambrose, a super-talented senior who won the competition two years straight when she was in middle school. While Mackenzie is talking to Sasha Ambrose, Sasha starts to call out the group members to go backstage in there dressing room. She told Nikki and her group to wait in the audience for a little while, after Sasha told all the groups to go backstage, she told Nikki that her group forgot to sign in, so that means that there CANCELED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now that Nikki and her group think all is lost, Brianna and Nikki's grandma gave her a wonderful idea on how to get her group to perform. Please welcome to the stage ACTUALLY, I'M NOT REALLY SURE YET!! After all the songs groups sang, it was time to vote, and the winner was Mac's Manics(Mackenzie's group) Even though Nikki was upset, she was happy that she got a chance to preform. Mean while Mackenzie came over and started bragging about how she won and everything, but she accidentally mentioned all those fake e-mails she keeps sending to her and her dad, about the bug problem at there school. Nikki was so mad, but she let it go and thanked her. But after that Chloe and Zoey told them Trever Chase came over and congratulated them, and wanted unpolished amateurs going through boot camp to get better. After a while Nikki and Brandon started going again, just being quite friends or secret crushes. SHE STILL THINK SHE'S A DORK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
                • queen_emoji
                  queen_emojiTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 11:58 am
                  this book is so funny dork diaries is the best book ever
                  • NikkiTuesday, March 19, 2019 at 11:27 am
                    Amazing book❤️❤️❤️
                    • vioka
                      viokaThursday, January 24, 2019 at 4:20 pm55 starsFeatured
                      Dork Diaries Tales From a Not-So-Popular Party Girl is written by Rachel Renée Russell. I would recommend this book to the people that aren't popular at school or doesn't have a lot of friends because this book tells us to be confident and believe in yourself, don't be ashamed of yourself. I really like this book because McKenzie always tries to humiliate Nikki but it never works, in the end, Nikki always fixes everything and McKenzie would be very angry all the time. I think that McKenzie is jealous about Nikki because Brandon always talks to her. And when McKenzie asked Brandon to be her date, Brandon said no to her. The thing that made me really mad is that McKenzie canceled the Halloween Dance just because Brandon didn't agree to be her date ,instead, Brandon asked Nikki to be his date. Also, McKenzie purposely told her aunt that Nikki is very good at drawing and that she can help the little kid to draw their faces, and she bought Nikki a rat costume that was really stinky and dirty. But I'm really happy that Nikki cares about her friends so much that she didn't tell them the truth because she didn't want to hurt their hearts after what they saw their crushes did. And she also didn't tell Brandon that she was supposed to spend the night with her friends, Chloe and Zoey. But because she wanted to satisfy everyone at the same time, she had to run three places and change into three different costumes at the same time. Also, she had to make sure that non of them saw her at the same time. I found out that evil people never wins and kind people always has a happy ending. And I wish everyone could be like Nikki and have a happy ending like her's. I wish that no one would be like McKenzie, treating others badly and trying to humiliate other people that she doesn't like and acting all innocent.