Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-So-Popular Party Girl

Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 6n/a5.124123

Rachel Renee Russell's sequel to Dork Diaries is packed with adorable art and tons of laughs.

Recipe for disaster:
4 parties.
Add 2 friends and 1 crush.
Divide by 1 mean girl out to RUIN Nikki.
Mix well, put fingers over eyes, and CRINGE!

Settled in at her new school and flanked by awesome friends Chloe and Zoey, life is looking up for Nikki Maxwell, especially since her crush, Brandon, asked her to be his lab partner—a seriously awesome development. However, when Nikki overhears mean girl Mackenzie bragging that Brandon’s taking her to the Halloween dance, a bummed Nikki signs on to spend Halloween at a kids’ party with her little sister, Brianna, instead. After she finds out Mackenzie was lying and her dream of going to the party with Brandon could be a reality, Nikki has two events to juggle . . . plus plenty of other entertaining trials and tribulations along the way!

DorkDiaries.com

Paperback, 304 pages
Published on March 26, 2015 by Simon & Schuster Childrens Books
ISBN-10: 147114402X
ISBN-13: 9781471144028
262 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • mccorkell
    mccorkellTuesday, July 28, 2020 at 12:01 pm55 stars
    I haven't read it but I think it will be good
    • toodorky
      toodorkySunday, July 12, 2020 at 10:22 am55 stars
      Nikki really hopes that Brandon will ask her to go to the halloween dance with him, but she immediately deflates when she hears the Mackenzie was asked instead! To make matters worse, she agrees to go to the dance with her best friends as a clean up committee! And she has to help out at BRIANNA's halloween event. But when Brandon asks Nikki to go to the dance, Nikki figures out that Mackenzie was lying this whole time and now she has to do three things at once? WIll she be able to do it!? I loved this book!!!!
      • Alanna Tuesday, June 9, 2020 at 10:45 am
        I love dork diares series!!!😀😂😃
        • lolatheute
          lolatheuteMonday, June 8, 2020 at 7:58 am55 stars
          Nikki Maxwell is always stressing out and trying to do a billion things at once. In this book a big Halloween Dance is coming up. Girls ask guys. Nikki really wants to ask her crush Brandon Roberts but with MacKenzie drama she is not sure she really wants to go anymore. With MacKenzie as chairperson Nikki is kinda Freaking out. Read this book to see if Nikki asks Brandon or if MacKenzie asks Brandon first :o.
          • warriorsgirl11
            warriorsgirl11Thursday, June 4, 2020 at 8:29 pm55 stars
            Nikki Maxwell is having a bit of a breakdown. ... and Chloe's crushes, Jason and Ryan, who ask the two to dance with them. I loved this book!
            • girlpower4ever
              girlpower4everTuesday, June 2, 2020 at 5:35 pm55 starsFeatured
              Nikki Maxwell's endearing dorkiness continues in the second book of the spectacularly successful "Dork Diaries" series by Rachel Renée Russel. In this novel, Nikki prepares to be The Socialite of all socialites when she's invited to popular girl/arch nemesis MacKenzie Hollister's legendary birthday bash. After pooling all her money on the perfect dress, though, Nikki attends MacKenzie's birthday party only to end up with tears in her eyes, a ruined dress, and a broken heart. Due to her inadequate performance at MacKenzie's event, Nikki signs up to host a kid's Halloween party instead of going to the school's Halloween dance, but of course, her life wouldn't be normal if something didn't go wrong. In a grand conglomeration of events, Nikki finds herself triple-booked on Halloween night and, fearful that she'd let people down, decides to go through with it. Can Nikki handle three jobs in two hours? This entertaining sequel perfectly captures the magic of the first and will leave readers vying for a third book.
              • cutedogo
                cutedogoTuesday, April 7, 2020 at 10:54 am55 stars
                I am a Dork Daries Nerd!
                • fornitelover302
                  fornitelover302Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 1:17 am55 stars
                  I LOVE LOVE LOVE DORK DAIRIES! It helps me realise to not be a dork but still dont be like R-U-D-E Mackenzie, atleast dorks try thier best to get better. A message from me to everybody: Even tho ur clumsy,wierd or get over..reacted....quickly....SORRY!-you can still live a good life when ur having a bad day just remember the times didn't
                  • visco girlTuesday, October 22, 2019 at 9:40 am
                    i love dork diaries
                    • xeta
                      xetaMonday, August 12, 2019 at 9:37 am55 stars
                      Nikki gets herself into trouble in this one, but doesn't she always? xD It's been a while since I read this but I remember really enjoying it and laughing out loud, there's always a fun twist in Dork Diaries so they're fun to read. :) ~ Xeta <3