Dork Diaries 1: Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life

Book 1 of 13 in the Dork Diaries Books Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.429745

Meet Nikki Maxwell! She’s starting eighth grade at a new school—and her very first diary packed with hilarious stories and art in this SUPER SQUEE updated edition of Book One of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series!

Nikki confesses all in her first diary ever: her epic battle with her mom for an iPhone, meeting her new soon-to-be BFFs Chloe and Zoey, falling for adorably sweet crush Brandon, dealing with her zany little sister Brianna’s antics—and the immediate clashes with mean girl Mackenzie, who becomes Nikki’s rival in a schoolwide art competition.

Nearly 30 million books in print worldwide!

Kindle Edition, 353 pages
Published on May 20, 2009 by Aladdin
ISBN-10: 1416986553
ISBN-13: 9781416986553
1353 Book Reviews
  • andrewliu1003
    andrewliu1003Monday, July 12, 2021 at 9:57 pm55 stars
    I love it! I love the beauty queens
    • moon_light
      moon_lightFriday, May 28, 2021 at 7:32 am55 stars
      I decided to read this book because it was recommended. So far, I Think this books is AMAZING
      • eagle_fan11
        eagle_fan11Monday, May 17, 2021 at 4:11 pm55 starsFeatured
        I love the Dork Diaries series. Yes, it's a total copycat of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, but I think it's really fun to read, plus I gravitate towards this series more. The way the author wrote the books is a little cringy though. She talks the way most adults THINK teenagers talk, and throughout all the books it just sounds like she's trying way too hard to make Nicki (the main character) "relatable". Really, it's just so far-off from the truth though. Another downside is that these books are very stereotypical. Nicki is the new girl at school, and kind of looked down on for being "nerdy." Her arch-nemesis is Mackenzie Hollister, the popular girly-girl (who is always using lip gloss, which is literally the most stereotypical characteristic of a mean girl). I was reading reviews on Amazon for this book series and everyone was saying that Nicki is a bad influence for kids or that she complains too much, but I don't agree with any of these claims! I never thought for a second while reading this book that I'd need a cool phone and a boyfriend to not be a loser! Adults are way too sensitive these days. Stop shielding your kids so much! The whole point of the series is that you're reading Nicki's diary, which is where she shares all the drama in her life. It's supposed to be relatable for kids, and while sometimes the writing style is anything but, I don't think this series is a bad influence at all! I think this series appeals to kids of all ages. It's a substantial read for a younger kid and a lighter read for an older kid, but either way, it's super interesting. Though overall the series is a bit stereotypical and cringy, that's part of the appeal in my opinion, and makes them so fun to read!
        • doubletrouble
          doubletroubleFriday, May 14, 2021 at 8:56 am55 stars
          its so nice
          • vaehcorn
            vaehcornThursday, May 13, 2021 at 7:08 am55 stars
            this book is the best for me personly theirs enogh to were im not bored but there a whole bunch of words and thats even better
            • doubletrouble
              doubletroubleWednesday, May 26, 2021 at 5:47 am55 stars
              It is the best and please remember to follow me and my name is double trouble
            • vaehcorn
              vaehcornThursday, May 13, 2021 at 6:53 am55 stars
              i love her books i want all of them but i have only one and read 5
              • shrika_1234
                shrika_1234Sunday, May 9, 2021 at 6:33 am55 stars
                I LOVE THIS SERIES they are soooooo goooood I am so addicted to her books 📚 anyway this book it super good you need to read it ❤ (ols follow I am super close to my goal)
                • doubletrouble
                  doubletroubleFriday, May 14, 2021 at 8:57 am55 stars
                  I love this book to it's to die for
                • kpopanimeluvr
                  kpopanimeluvrFriday, April 23, 2021 at 8:56 am44 starsFeatured
                  Personally, i think this book is pretty good. im in the 5th grade, and ive been reading since 2nd grade. (thanks to my older sister) alot of people dont like how the protagonist, Nicki talks alot about boys and crushes and romantic teenager problems. But personally i think its just sort of realistic, Nicki is not in the 4th grade, shes a teen. This book isnt technically about a fun adventure with no worrys or stress, its realistic "slice of life" book. it speaks about growing pains and i think its interesting since i like books with drama and realistic ideals, usually. even in manga i like it when for example, attack on titan isnt all just about the titans but also shows the characters personalities and personal goals and stuff like that, friendships being broken and stuff that hurts the reader because of how realistic it is, but also has fiction like titans. Back to dork diaries, this is one of the only non-manga books i like, i will say Nicki can get a bit whiny and makes it a bit less enjoyable but overall i really like the idea and plot of this book, no its not a Diary of the Wimpy Kid "rip-off", its different in its own way because its more grown-up and usually girls struggle alot more with growing up so its natural Dork Diaries feels grown. I love this book! It can be very stereotypical tho, just because Nicki is a new "nerdy girl" who gets picked on, and on top of that her enemy is Mackenzie Hollister, the most popular girl in school. I like how much the book has so many twist and turns.
                  • corgiqueen45
                    corgiqueen45Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 9:08 am55 stars
                    Love this book! 👍😍
                    • ami18
                      ami18Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 9:06 am22 stars
                      Wimpy kid rip off! I like wimpy kid better because if am honest, Nicki (in the book) just thinks about crushes and boys. Am in grade 6 by the way.