Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Paperback, 576 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062387243
ISBN-13: 9780062387240
700 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • girlpower4ever
    girlpower4everMonday, July 6, 2020 at 2:11 pm55 stars
    "Faction before blood." Beatrice Prior lives in a world where you can be classified into five factions centering around virtuous traits: Abnegation, her current family faction, for the selfless; Erudite, Abnegation's rival faction, for the intelligent; Amity for the peaceful; Candor for the honest; and Dauntless for the brave. She and her older brother Caleb are almost sixteen and nearing their Choosing Ceremony, in which they will pick the faction that best suits their personality, regardless of where their family currently resides. Tris is torn between her parents and what she wants. Even worse, when she takes a test to judge which faction she should choose, Tris' results show that she is Divergent: someone who doesn't fit into any of the five factions. Being Divergent is dangerous; Tris could be killed at any moment for not fitting the mold. And when Tris chooses Dauntless at the Choosing Ceremony, she breaks her family's hearts. Escaping with the other Dauntless initiates onto a moving train, Tris leaves her selfless Abnegation life for one of thrill, excitement - and deathly danger. This spellbinding novel by Veronica Roth proves that weighing decisions is one of the hugest burdens humanity bears.
    • keepercat
      keepercatSaturday, June 13, 2020 at 6:17 pm55 stars
      I absolutely loved this book! Every page was full of excitement and suspense. There were some parts where it was kind of too violent and detailed (for me at least), but other than that, I really enjoyed this series!
      • shewerebear
        shewerebearThursday, June 11, 2020 at 6:31 am55 stars
        I totally loved it but I strongly recommend you watch the movie
        • sirireads
          sirireadsTuesday, May 26, 2020 at 1:29 pm44 stars
          SO GREAT!!!!! I absolutely completely LOVE this book!!!!!! Tris is the perfect main character, she is funny, deep, scared, brave. There is some romance, LOTS of risk, and (wah) sacrifice. Great book, but kinda heartbreaking, too. Read it!! - sirireads
          • iamdivergentThursday, May 14, 2020 at 2:54 pm
            This book is the spark of something interesting, something exciting, and most of all, something awesome. Beatrice will be your new role model. She starts as a normal 16-year old choosing her loyalties, forever, but it turned to be the beginning of something she never knew could happen: change. She took a test to figure where she belonged, but that came out all wrong as well; she was different, she was Divergent. Read this action-packed, emotional book series to find out the meaning behind all. It helped me figure out where I was in the world, and so could it to you.
            • seashells395
              seashells395Friday, May 8, 2020 at 8:11 am44 stars
              This is a book written by the author Veronica Roth. In Beatrice's world, she is a perfect abnegation, at least, that is what it looks like. But on the inside she knows that Abnegation is not where she belongs. With her heart tearing her one way, and her family the other, even Beatrice doesn't know her choice. She can be Tris, a brave Dauntless, or she can stay as the obedient abnegation daughter she was born into. Read the book to find out what she chooses.
              • HiTuesday, April 28, 2020 at 8:39 am
                This book is truly amazing the best character is tris for her personality is relatable. I love this book this book helped me excape from my school and the world this book sucked me into a fantasy I never thought I would experience. I love the movies and this book!! I finished this in 1 day and was really sad when I finished it
                • evasch1920
                  evasch1920Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 7:54 am55 stars
                  I read this book in about 2 days and stayed up till 2 am reading this book so I have haven't noticed by now it is AMAZING. I love how detailed and action-packed it is.
                  • lpsbrooklyn11
                    lpsbrooklyn11Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 6:00 pm55 stars
                    I just started reading this book, and so fa, it is amazing!!!!!! im really interested in what might happen next, so im reading it tonight. and I give this book a five star rating!
                    • foxygrrrl
                      foxygrrrlThursday, February 6, 2020 at 7:25 am55 stars
                      These books are the best...the movies are good too but...you get more detail outta a book, and i love books! Anime and divergent are faves to meh so...love these so much!