Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.8105143

This first book in Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy is the novel the inspired the major motion picture starring Shailene Woodley, Theo James, and Kate Winslet. This dystopian series set in a futuristic Chicago has captured the hearts of millions of teen and adult readers.

Perfect for fans of the Hunger Games and Maze Runner series, Divergent and its sequels, Insurgent and Allegiant, are the gripping story of a dystopian world transformed by courage, self-sacrifice, and love. Fans of the Divergent movie will find the book packed with just as much emotional depth and exhilarating action as the film, all told in beautiful, rich language.

One choice can transform you. Beatrice Prior's society is divided into five factions—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Beatrice must choose between staying with her Abnegation family and transferring factions. Her choice will shock her community and herself. But the newly christened Tris also has a secret, one she's determined to keep hidden, because in this world, what makes you different makes you dangerous.

And don't miss Veronica Roth’s thrilling novel Carve the Mark.

Paperback, 576 pages
Published on September 30, 2014 by Katherine Tegen Books
ISBN-10: 0062387243
ISBN-13: 9780062387240
681 Book Reviews
Add a Rating
  • she_is_a_ruby
    she_is_a_rubyWednesday, October 2, 2019 at 8:21 am55 stars
    The book Divergent, by Veronica Roth, talks about a 16 year old girl who faces two main problems, herself and her parents. She struggles with being different, and her parents have already had enough. It's almost the day she has to choose to stay or leave and her shocking test results haven't helped her discussion. Read Divergent to see the shocking news and her life changing choice.
    • sav11_11
      sav11_11Friday, September 20, 2019 at 8:37 am55 stars
      This book was amazing. When i got it I couldn't put it down!! i was just so entranced in the world. I really recommend this book to anyone who loves adventure!!!
      • armcginn
        armcginnThursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:11 pm55 starsFeatured
        Powerful words are rarely pushed to their limits, yet Veronica Roth has woven a tapestry of words so perfectly, this tapestry is known to most, quite simply as Divergent. Gloriously enchanting, A tale of unearthly courage, sacrifice, selflessness, love, and the search for an unseen truth. Welcome to a world where one choice will define you. The choice sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior will be making, the night of the choosing ceremony. Where will her blood fall? The pure water of the intelligent Erudite?, The clear glass of the honest Candor?, The grey stones of the selfless Abnegation?, The quiet earth of the peaceful Amity? Or the flaming embers of the courageous Dauntless? Torn Between five lives. One choice will define you. Divergence is not an option, it is A secret to be held close, A secret that could kill, A secret that must remain buried, one she will protect even at the price of her own life, because what makes you different makes you dangerous. As her blood hisses amongst the embers she strides towards her new faction, life, and visions. Survival is a must, in a world where danger is commonplace and small fears are scorned to the point of exile, where the art of knife throwing is naught but elementary, gunfights are unextraordinary, ziplining from Willis (formerly Sears)tower's rooftop is a favorite pastime, and death is an honor. This is Tris. This is Dauntless. This is the true meaning of Divergence. Guaranteed to be Un-Put-Down-Able! -ARMcGinn
        • she_is_a_ruby
          she_is_a_rubyTuesday, August 27, 2019 at 8:47 am55 stars
          This book includes emotion and revealing action. The characters are easy to relate to and insightful. Divergent is also a very easy book to read, the author, Veronica Roth uses great detail to help her readers understand whats going on. All in all read the series, after all you can't judge a book by its cover.
          • shadow_shady
            shadow_shadySaturday, August 24, 2019 at 9:50 am55 stars
            this is addicting!! I love the characters and would love to be in there world. Me and my friends read and love this series
            • sylvie55555
              sylvie55555Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 8:54 am55 stars
              This is the first book in the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. In this book Tris is faced with a choice she can be true to herself and pick dautless. When a child turns 16, they choose which faction they want to be part of... which path they want to take in life. Tris knows that she can't stay in drab old Abnegation. But most children decide to stay in their home faction. What choice will Tris make? After making her choice Tris starts to learn that maybe, the truth they know isn't the truth after all. # VERONICA ROTH IS THE BEST # FAVE BOOK EVER
              • kgautam
                kgautamFriday, May 31, 2019 at 9:47 am44 stars
                this is a breathtaking start to the series, and i kept me wanting more. i really enjoyed how tris was able to finish peace within herself, and she allowed herself to find who she really wanted to be.
                • MaggieSaturday, May 25, 2019 at 12:16 am
                  It is literally one of my favorite books. Highly recommend for someone looking for a good book to read and dystopian fans.
                  • im-riddikulus
                    im-riddikulusWednesday, May 1, 2019 at 2:37 pm55 stars
                    Divergent is an amazing story about Tris Prior and her fight to decide who she while secretly being Divergent. I suggest this book to 6th grade and up due to graphic content and some scary scenes. You should totally read this!
                    • bacon_bitzz
                      bacon_bitzzSaturday, April 20, 2019 at 6:19 am55 stars
                      Loved this books so much! I recommend it so much, as well!