Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grade 5n/a5.037766
In the tradition of Marley: A Dog Like No Other, this is the story of a cat who was more than a pet, and the amazing effect he had on the people around him. This middle-grade adaptation of the Grand Central bestseller Dewey features an 8-page photo insert, including exclusive, never-before-seen photos of the Dew!

Now everyone's favorite library cat can inspire a new audience of young readers with his story of courage and love. Abandoned in a library book drop slot in the dead of winter, this remarkable kitten miraculously endured the coldest night of the year. Dewey Readmore Books, as he became known, quickly embraced his home inside Spencer's public library, charming the struggling small town's library-goers, young and old. As word of Dewey's winning tail, or rather his tale, spread, the library cat gained worldwide fame as a symbol of hope and proof positive that one small cat could change a town, one reader at a time.
Paperback, 224 pages
Published on April 12, 2011 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316068705
ISBN-13: 9780316068703
16 Book Reviews
  • warriorsgirl11
    warriorsgirl11Friday, February 14, 2020 at 6:49 pm55 stars
    Dewey was sooooooo cute. It was so sad he had to die. I understood why Vicki was very depressed when Dewey died-he was literly Vicki's BFF.
    • morganwishmastr
      morganwishmastrFriday, October 25, 2019 at 4:29 pm55 stars
      I'n in fifth grade and I checked this book out at my library, I read it in the car...I cried when I found out Dewey died in 2007 and was cremated...I miss you Dewey!!
      • jaden07
        jaden07Sunday, August 18, 2019 at 6:17 am55 stars
        At my old school, i had a teacher ( we're friends ) and we'd have this book club just us two ad we'd talk about books. ( this was in 3rd grade and i was and am a good reader). she recommended this book and i just loved it. I actually think i read the adult version. But either way i LOVE this book. Def read it
        • mgargis17
          mgargis17Tuesday, April 26, 2016 at 8:14 am
          AWESOME BOOK
          • nikukyu
            nikukyuMonday, December 15, 2014 at 1:22 pm55 stars
            I read this on the sofa, and I hid my face to my brother and mother.... It made my cry so hard!
            • puglover67
              puglover67Thursday, December 11, 2014 at 12:03 pm33 stars
              Pretty good for a nonfiction book.
              • violinist_2002
                violinist_2002Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 11:17 am55 stars
                This book was so heartwarming! I read it time and time again.
                • nikukyu
                  nikukyuSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 4:33 pm55 stars
                  I cried! It was such a amazing book but sad in the ending.... I could empathize with the book completely, because a cat that I love died. And he's a stray too...
                  • swimmer_girl02
                    swimmer_girl02Saturday, November 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm55 stars
                    Do you know that there is a sequel? i just finished reading it, it is DEWEYS NINE LIVES.
                    • nikukyu
                      nikukyuSaturday, November 22, 2014 at 4:35 pm55 stars
                      I read this on the sofa, and I hid my face to my brother and mother.... It made my cry so hard!
                      • swimmer_girl02
                        swimmer_girl02Sunday, November 23, 2014 at 10:38 am55 stars
                        Do you know that there is a sequel? i just finished reading it, it is DEWEYS NINE LIVES.
                    • zebralove
                      zebraloveThursday, January 16, 2014 at 2:07 pm55 stars
                      This was one of the most touching stories I have ever read. The reader will fall just as much in love as the author was. I really was sad at the end though, read the book to find out why!